We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible dorms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Great location 10 mins walk from the main gate to the national park. I stayed in the dorm and it was poor, bunkbeds cramped in with no space to put your stuff or barely walk between the beds. It's dark and dingy. Hostel staff are friendly but English is poor so difficult to get info for inward travel. No lockers to secure your stuff. On site restaurant closes at 9 but when u ordered at 8.40pm they said I was too late and directed me to buy chocolate or crisps, they were just being lazy. But you can't beat the location!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riss2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 90 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

The lodge is comfortable and clean with an amazing view form the balcony but bring insect repellent as there will be almost of insect at night as it is mountain area. It is located just 500m away form Kinabalu Park so easier for people who planned for climbing Mount Kinabalu. The food tasted good and reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babysakthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here only for one night, before we climbed Mt Kinabalu. Compaired with the other accommondations this one has a nice price, 120RM for a big room with double bed and privat bathroom. We didn't make a reservation and there were rooms enough. It is only a 15 minute walk to the National Park and they offer lugage storage. The staff should follow a course about hospitality because there where very grumpy. Don't forget to bring warm clothes as it can be very cold.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Maurits L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Simple and beautiful place. Very near to Mount Kinabalu National park. We stopped here for our lunch. The lunch tastes good and cheap. I was hoping for some hot chocolate drink but it was out of stock, anyway glass of MILO was good enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuriaKaruna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Positives: walking distance from the national park (not many alternatives that I could see except the extortionate Sutera sanctuary lodges lodges in the park). Communal areas and balcony really nice with views over the valley & staff mostly very nice. Cheap, very cheap compared to Sutera.

Negatives: has a serious problem with damp; rooms smell really musty as do the beds and woollen stuff they sell in the shop. The lonely planet description as cute and cosy is very inaccurate. Bathroom also very rustic. Right on the main road which isn't a problem for sleeping if you've lived in a city but a bit precarious for walking along. Also a pretty loud karaoke place across the road (bizarrely).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank londoner_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went up to the Kinabalu Park before 10am and the room is not yet ready (check-out time is 11am). Staff is kind to keep some of our stuffs before we headed to Poring Hotspring for the day.
We came back in the evening and got our private room~ It was so nice with a balcony~ The view was so open and nice~ We didn't get hot water at around 5pm but it was available at night~
he dinner was ordinary and good~ We had some good chats with backpackers around. They got free wifi in the restaurant area and that's nice~
Our sleep was good despite the TV noise in the next room.
Morning view from the balcony was excellent!!! We had the breakfast served before we check-out for our walks in the Mount Kinabalu, which was just a 5 mins walk from the Lodge~
After all everything was just so great and we definitely will suggest this, remember to bring a coat as it was cool at night~
光是地點已經要超值了!!! 行到神山公園正門只要5分鐘!!! 我們要的是獨立房...有個小露台...景觀真是一流!!! 我們10時到達旅店房間還沒準備好...(check-out 時間為11:00) 店員還協助我們寄存一些行李...我們到過溫泉...黃昏才回來...下午5時還沒有熱水...晚上才有...晚餐選擇多而且味道很好~ 餐廳還有免費的wifi~ 晚上隔壁的電視聲浪有點大...還好能睡...第二天起來吃過早餐才到神山遊玩~ 會推介此旅店!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winniewsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hostel, is in a great location 500m from the Mount Kinabalu National Park. We stayed in a private room, which had a balcony and bathroom with hot running water, the beds where comfortable. Food is served from 6am until 9pm and lots to choose from. Staff not always attentive but overall they were very helpful. They will even do your laundry for you, the rates are good. My advice if you want cheap hostel accomdation in the area you could do far worse than this charming place.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu District
0.4 mi away
Mile 36 Lodge
Mile 36 Lodge
#2 of 15 in Kundasang
118 reviews
4.1 mi away
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
Celyn Resort Kinabalu
#5 of 12 in Kundasang
171 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kinabalu Pine Resort
Kinabalu Pine Resort
#1 of 2 in Kundasang
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Lodge 37
Lodge 37
#23 of 35 in Ranau
10 reviews
34.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
37.1 mi away
Manukan Island Resort
Manukan Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Manukan Island
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge

Address: KM 53 Jalan Tinompok | Off Kinabalu Park, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 127 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu District
Price Range: $28 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dvilla Rina Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
D'Villa Rina Ria Lodge Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing