We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but average accomodation and could try harder to please”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sukau Rainforest Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2009

This lodge is in a lovely location on the river and we had a brilliant three days with great river tours and wildlife viewing. The guides were generally good - friendly and knowledgeable although I thought it strange that they didn't eat dinner with their group as I have experience elsewhere. The lodge itself is nice with a very pleasant seating area and a small courtyard garden that was regularly visited by monkeys. Food was just short of excellent but was of a very high standard with good variety. I expected the accommodation to be fairly basic but I imagined it to be more picturesque and atmospheric (i.e. log cabins) whereas the rooms are like poor quality motel rooms in prefabricated buildings that smell a bit mouldy and damp. The sink in our bathroom was coming off the wall and I couldn't sleep on our first night as the walls are so thin that I felt like the man in the next room was sitting in bed with me carrying out his loud conversation - and I had to be up at 5.30am for a morning boat ride. My other complaint is that the lodge seems to be very complacent and the staff act like they are doing you a favour rather than wanting to ensure you have a great time. For example, the lodge provides no free bottled water so you have to buy it from the staff who seem to be hugely inconvenienced at having to find the key to unlock the fridge - on one occasions I couldn't have any water as they couldn't find the key. I also asked for a cup of coffee at 10am one morning and was told there would be some available later - possibly about 10.30am (when I was due on a nature walk) but not at the moment. Given that this lodge is not cheap, how hard is it to make a guest a cup of coffee?

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chick1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (716)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 716 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2009

Had a great time there, Winston was a gem ( a bit Ku ku at times, his words, not I) and provided a sterling account of the wildlife surrounding the rain forest. All the staff were fantastically polite and well trained, with the focus firmly rooted in wildlife and the environment.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onefootforward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2009

We spent two nights at the Sukau Rainforest Lodge as part of our honeymoon.

The rooms are very basic. Especially the bathroom was small. They could certainly approve this.

The food is average. The first night dinner was very good, the other meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner on the second night) was rather average.

But the main reason we were here, was to spot wildlife and that surely was excellent. Our guid Jamil was very professional and showed us a lot of wildlife. We saw snakes, proboscis monkeys, hornbills, crocodile, kingfishers and elephants. That wat really great! The male ones were playing in the water with each other. Really nice!

I think the main reason for the high price of this lodge is the ecolabel. They do their upmost to think about the environment. The boats for instance have electric motors which are not as noisy as the other ones. They re-use the cooking oil for lamps etc. We really did appreciate these things because it is very necessary. One morning we did a cruise on the Kinabatangan River by sunrise, which was incredible, but we saw also the palm oil plantations along the riverside. It's sad to see this.

So if you expect a comfortable nice accomadation, you are not on the right adress here. Try Borneo Rainforest Lodge instead. On the other hand, if you want to spend your holiday in Sukau, along the Kinabatangan River, I would stay here. I think all the lodges here are very basic and the Sukau Rainforest Lodge is trying to do their best to be as ecofriendly as possible. You simply have to lower your expectations. Then I think the Sukau Rainforest Lodge is a great experience!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here for one night before spending three nights at Borneo Rainforest Lodge (which is very nice and luxurious compared to Sukau). Our room was small with twn beds. No AC. Bathroom was quite small and very basic. Given the price of this lodge, I was surprised about how basic it was. Setting on the river was pleasant. Food overall was average. We did enjoy the wildlife we saw on the river trip very much. We were lucky enough to spot a herd of pigmy elephants, plenty of monkeys, and hornbills. I was impressed by that.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed at the Sukau Rainforest Lodge for 2 nights as a part of our 14 day Borneo Trip. We were picked up by boat from the jetty near Sandakan and travelled several hours along the River Kinabatangan where we spotted an Orang Utan in the trees. At arrival, we were welcomed by the Staff and shown to our accomodation. The Rooms are very small with no aircon but clean and tidy and ceiling fan. After we had dropped our luggage off in the room we went on a River Cruise to spot Wildlife. We have seen a variety of primates (proboscius monkey, longtail macaks, pigtail macaks etc.), a monitor lizard, a green tree snake, Hornbill birds, Kingfisher birds, small and big black squirrels and Crocodiles. The dinner in the Resort was very good, buffet style chinese food but very tasty, same for the breakfast, there was a variety of good food available. The staff at Sukau are very friendly and helpful and so are the guides on the trips. Sukau also offers night trips but we were too tired on the first day. Next day we went on a jungle trek by foot in wellies and leech socks! to see more wildlife but more in the form of insects, we have spotted beautiful butterflies and moths & weird looking milipeds & spiders ..and of course we have met the leeches  and mosquitos. On the way to the jungle trip we cruised through Oxbow lake, which is beautiful. After dinner we joined the night cruise to spot the night active animals. We have seen owls, lizards and many many monkeys, unfortunately we could not finish our trip because it started to rain a lot. If you visit Sukau, have also a look out for the very pretty lantern bugs and butterflies around. I would recommend this trip to travelers of all ages but if you do not enjoy creepy crawlies this is not for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManuGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights,

On arival were told the rules etc and given the key to the room, the first thing that hit me was the smell, felt like I had just walked into a mushroom, very bad, not very clean, cowebs mold everywhere. Got over that and had a late boat trip. This was excellent up until all the other boats turned up and I mean lots all jostling for position.

Next day took the cruise to the oxbow lake, not a lot to see.
In the afternoon we had been told that there were elephants up river, and said that if we paid and extra 100rm we could go, ( they sell there site on elephants so why the extra). The thing is we left to let so they had gone back into the jungle, had no guide, and saw not a lot. all of us refused to pay the extra, another couple who obviously had more money had managed to get an invidual guide and boat, probably paid a bit extra. That night the food also dramatically improved as the owner was turning up everyone ther and jolly. Needless to say the owner learned a few home truths.

Allededgly they are doing a refurb. ?

At the moment they are hiding behind an ECO label as a reason to be very poor and back to earth. Sorry but ECO does not have to be this. They need to get there act together.

The site a first glance seems to be in the middle of the jungle until you do a board walk and realise they are surriunded by Palm platations.

Overall not good value

Stay the extra night in Danum

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keithcarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2009

This Lodge is said to be the most Eco Friendly. The Lodge is attractive on the outside but the bedroom are seriously dated and very small with a ceiling fan that hardly move. It can be very warm and uncomfortable. The staff are very friendly and helpful. It is more pleasant to transfer to the Lodge by boat along the Lower Kinabatangan River than by van/car. The main activity is to go on "river cruise safari" morning , afternoon and night. Borneo Eco Tour is the marketing arm of Sukau Rainforest Lodge, check out the prices on both web site to get a better price. The eccentric Wilson Marshall needs to be amused by insisting that the guest wears sarong for dinner! You may wonder why he did not insist that his staff are in sarong too!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maddivers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinabatangan District
1.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Borneo Nature Lodge
Borneo Nature Lodge
#8 of 29 in Sandakan
195 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#6 of 29 in Sandakan
369 reviews
0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
4.9 mi away
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
Bilit Rainforest Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kota Kinabatangan
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sukau Rainforest Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sukau Rainforest Lodge

Address: Sukau, Lower Kinabatangan River | 2 1/2 hours from Sandakan by boat or overland, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Hotel Class:3 star — Sukau Rainforest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A founding member of the National Geographic Unique Lodges of the World, the award winning Sukau Rainforest Lodge nestles on the banks of one of Borneo's most important waterways, the Kinabatangan River, home to many of Borneo's magnificent wildlife. Immerse yourself in the tranquility of the rainforest and the cacophany of its inhabitants, its majestic birds, all 7 species of Borneo Primates including Borneo's iconic Proboscis Monkey, Orangutans in their natural habitat as well as herds of Borneo Pygmy Elephants. Sukau Rainforest Lodge offers the rare comfort and luxury in the midst of the Borneo Rainforest whilst retaining an Eco-Lodge ethos, the delicate balance of true sustainability. We promise to give you and your family an experience you'll always remember and one you'll never regret. We've just opened 20 of our brand new Villas in addition to our 20 Superior rooms. What better way to enjoy the Borneo rainforest and its wildlifes than in wonderful Borneo themed comforts. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sukau Rainforest Hotel Sabah
Sukau Rainforest Lodge Kinabatangan District, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing