We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely escape”
Review of Abai Jungle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kinabatangan District
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abai Jungle Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2011

My husband and I spent three days here as part of our honeymoon. If we had our time again we would probably just have two days as there isn't much to do when you're not out on the river because the lodge is obviously very isolated. However, there is an optional trip to the village on the other side for lunch which is worth doing, and you go to plant a tree on the way back. We took advantage of the rest of our free time by relaxing in one of the watch towers with a book and chatting to other guests.

The accommodation is basic but this is the nature of the experience - it is clean and well-serviced which is all that mattered. The staff are very friendly and accommodating - Abbas was our guide and he and our boat "driver", Bernard were so knowledgeable about the wildlife and seemed proud and keen to help us see as much as possible.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 313 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Abai Lodge and had a wonderful time. As with others we were there to see the wildlife and weren't disappointed - proboscis monkeys, hornbills, egrets, orangutans, red lipped monkeys, snakes and lizards. Perhaps we were lucky. With the boats moored up directly in front of the lodge we were able to go out three times on the river.

The rooms themselves are basic, but with all the flowers outside on the walkway they've tried to make the place as attractive as possible. There is another walkway around the jungle nearby and we walked around this in the afternoon and got to see more animals and insects.

The lodge staff were quite honest about the fact there is just a fan to cool the rooms and in the afternoons it is like a BBQ indoors. By the evening it was fine, with the fan on, to sleep (if, like me, you need silence to sleep bring some earplugs). Meals were buffets and plentiful. Breakfast followed a morning boat trip and was served in the forest on the walkway, with squirrels popping up to get some toast.

We booked the whole trip with SI Tours and we would recommend them to anyone. I booked after email correspondence and their service in Borneo was very professional. Our tour also took in the Sepilok Orang Sanctuary and the Sandakan War Memorial Park, both of which I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dougdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

The rooms are chalets, reached by board walks amongst very colourful gardens. They are very basic but clean and fairly comfortable. The bathroom is a simple shower with plenty of hot water. Food is served buffet style and is quite good but more or less the same at every meal. The staff were all friendly and helpful. We stayed for 2 nights and I would not have liked to stay longer (I do like luxury hotels but we were told this was the best in the area!)
On the positive side the lodge is in an excellent situation. It is the only lodge in the area so there are fewer people and boats on this part of the river. We had a private guide and sometimes we went out on the river and didn't see another person for two hours - excellent for wildlife viewing (of which we saw lots, including orang-utans).

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

I didn't expect too much from Abai, after all, it's in the middle of the jungle! Rooms are basic, don't be surprised to find bugs (we had lots of ants in the bathroom). The lodge location is nice since there aren't many other lodges in the Abai area - we didn't see any other tour boats. The staff was great. My biggest gripe (not the fault of the lodge) was we did not see one Orangutan! That was our primary reason for booking and we didn't see any at Abai, or at the other lodge. Mostly just monkeys, a crocodile, a snake, a tree frog and other bugs. Also, I thought the price tag was a bit high - the lodge is super rustic, food was just ok and wildlife was minimal. I paid less in the Amazon and saw MUCH more during a longer stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveltrotter50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

Lodge on the river with a small but nice jungle trails as well as excursions in the surrounding area.
Simple but tidy rooms.The staff although it was at own pace it was friendly and helpful.
The food was quite good although it could be better.
Do not miss a walk at the trails of the hotel.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexandros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Rooms were fine, basic, clean. The rooms were really hot, even with fan. The food was fine, nothing amazing. The guides were the same as the Kinabatangan Lodge and were just ok. Did the touristy planting a tree and visiting the village across the river. There is a walkway around the lodge which was nice at different times of the day, including night walk where we saw frogs and insects. We went on afternoon and morning safaris, didnt see many animals unfortunately.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

This lodge provided the perfect getaway from civilization while enjoying nature at her best. We arrived here with S.I. Tours who provided the best quality service we have ever experienced in Malaysia (or anywhere else). The lodge itself was extremely basic located right off the Kinabatangan River (downstream from the Kinabatangan Riverside Lodge). There are several viewing towers that allow for optimum bird watching.

Upon arrival we were introduced to the entire staff from the kitchen, the boat operators, the nature guides, etc. We were also greeted by Rose, a local orangutan who frequent the lodge. We spotted birds, monkeys, lizards, bats, a vast array of insects while here. We took 3 river cruises to spot wildlife. We were completely amazed! The guides here are incredible at what they do.

Since we were the only couple there that night, we probably got special treatment. Our dinner was made just for us, when we were ready. The next morning we cruised into the Oxbow lake and had tea on the boat and we listened to the wildlife surrounding us awake. It was out of this world. When were returned to the lodge, we were told we would be going for a nature walk in the rainforests surrounding the lodge. We did, and were surprised when we stumbled upon the lodge staff cooking breakfast for us right there. We could not get over all the hardwork and time they took just for the 2 of us!! We were delighted when they all joined us to eat...

I highly recommend S.I. Tours. You will be in for a trip of a lifetime!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sassibassi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kinabatangan District
21.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Sandakan
16.5 mi away
Kinabatangan Jungle Camp
16.4 mi away
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
Nature Lodge Kinabatangan
#7 of 29 in Sandakan
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kinabatangan Sunshine Lodge
11.5 mi away
Sukau Greenview Bed & Breakfast
38.5 mi away
Tanjung Bulat Jungle Camp
Tanjung Bulat Jungle Camp
#7 of 10 in Kinabatangan District
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abai Jungle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abai Jungle Lodge

Address: 47 km from the river mouth of Kinabatangan River | Abai, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Kinabatangan District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kinabatangan District
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Abai Jungle Hotel Sabah
Abai Jungle Lodge Kinabatangan District, Sabah, Malaysia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing