We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boa Hills Surf House
Reviewed August 2, 2013

After staying in Nembrala for 2 days i moved to Boa hills surf house where
i stayed another 6 days... It changed completely my experience of the island. If your willing to go all the way there dont just settle by staying in Nembrala... you wont regret it…

The place is fantastic, the views and a really nice bungalows.

But above all the hosts showed me magnificent hidden places around the island I would have never got there on my own or had the contact with the locals that I did. Surfing, swimming, fishing, kayaking, it was all there close by. It was a really calm and relaxing experience with loads of exciting things to do and all to ourselves no crows around. A true paradise!!! Going back there again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Boa Hills Surf House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 12 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

Since you've already gone through the trouble of getting to Rote, don't then make the mistake of staying somewhere else. Stay here. Yes the Boa beach wave is amazing, yes the island is a stunning natural paradise, yes the locals are friendly and welcoming. All that is expected. But I was not prepared to stuff myself to bursting at each meal with delicious home cooked food, dream off into oblivion while watching rich vibrant sunsets from the balcony of my room, and have an authentic island experience offered up by Axel and Becca, owners and operators of this wonderful island home away from home. Axel guided me around the island exploring, kayaking and deep sea fishing. You can tell this is a place he loves to share with travelers, as he patiently explained the amazing nighttime stars, the huge tides, the world class surf and the various abundant creatures in the sea and on the land So, to sum is all up, Boa Hills Surf House is more than just a place to stay, it's an authentic island experience that will have you sniffing around for beachfront property before you get back on the boat to Kupang.

TIP: Hire Jerome to take you deep sea fishing. Axel can set this up. On my 5 hr trip I caught the biggest King Mackerel I'd ever seen.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A simply magic place with outstanding hosts :) Surfing, swimming, fishing, hiking, scouting, snorkeling and the local palm wine - what else do you need?? Yesss, best food within 600km radius! Cozy, clean, and organised! Attentive, sweet staff. Awesome sightseeing trips within 15 min driving distance. Very funny neighbors. And... GREAT for kids (but watch the currents!!).

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I am not a surfer, but my boyfriend is. So, going to a surf place with him was, as usual, a challenge for me to find something of interest. Staying at Boa Hills Surf House was just awesome ! The bungalow were we stood, is facing a great ocean view and you can enjoy it from your bed. Walking to the sea by the little path bring you to a beautiful beach were you can lye under pandanus trees or walk along the shore or scuba dive, or snorkel.
You can go fishing (they have a boat), exploring the beautifull island, or stay doing nothing.
There is no noise at all, only nature.
Last but not least, the food is incredible. The owners grow their vegetables, go fishing almost everyday and the meals are surprising every time. Desserts are amazing !
It is a very relaxing, interesting and resourcing stay. I was sad to go.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sistiana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

its my first visit in rote, wow . its an untouched paradise. I grew up in Bali. Rote reminds me of how Bali use to be 20 years a go. the sand, the nature, coconut tree-green surrounding and the breeze Oh my god just put you to sleep after lunch. me my self I don't surf much, but hanging out in the beach. meet up some cool people, hang out and have a drink. the owner funny looking french guy, is know for his sense of humor. he and Bekka know a lot about rote and its always good to get first hand information, I forget to thank you for everything what you have give me during my visit there. and the view, something i wont forget. see you again soon.

Room Tip: the swimming pool and the fitness center is in the ocean LOL.... oh to get a good room don't for...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsiagian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

unique place, great,friendly and laid back service, 5 star food and the best wave in indo right at your doorstep. rote is a unique island, and boa hill house perfectly complements with the paradisiacal atmosphere of this uncrowded jewel. some of the most amazing beaches in indo. thank you axel and bekka for the great times!will be back for more very soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: tous les bungalow sont face a la mer, en hauteur. La vue est imprenable.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rote Island hotels
3.8 mi away
T-Land Resort
T-Land Resort
#1 of 1 in Nembrala
58 reviews
4.5 mi away
Kampung Kakak
Kampung Kakak
#2 of 5 in Nembrala
15 reviews
3.1 mi away
Seed Resort
Seed Resort
#2 of 10 in Rote Island
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Santai Rote Island
Villa Santai Rote Island
#1 of 5 in Nembrala
47 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boa Vida Rote
Boa Vida Rote
#1 of 3 in Rote Island
45 reviews
3.8 mi away
Utopia Rote Lodge
Utopia Rote Lodge
#3 of 5 in Nembrala
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boa Hills Surf House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boa Hills Surf House

Address: Jl Lelendo | Boa, Rote Island 85982, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > East Nusa Tenggara > West Timor > Rote Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Rote Island
Price Range: $59 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you seeking epic uncrowded waves and adventure in a safe and ecological place?You have Found it !!I welcome you to my surfing heaven, where I have built ( to minimize your impact on the environment ) an eco-friendly housing for surfers hunting for barrels , fisherman seeking big game and people who just want to enjoy a relaxing time under the palm trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boa Hills Surf House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing