We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orangutans at Camp Leakey”
Review of Camp Leakey

Camp Leakey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Breckenridge, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Orangutans at Camp Leakey”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is where orangutan conservation has been organized in Tanjung Puting National Park since the 70s, led by Dr. Birute Galdikas. Stopping there to observe the primates at the feeding station is an awesome experience. These are wild and rescued animals who live in the park and take advantage of ranger-provided food to augment their natural diet.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank RickyD917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    24
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
loomis ca
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lots of Orangutans on dock and at feeding platform. Excellent photo opportunities. What I didnt appreciate was how crew from klotoks were allowed to feed the animals, rice, coffee, etc.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
12 Thank ernieLoomisCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great park”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

in the 20 past years we have been to other rehabilitation centre in borneo and sumatra. however we found camp leakey the best, both in terms of wildlife, conditions and peace. we saw dozens of urang utangs and really enjoyed the peace travelling on a klotok on the river

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Remzopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Orang-utan and more”
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We were cruising on the small adventure ship, Orion with the focus on orang-utan. If you are really serious about this focus, Orion is the professional way to pursue it. Naturalists on board gave us detailed lectures and a guest primate speaker from Toronga Zoo in Sydney was able to really help us understand about primates. We were given access to the care and rehabilitation centre (not open to normal tourists), which is close to Kumai, where we could nurse baby animals and wrestle ( in the full sense of the word) 7 year olds. At Camp Leakey we got up close and dirty with huge animals. Dr Virute Galdikas, the person who started the centre 40+ years ago, was there and provided additional information. Each Orion guest had donated to the centre so was given a photo of the named animal they sponsored ( serendipitously our animal is Douglas and my dead brother's name is just that -eerie!). We intend to have 4 babies named after our grand sons. Since the animals live into their 60s, it could be an interesting and positive move. We saw other animals that day both at the Camp and during the long boat journey on the river. An unforgettable experience

Helpful?
12 Thank Hedonist_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Close orang utan viewing”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This is the destination of most travellers in the Tanjung Puting National Park so there can be quite a few people there when you go to Camp Leakey to an orang utan feeding. Nevertheless, it is a fantastic experience to see perhaps a dozen orang utan arriving for bananas. They are mesmerising creatures and if the other travellers are not too annoying you can sit there and watch for an hour or so. When we were there, we also saw gibbons, squirrels and wild pigs. All very entertaining. It's also sobering to realise that at Camp Leakey the feeding station has been set up because there is not enough jungle to sustain the rehabilitated orang utan and so they cannot find enough food without the help of the park rangers. The positive side effect is that tourism to the area is raising awareness of the plight of these wonderful apes. We had a wonderful trip on our klotok with Isy Iskandar, visiting Camp Leakey and the other feeding stations. ( see my review under Tanjung Putung National Park)

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank louloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camp Leakey also viewed

Central Kalimantan, Kalimantan
Kumai, Central Kalimantan
 
Pangkalan Bun, Central Kalimantan
Pangkalan Bun, Central Kalimantan
 

Been to Camp Leakey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing