We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beyond words”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lake Toba

Lake Toba
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.00*
and up
Private Tour: Karo Highlands and Lake Toba from Medan
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Thailand
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beyond words”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lake Toba was a huge and beautiful volcanic lake. There were many islands and big mountain around there. It's even beautiful watching from the hill side road. I was stunned when I first saw it. The water was crystal clear. I cruised around and hopped on Samosir island. You will see and feel how huge and powerful of the nature. The weather was fine and cold. I love it!! You should visited there. It's worth a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pajaree W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    252
    70
    15
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medan, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most magnificient Lake in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

Lake Toba is the largest Tectonic Lake in the world. Undoubtedly, its amazing views will captivate your longing & curiousity to visit it. It's 4 hours drive from Medan. You will be spoiled with unspoken beauty of the bukit barisan (chained hills) along the way, then finally crazy of taking photos, even crossing it by the local boat available ....
For further challenges, it is recommended to hire a local guide to lead u to many other great tourist attractions nearby

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank saptariwibowo2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
1 review
“Lake Toba is beautiful and feel peaceful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

i went there with my bf is really must visit place. This is the first times i went to Medan for the first times and i will going back again coz the place really nice view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hat Yai, Songkhla, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I went to lake Toba on Jun 2014 with my girlfriend. It is very beautiful and the weather is great, not too hot and minimal rain.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaiyapongse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
159 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“June Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

It is great view to see the Lake.
It is worth a visit to this largest volcano lake.
It has a big Island in it. Takes 45 mins by ferry to reach the Island.
Suggest stay at parapat and NOT on Island.
you can take days trip to visit the Island

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RAVI11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Toba also viewed

 
Bukit Lawang, North Sumatra
North Sumatra, Sumatra
 

Been to Lake Toba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing