We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$128
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Hotels.com
$128
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
Priceline
$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 11/06/21
CheapTickets$128
Travelocity$128
Orbitz.com$128
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
28
46
49
45
77
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
28
46
49
45
77
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 245 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I only read the reviews of this resort after we had been! I agree with some of the points, it was very basis, but then again it is a small Thai island so that is what I expected. The rooms were clean but yes the decor wasn't the best. The staff were lovely in the restaurant and service was good. No waiting at all for food, hot, well cooked food arrived within 10 mins of ordering. It was a bit "out of town" and you did have to travel along a dirt track to get back into town, but for my 9 year old son this was a delight - on the back of a truck being bumped around was the highlight. We didnt feel we were ripped off by the resort, we booked a days boat trip which was 600B each which we thought was expensive but when we compared this to prices in other areas it was about right. Food was probably a little more expensive than the more busy areas but not that much more, and every where you go you tend to pay more when more isolated so we didnt mind. . As for the beach being full of rubbish - a tourist boat delivered some people to the beautuful beach one morning and when they left a few hours later they left alll their rubbish in plastic bags on the beach. Within a few mins this had been cleared away by the staff. As a family we have travelled alot and I would say we have realistic expectations, no this resort wasnt luxury but we had 3 nights and really enjoyed it.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ratchadaBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Really wish we had consulted Tripadvisor before venturing to this place. We booked last minute for the weekend (thankfully not longer) through a local travel agent in Bangkok. I can only endorse the comments by previous reviewers - hugely overpriced, shabby furniture and decor, dour staff, inedible breakfast and yes, we also experienced the joys of bed bugs (my first time in over 25 years of budget and not-so-budget travelling). Bad, bad, bad! A real shame, as Koh Samet is a lovely island and I had great memories of a previous trip there.

Date of stay: July 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VickyTBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed here because it was the only place available on the island during a 3-day weekend. The bungalow we stayed in wasn’t too bad – the room was clean but way overpriced. We paid 1300 baht for a fan and cold water. You could get the same room on Koh Phangan for about 400 baht.

The beach – it’s just okay. Not great. There aren’t many people here, which is good but the water here just isn’t that nice. The main part has dirty water because of the trees that grow in front of the beach, and the end of the beach (which is more picturesque) has rocks a few feet in which make swimming difficult. Also, don’t expect to see any fish or coral.

The restaurant – Way overpriced. I live in Thailand so I know how much things should be, and this place was expensive even by resort standards. 70 baht for a baked potato, 120 baht for an omelet, 400 baht for fish, any curry is 150 baht minimum. A piece of corn is 45 baht! A large Heineken will set you back 120 baht. There’s no other place around so this is your only choice for food. Service is horrible – we waited 2 hours for our food to arrive, which they had forgotten. They use a computer system to input orders, but the problem is that none of the staff know how to use it, so it breaks down every few hours, creating a backlog of food orders.

The free breakfast – not the best. Fried eggs and cheap sausages. Minimal fruit and some mini pancakes. And of course fried rice.

My advice – spend the extra hour on the minivan and go to Koh Chang instead where it’s cheaper and more relaxed.

Date of stay: March 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

the resort was recommended by a friend, who had stayed there several years ago. Well, maybe it was nice at that time... it certainly felt as if the place was not properly cleaned since then. My "cottage" was a dingy wooden hut with a dirty plastic shower curtain at the window, the TV broken, the bathroom was outright disgustingly dirty; I won't go into details as it may turn your stomach. The room was "cleaned" only in the late afternoon. No furniture on the terrace.

They had neither beach towels nor mats nor anything and plainly didn't care to make one's stay comfortable. The staff was not in the least motivated and some were downright unfriendly. The breakfast was dumped on a large table with a dingy cover underneath; no refills.

One morning the whole beach was covered in plastic rubbish - obviously a load of rubbish had gone lost - nobody cared to clean the stuff up.

the only good thing to say is that the location is quite nice - a large beach, splendidly green - but then you can find this anywhere else on the island too.

Date of stay: January 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soupmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

My boyfriend and I stayed here in October - we had booked for 5 nights but only ended up staying 2 and that was 2 too many. The resort is isloated on it's own section of beach - which to its credit is very pretty (think desert island), however it is far too isolated because you can not get to the rest of the island easily without paying a fortune for a taxi, or scrambling through the jungle! We are both very well travelled people and have stayed in a huge range of places in loads of countries, but this place was one of the worst for decor, atmosphere and general appeal. My first impressions upon arrival weren't good which was a bad sign - it wasn't very busy, it was very run down, quite grubby and the staff were truly miserable. It was also full of Thai's on holiday for the weekend so it felt like a bit of a youth club. The restaurant food was good, but the restaurant itself very gloomy and had no atmophere - they also chucked us out at 9 and hassled us to pay the bill! The bar wasn't open, so the only choice was to go hang our room. Our room was supposedly a deluxe beachfront cottage but it was pretty basic and again had a gloomy feel to it. It was also very expensive for very poor quality - in other words, a complete rip off. After one day/night of this, we quickly realised we were trapped there and had to leave so after a 6 hour argument/negotiation with the management, we agreed to get most of our money back and legged it out of there first thing. We went straight to Saikaew beach resort at the other end of the island and stayed in a deluxe cottage for the same price - it was amazing: http://www.kohsamethotels.com/koh-samet/saikaew-beach.htm.

Date of stay: October 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Loubi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews