We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely private beach location”
Review of Samet Ville Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samet Ville Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Phe
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We emailed prior to going and didn't get responses soon enough to help plan our journey. The hotel has. We booked direct which was good as you are able to request pick ups from Bangkok and ferry or speedboat to the resort. The hotel ferry service has allotted times and takes you directly to Ao Wai the bay the hotel is located in. This means you don't have to worry about transport to the hotel from the usual pier (Nadan) at the top of the Island. Speedboat times are more flexible especially if you have a large group. When you book direct you have to go to the office in Ban Phe opposite the pier. They sort your paperwork out and a car/truck takes you to your ferry or speedboat when ready, all very much easier than doing it yourself at the pier. The hotel reception was helpful and spoke good Engish. Breakfast was limited not very inspiring and eggs were always overdone. We only ate lunch at the restaurant and the service was very slow. The food was okay. There is a small shop on site with a limited choice of nibbles and drinks but you can buy ice. Restaurant closes at 9pm and the hotel was very quiet. If you want this then its fine. We were in a big party of 11 and went up to the road and hailed a truck to Sai Kaew beach where all the nightlife is. We paid 400 bhat for a truck each time. We didn't haggle too much but I'm sure you could get it lower. Ride is bumpy but fun. Rooms are shabby. Lots of black flies and mosquitos so take plenty of spray!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andi&Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 192 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights last week... End of our 5 week mooch around Thailand. I'll start with the best point about the place, the Beach, It is spectacular. One of the best on the Island in my personal opinion. Good sand, clear water, privacy to an extent. It all looks the part. Thats where it stops.
Service is bloody disgraceful. Considering this was the most expensive place we stayed, they make you pay in advance, I fear this may be why. The pool was closed the entire time we were there, excuse given, chemicals, literally thats it. Though the pump was on and the water was crystal.
The staff were rude, had a look of just go away about them 90% of the time. They put us into a cheaper room than we paid for, only for us to state we wanted what we had paid for to see it was bloody awful and run down.
Food was the most expensive we came across in the entire 5 nights, also, very very bad, not to mention extremely slow.
The onsite shop looked like it had been raided, the shelves had nothing! Making you either rely on the restaurant of go further, much further, afield.
The grounds look nice.. the beech looks nice. But if you want anything that you'd expect from a resort, like service etc, genuinely stay away from this place, they don't deserve the hard earned money they charge. If you want isolation and don't mind a slightly run down room and have money to throw away then be my guest!


One other thing, it is super isolated, 800baht round trip in a cab to the rest of civilisation, thats £16 ish. Just to get some decent food that isn't ridiculously priced.

We had a rollercoaster of a trip, but this put everything into perspective. Easily our worst accommodation in the whole of thailand. We did super cheap, and it was bang on, we didn't expect to pay so much more for so much less. We aren't actually demanding, literally never ask for anything kind of people. But this place was too much.

Room Tip: do not pay extra for standard type 2, its much much worse, and poorly located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Pros: Location of the resort, Service, Transport facility by resort, Food variety availability.
Cons: No in resort entertainment, Room's can be maintained better, Vehicles used for transport.

The car which they used to carry us to the ship was horrible. But the way they arranged the transport was good. Resort has a private beach quiet relaxing one. Room could have been better. But location and view through the windows were just too good.

Room Tip: Private cottage room 32 is lonely but damm good view and location. Musq repellent might be required...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balakmrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Worst Resort In The world !
Quiet and Nice Beach ??? NOT AT ALL !!! During the day time the resort will sell it's beach to all the tour companies, full of Rude Russians on the noisy beach.
Bad designed and Dirty rooms, dirty toilet, full of mosquitos, no room service at all.
Worst and most expensive food I've ever seen in my life for this kind of cheap resort ! We ordered 2 pieces of toast. 2 eggs, coffees costs 550 Baht !
Badly deigned restaurant like stay in a meeting room ! No sea view at all ! Rude waiters in the restaurant !
Rude service staffs, expensive cocktails, we ordered 2 cocktails from the bar, no one will send it to us to the beach, we must go and pick up ourselves !
One of our friends was injured because the bad drived speedboat to the resort which is included in the package we bought, but after arrived when we asked for help, we were surprised that no help provided at all !!!! They told us need to pay 450 Baht to in able to get to the land to clinic ! No extra help can be provided !
The man seems to be the manager in the reception was rude and helpless, no smile at all.
Overall, if you are thinking to go holiday to Samed island for holiday, DO NOT let this resort to ruin your beautiful holiday !

Room Tip: No good rooms at all, Don't Book, Don't Visit, Don't even think about this resort !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kentbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The best thing of this hotel - it is the only one hotel on the Ao Wai Beach. But it is the negative at the same time.
+ very quite hotel, wild and beautiful territory, lots of birds, flowers, trees. Clean, white sand beach, small and romantic. In a bungalo you can hear the night sea.
- not really polite personal, administrator girls are not friendly. Also you shoud know, the most cheap bungalo with a conditioner is 2000 per night. If it is not the high season or public holiday, ask for this price (ask to show all the bungalows and be importune). The only place you can eat is restoraunt of the hotel, so better take some food with you. Water is free.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The resort is well kept and extensive, and the only one on this beach. We stayed in one of the cheaper rooms; big, clean-ish but nothing special (and not that cheap either!).We loved the resort because it was quiet, the service was good and the beach is great. Buffet breakfast included in the price was extensive and good. We ate there most evening, food good. Loungers free, there is also a swimming pool, wifi around the restaurant, beer sold at normal prices. Need your own transport though! We rented a motorcycle at the ferry terminal. Terrible roads, all dirt and stones. We saw someone fall and dislocate a shoulder. In other words, don't rent one unless you have a little bit of experience.

Room Tip: Have a look around all the rooms are different; and have different prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glitzybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

The best thing of this hotel - it is the only one hotel on the Ao Wai Beach. But it is the negative at the same time.
+ very quite hotel, wild and beautiful territory, lots of birds, flowers, trees. Clean, white sand beach, small and romantic. In a bungalo you can hear the night sea.
- not really polite personal, administrator girls are not friendly. Also you shoud know, the most cheap bungalo with a conditioner is 2000 per night. If it is not the high season or public holiday, ask for this price (ask to show all the bungalows and be importune). The only place you can eat is restoraunt of the hotel, so better take some food with you. Water is free.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kniga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phe
1.0 mi away
Nimmanoradee Resort
2.3 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
737 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tub Tim Resort
Tub Tim Resort
#7 of 20 in Ko Samet
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Paradee Resort
Paradee Resort
#1 of 20 in Ko Samet
630 reviews
4.5 mi away
Nice Beach Hotel
Nice Beach Hotel
#3 of 4 in Phe
159 reviews
1.7 mi away
Samed Villa Resort
Samed Villa Resort
#2 of 20 in Ko Samet
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samet Ville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samet Ville Resort

Address: 88/1 Moo 4 Tambon Phe | Muang, Rayong, Phe 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Phe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Phe
Price Range: $45 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Samet Ville Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samet Ville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samet Ville Hotel Phe
Samet Ville Resort Rayong Province/Phe, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing