We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“those who dissed this place just don't know to travel. that was the best place at reasonable price on the island.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samet Ville Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Samet Ville Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Phe
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“those who dissed this place just don't know to travel. that was the best place at reasonable price on the island.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

for our first night, we didn't choose this place because of all the bad reviews. my biggest disappointment on my month and a half trip was to listen to them. on Kho samet, this is the only place with one resort one beach, except maybe the last one at 4000B/night. the rooms (1700B for 3nights, AC, double bed) are spacious, clean enough and ac. the staff is gentle, sometimes a bit less. but hey! who wouldn't be, serving people 14 hours a day 6 days a week. those folk work their xx of. the pool is clean and big! the food was very good. boat trip and snorkel
trip, thai massage, trekking, motorcycle or 4X4 all available. and the site, the place! the un rocky, cosy and private beach! awsome. we stayed a day more just because it was what we needed. people have to understand that when they are traveling far from their cosy home, they might not find their own living room everywhere. travelling is being curious and encountering sometimes different things. it's not because you don't like the food that mean it's not good. you'll see spider or other insect sometimes? guest what! you'll in a tropical place full of jungle!! what are you thinking?? you want to see other chicks? you want to see man jungle with and eating fire on loosy thai club music? you want to get xxup and don't remember your trip? go to Playa del Carmen in Mexico, or maybe just Patthaya in Thailand. but if you don't, if you care about chill, calm and pressure relief, Samet Ville is where you need to go on the Koh Samet Island.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jeansebroux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    34
    32
    31
    53
See reviews for
41
69
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a place I was so excited for, but ended up leaving a day early. The beach was exquisite, the water perfect, and the grounds nicely maintained. Paradise, really!!!! However, I wouldn't recommend this place unless they make a lot of improvements. First, the room was terribly shabby. There was a urinal in the shower, giant spiders in the bathroom, and the room was hideous. Nothing on the walls, very outdated, cheap and shabby furniture. The tv didn't work, there was no plug for the bedside lamp, and the bed was adequate, but with old army blankets. There were no screens on the window, so we couldn't listen to the ocean. I asked for a nicer or newer room and they said no, even though there was hardly anyone there. (during off-season) Second, the service: very unhappy employees more interested in Facebook and tv than helping. Many young people doing hard labor, and really nickeled and dimed for everything from ice to a beach chair. Finally, the food: it was greasy, unoriginal, and they only had about a third of what was listed on the menu. I actually got bad diarreaha from the food, luckily I had an antibiotic. This place has potential but is terribly managed. I hope they improve but I will not go back and do not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EllieGoldberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Phe hotels

Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I decided on a whim to take a one-night trip to Koh Samet and only researched places to stay the day before online. Options were slim given we were going on New Year's Day but we decided to just show up via taxi from Bangkok and see what adventure awaited us! We were told our options would be slim but knew we wanted to stay away from the party scene so we took an open-air jeep to the far end of the island. By talking to other people on the taxi we learned that Samet Ville Resort had a couple rooms open. My traveling partner spoke Thai which we thought might help our check-in process. I can't remember what our room cost, but the only option available was a beachside family bungalow/cottage.

I'm a pretty easy-going traveler and we obviously mistakenly thought this resort was going to be a surprising, pleasant find for our 1 day/night on the island. I could literally write pages about what happened during our very short stay, but I'll list a few top +'s and -'s that could help future visitors decide what's important to them.

The good stuff:
1) Beach was beautiful, stunning rocks and secluded areas to explore. Photos taken at sunrise and sunset were simply stunning.
2) Resort location was across the road (yes a dirt road but that added to the adventure) from the other side of the island which was an amazing nighttime walk after sunset. The next resort up the beach was walking distance as well and the food at Apache Restaurant was some of the best of my entire vacation.
3) Beachfront bungalow with the waves at sunrise was so relaxing and I definitely appreciated how secluded it felt. Coming from the hustle of Bangkok, a day on that beach was just perfect.

The stuff that makes for a poor rating:
1) Customer service at the resort was non-existent. Service at restaurant was horrible. Beach and resort areas were not very clean.
2) Accommodations were outdated, at least in our bungalow. Some of the other cottages looked newer but most of them were old. We did not even use the shower in our room, but used the main shower by the restaurant/front desk instead. We slept on top of the covers on our beds and put towels over the pillows because nothing looked clean. Towels were threadbare as were the sheets/blankets.
3) The resort staff's interpretation of island time was very stressful when we tried to book our water taxi out. We booked the night before and had to keep asking the front desk when the taxi would show up once the departure time passed. There was a huge crowd of people all waiting to leave and getting anxious about missing connecting travel plans. We stood on the beach and ran up to the taxi with the minute it "docked", thank goodness because not everyone fit on and those who were waiting by the desk probably had to wait another hour for the next taxi from that company.

Overall, given our lack of advance planning we were very happy to have visited Koh Samet, and found it an island we fell in love with. We definitely did not fall in love (or like) with Samet VIlle Resort and hope that those who plan ahead would at least understand the quality of the resort before booking. We took the pamphlet/brochure to the front desk and asked them where those photos were taken, we were told they were taken at another resort down the road, haha! So don't believe what you find on the resort website, but do believe the reviews.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaKaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi,India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

There are a lot of reviews for this property and reading them sort of confused us before booking. We took a bit of a risk and booked at the hotel for 3 nights. In this review I am attempting to clearly explain what to expect from Samet Ville

1) Rating - This is definitely not a 5 star property. If I were to go by the international rating standards I would put it somewhere between 3.5 - 4 stars. This of course does not mean its a bad resort. It just isnt in the 5 star category

2) Facilities -

a) Restaurant - The hotel has a fairly good open and covered restaurant with a sea view. The menu is mostly south east asian but you can get steaks, pizzas and pastas and a few other cuisines as well. Food quality is pretty good. The fixed breakfast menu can get a bit boring after a couple of days though. The bar is a part of this restaurant. The food prices are higher than most places across the island.

b) Swimming Pool - Nice clean pool surrounded by greenery. Has a nice sun deck with reclining deck chairs as well. Its a bit small but was rarely very crowded. About 15m in length at the most.

c) The Beach and beach equipment - The resort has its own private beach (Ao Wai). The water is blue and warm, sand is very soft and clean, pretty ideal according to me. It is about a 500m stretch and quite isolated. A lot of the beaches across Koh Samet are pretty busy and have lots to do. This beach is mainly meant for kicking back and relaxing. For beach chairs you either have to pay a fee (50 baht) and deposit (200 baht i think) or you can get them for free if you have one of the more expensive rooms. They also have other beach equipment like mats, tubes, snorkeling gear etc...which can all be rented.

3) Rooms - We had taken a superior sea view room which was practically on the beach. I didnt see all the other rooms but definitely some are newer than the others and the quality is very different. We were paying about 3500 Baht a night for this room (breakfast included). The room was worth it from the view point of view. One on end was the ocean and on the back it was complete greenery and almost in the middle of the forest. The inside of the room was not the best though. Paint was peeling off, the bathroom and shower was just the basics, Old TV, NO ROOM SERVICE/TELEPHONE and gloomy lighting. It was a very large room and fairly clean. The bed was comfortable. You can hear all sorts of loud insects and birds all through the night. I kind of enjoyed the sounds but my wife didnt.

4) Location of the Resort - Now this is the big one. Koh Samet has a couple of popular beaches which are busy and touristy in the north east. As you move south along the east coast the beaches become a bit more isolated. Ao Wai, where our resort was is in the southern most beach on the island. The problem is that there is only one road to connect all the beaches and resorts and its not maintained at all. Its practically a dirt track. You need to hire a bike or quad bike to go from one place to another and is definitely not easy to maneuver the road. We managed on a bike but we made sure we went quite slow and covering about 5 kms would take 30 mins or more and it would be very bumpy. If you need action on the beach and do not want to risk the commute I would recommend to stay in the north (Hat Sai Kew or some neighboring beaches). I personally enjoyed the luxury of living on an isolated beach and then riding up to the busy beaches in the evenings for fun but it can be pretty annoying for some. There are also lots of open air jeeps that go up and down on the road. Im not sure of the prices because we never used them.

5) Getting there and away - You need to arrive at Ban Phe which is about 3 hours from Bangkok. You can reach Ban Phe either by bus from the Ekamai bus station (take a taxi or airport express from the airport) or even go directly by cab (expensive). From Ban Phe you have to take a ferry to the beach/resort you are going to. There are 3 options for this - a) Take a public ferry which is fixed timings every day b) A speedboat - this can accomodate about 10 people and is more expensive and not necessarily fixed timings c) a private speedboat which is expensive but takes you directly to the resort - a) and b) options stop at various beaches on the way. Ao Wai is the last report on the island

6) Service - Language is a problem with some of the attendants/waiters but if you are regular traveler you will easily manage. For people who are used to traveling in more developed nations or only English speaking countries - it can be a bit of a shocker.

7) The hotel website - The hotel website definitely showcases it as way more luxurious than it really is. Please do not go expecting a 5 star resort.

In short, if you would like a private beach, basic clean rooms and dont mind braving the commute to see the other beaches on the island then it is recommended. If you are looking at partying extensively or a very luxurious stay - choose another place.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms looked very old and shabby. We had a slightly newer room. The garden view rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vikasjawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Samet Ville is not very nice. The rooms are old and in need of some serious TLC and service needs major improvement. The mattresses here are the hardest I have ever slept on. Picture spending your night sleeping on your dining table. It is far from the main party beach and the road there is a rough and scary one...borderline dangerous! The restaurant is terrible!! They are on a nice beach and it was nice to have only a handful of other people on the beach with us. If you want a night of peace and quiet and are willing to pack your own food then it's okay. You won't wan't to stay here for longer than that though... Too bad they don't fix it up and offer better customer service b/c the location makes a good quick peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Biviana929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

It has almost the same name of one of the best hotel "samed villa", but it Is certainly not!! This is samet ville, just here you know that they are trying to trick you

Checkin poor, understaffed for the load of passengers getting off the speed boat, took 40" in an organized mess to get the room

Got a villa for 4500 bath, no sea view, two materass on the floor for the kids with no sheets, no amenities in the bathroom, bring your toilet paper! A real dump the villa

Restaurant, food not bad but service so so poor. We gave our room no. To charge the bill and after 30 minutes none returned to our table so we left. 2 hours later at 10pm a fu.... waiter knoks and yells at our room, waking up the kids, he wanted us to sign the bill--- to strangled him is the minimum we wish to do

Breakfast stay away, mediocre

Our son got injured in the rocks, we asked for first aid help at the reception, the manager handed us a bucket with used, unsterilized products, and the bucket/gaze etc were full of blood from the previous patient . Wow a aids bucket!! To be sued right there. We did not use it of course

Beach nice and quiet, unfortunately dirty, nonody clean up the trash

Pool, no umbrella, no towels, unattended, heavy chemicals

Beach has 3 long chairs that s it!

Clientele 90% thai, how did we end up there?
Keep out

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sutopi67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

we book by internet for 2 days, we stay only 1 night. we had a standar room, with smelly bathroom, at the restaurant they serve only few meals at lunch(like pasta for kids) but not for diner, very very long service. For breakfast you have to stay only un 1 big place with plastic chairs and if you want to be on the wooden table under the trees it's not possible.
RUN AWAY

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LEFRET J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phe
2.4 mi away
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
Sai Kaew Beach Resort
#3 of 20 in Ko Samet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.6 mi away
Paradee Resort & Spa Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tubtim Resort
Tubtim Resort
#8 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nimmanoradee Resort
2.2 mi away
Lima Coco Resort
Lima Coco Resort
#5 of 55 in Rayong
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vongdeuan Resort
Vongdeuan Resort
#6 of 20 in Ko Samet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samet Ville Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samet Ville Resort

Property: Samet Ville Resort
Address: 88/1 Moo 4 Tambon Phe | Muang, Rayong, Phe 21160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Rayong Province > Phe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Phe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samet Ville Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Samet Ville Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samet Ville Hotel Phe
Samet Ville Resort Rayong Province/Phe, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing