We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seafood on the Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mae Ram Phueng Beach

Mae Ram Phueng Beach
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Phe
Attraction details
Kaeng Khoi, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Seafood on the Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Mae Ram Phueng is a long sandy beach (approx 6 km) that fronts a coastal road just East of Rayong. There are numerous small Accommodation places and restaurants along the land side of the road but to me the main attractions are the simple 'ramshackle' fresh seafood restaurants along the beach itself.
Mae Ram Phueng is going through a change and a lot of these are disappearing but there are still many good ones. The fish and shellfish are typically on display, either live in circulated water tanks or on ice in front of the simple kitchen, behind which are tables and chairs on the sand under a rustic low roof shelter; occasionally we have had to move when the tide comes in and lapped at our feet, which all adds to the atmosphere.
If you pick your spot and right time of the year the beach is also a pleasant place to lie in a deck chair under a verandah of umbrellas and chill out. Most of these areas are cleaned daily by the concession holders and are very child friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raaraab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    31
    20
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
227 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“what a mess”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

also here six years ago and just 2 years ago... sadly now its probably worse than patong.... a filthy mess, vendors all over the place selling crap... interestingly not many westerners... just look and you can see why....what a mess.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abigmagilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The place where we stayed (next to VIP Chain Resort) was clean and very nice, maintained by the staff at the restaurants. The sunbeds were free (maybe because they knew us as we ate there almost every day), and the restaurant was great. The water was shallow ond luke warm, even in December (a lot warmer than on the nearby Ko Samet). The beach was quite dirty other places. When there was a low tide, the kids hunted for crabs and crawfish, and the beach became up to 100 meters broad. It was quiet and there were always sunbeds available. In the evening, the only light came from the restaurants and parts of the beach were only lit by stars and moon.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vnordby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

For those who want a relaxing holiday without crowds. Lovely beach, plenty of food, I had an excellent pad thai. I did not find much garbage when i was there. No parking problems. Inexpensive

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank izoard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayong, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not your white sandy beaches and sometimes a little grubby, but I can assure you it sure is relaxing laying back on a beach chair quenching that hard earned thirst. if it is a lay backed holiday you want this is the place to be. All types of accommodation provided for and everything, I mean everything, compared to the islands is dirt cheap. Care needs to be taken sometimes when swimming as they do have seasonal rips.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank PheloThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae Ram Phueng Beach also viewed

Rayong, Rayong Province
Rayong, Rayong Province
 
Klaeng, Rayong Province
Ko Samet, Rayong Province
 

Been to Mae Ram Phueng Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing