We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Lakes marine history”

Port Burwell Marine Museum & Historic Lighthouse
Attraction details
London, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Lakes marine history”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

A good number of artifacts that are well documented. Stories that bring the people and times to life. Very inexpensive and most definitely worth the time.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank FancifulFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nice Collection”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

It is a one room maritime museum much like the one in Port Dover. Nice collection of models ships and local lake port info. It gives the history of the lighthouse. I was to late to up the lighthouse. But I like ships and stuff like that so this museum hit the spot for me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hamburg, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Historic Lighthouse”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This Lighthouse was built in 1840 and is unique. There is a $2 charge to climb to
the top but this also gets you into the Marine Museum. I climbed to the top but wouldn't
recommend it. The stairs are steep and not much head room. When you get to the top
you can't go outside and the windows are very dirty for taking pictures. The view isn't very
scenic. The lighthouse also serves as a tourist info site. The lighthouse is worth seeing.
Be sure to stop afterwards at Scoops for an single ice cream cone at Scoops for only
$1.33. I would go again to see the Lighthouse as the beach is great and there is a new
pier to walk out. We didn't go inside the Marine Museum but it did look interesting from the exhibits outside.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank booking123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freelton, Ontario
Level Contributor
183 reviews
111 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Marine history”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It was enjoyable and for the price was well worth it. Good local history showing the train ferry Ashtabula.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
450 reviews
73 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“The historic Port Burwell Lighthouse”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

The Port Burwell lighthouse was constructed in 1840. It has some wonderful history as in 1965, the Village of Port Burwell acquired the structure. And it is the oldest wooden lighthouse on the Canadian shore of Lake Erie and one of the oldest surviving lights in Canada.
Having said all that it is located on a hilltop and so there is a good view of Lake Erie and other much smaller lighthouse on the end of the boardwalk. And from this location there is a good opportunity to get an excellent photograph of the lighthouse.
I have had the opportunity to go in the lighthouse and see the great looking wooden structure.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank AcapulcoFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port Burwell Marine Museum & Historic Lighthouse also viewed

 
Port Burwell, Ontario
 

Been to Port Burwell Marine Museum & Historic Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing