We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice beach town restaurant”

The Lighthouse Restaurant & Pub
Cuisines: Bar, Canadian, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Canada
Level Contributor
239 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nice beach town restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

There is really very little choice in this sleepy beach town, but I enjoy the Lighthouse. There's a big outside seating area and a large menu with local fish available. Not sure why a reviewer would order Cod in a harbour that sells fresh Perch and Pickerel! These are the stars here. This place is VERY informal and that's why I like it. They let us bring our little dog on the outside patio and even brought a bowl of water for her. Big points for being dog friendly instead of making us find a shady parking spot to leave the dog. Burgers are good and really never disliked anything on the menu. Live music on the patio in the summer. Can be very noisy when a bike group (not gang) is in town, but it's a beach town so it's meant to be fun!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaMoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    14
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
179 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Decent fish and chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We happened on this place when we were hungry at lunch time. In off season there were only a couple of locals (by appearance in the place). The board advertised the Friday special of cod fish and chips, which I ordered. The waitress returned and said cod was no longer available and wondered if haddock was OK. It was, but seemed to be strange error to make. My wife had a one-piece haddock with mashed potatoes. The fish was good, but the cole slaw seemed to leave a bit of aftertaste. The bar dominates the room, and there doesn't seem to be quiet corner in the place. It was an OK lunch; not sure I'd head there for dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dusty_Archivist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good fish dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Have stopped at The Lighthouse several times while in Port Burwell, fresh fish, and good service, would advise this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very good food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our lunch at The Lighthouse. The look of the restaurant is rather rustic and in need of some refurbishment. However, do not be fooled by this. The service was great and the food wonderful.
The restaurant was busy; both on the outdoor patio and the indoor dining room. The fact that they were busy didn't hold up or negatively impact our service. Our server was fast (but we did not feel rushed), courteous, helpful, friendly and cheerful!
We had the "light" perch lunch which was more than adequate in terms of portions and tasty!
We will definitely stop here again when we come thru Port Burwell at lunch.
Our lunch which included 2 ice teas, 2 light perch meals, with tip $30. Not bad for a cooked, sit down lunch!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady-Harley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
185 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Fish and Chips”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were attracted to the restaurant in the early afternoon by live music being played on the patio. We ordered the fish and chip special, which we found to be average at best.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RockhoundParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lighthouse Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 
Port Burwell, Ontario
Port Burwell, Ontario
 

Been to The Lighthouse Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing