We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently amazing.”
Review of Le Petit Leon

Le Petit Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $40
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Le Petit Leon is a seasonal restaurant in the south of France open from June till September each year. Executive Chef Nick Honeyman from Paris Butter in Auckland New Zealand servers up a mix of French flavours with his own creative twists. The restaurant is an outside seating experience in a beautiful garden. For more information please visit the website.
Reviewed September 2, 2016

I'm lucky to visit St Leon most years with a family house across the river, and each time a visit to the Petit Leon is essential

This year i brought 19 friends with me to enjoy the village, and of naturally a meal at one of the regions best restaurants. Despite our number the staff accommodated us with ease, with excellent service and typically wonderful food, for me the goats cheese starter and the wonderful steak with truffle butter were highlights.

All my friends who attended would count it amongst one of their most memorable meals in memory. With wonderful scenery, service and food.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restolepetitleon, Propriétaire at Le Petit Leon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Dear Tom,
It is a pleasure to read such a grateful comment from a regular customer.
It is true that we have tried, over the years, to maintain the quality of food and service at le Petit Léon, even though, it is only open in july and august.
But as you well know, Saint Léon is a very special place with an atmosphere of its own and it is amazing to see how this village is slowly becoming an aboslute must for Périgord visitors.
The quality and the variety of its many restaurants, the various boutiques offering local crafts and of course its monuments certainly explain this success.
Enjoy a lovely fall, maybe in Saint Léon, and we hope to see you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 345 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2016

Lovely outside seating area and good menu choices. Tasty food. The manager was a very charming lady, though the waitress that served us was very unsmiling and rather curt.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restolepetitleon, Propriétaire at Le Petit Leon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you Michelle for this excellent comment.
We are sorry to learn that one of our waitress had an unsmiling face this day.
It is unusual and we shall make sure that it does not happen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2016

What a perfect Sunday, out first visit to this restaurant and such a shame it will be closing in two weeks, iopen just for 8 wks July/August we do hope to return to sample the dinner menu before closure.
Excellent food I had Cesear salad really fresh lots of herbs so tasty and and my partner had the duck also excellent staff very helpful and friendly the garden where you eat charming really recommend it

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank eclark834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restolepetitleon, Propriétaire at Le Petit Leon, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2016

Thank you somuch for your very kind comments.
Unfortunately, it is true that we are only opened for two months (july and august) because we believe the magic is linked to the garden and would not work the same inside.
Let us hope to see you next year!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2016

Excellent service, good food and lovely setting. The restaurant is only open for 2 months of the year and now closes on Mondays but do not miss if you are there in July or August!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restolepetitleon, Propriétaire at Le Petit Leon, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Thank you dear Kim for this rewarding comment.
As you said, it is only two months a year, but two lovely months with clients like yourself...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Le Petit Léon is essentially a seasonal summer restaurant open for a couple of months during which a young and inventive chef from NZ spends a couple of months in a lovely village on the banks of the Vézère River creating a kind of pop up culinary hotspot. A choice of two dinner menus (24€ and 29€) with various options means that you can (and should) visit twice - provided you book ahead - to sample more than one variant. Whilst you're hesitating over the choice you may find the waitress suggesting more mouth-watering alternatives. I had some "off the menu" green asparagus on a bed of creamed Parmesan topped by a 1-hour poached egg. Had to have a second portion to follow up. Greedy, but worth every calorie.

"Locally sourced" is de rigueur nowadays but this food is served whilst it's practically still in the growth process/fresh on the bone. The garden setting is easy and relaxed - careful, encourages indulgence - the service is friendly and efficient and the wines well chosen and moderately priced: a winning formula in all senses of the word.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
restolepetitleon, Propriétaire at Le Petit Leon, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2016

Dear Eve,

It is such a great pleasure for our chef and all members of our staff to read your wonderful comments.
Thank you so much for being so kind with our modest "pop up" restaurant!
We hope to see you again, may be next year, as our chef Nick will certainly be back with more surprises and flavours...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Petit Leon also viewed

Saint-Leon-sur-Vezere, Montignac
 
La Chapelle-Aubareil, Dordogne
 
Montignac, Dordogne
Condat-sur-Vezere, Dordogne
 

Been to Le Petit Leon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing