We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful countryside” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Op de Horsten

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Zuiderwoude
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Op de Horsten
Fallanden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful countryside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very friendly couple with a nice and quite room on the countryside, for 3 adults. It only took us 25 min. to drive to a P+R close to Amsterdam. EUR 8.- for car parking and metro to Amesterdam for all of us. We can really recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sternliCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a great experience at Op de Horsten. We arrived in rain/cold/wind, so were unable to take advantage of the biking, but had a wonderful time anyway. The hosts were very welcoming and happy to answer any questions (we especially liked the tour of the solar-electricity installation on the barn roof - thank you!), the rooms clean and nicely furnished, the breakfasts were very nice. In all, we cannot identify a single weakness of this B&B. The weather was terrible while we were there, but it was an uncommon bad spell across N. Europe at the time and obviously not their fault. We took the bus to/from Amsterdam Centraal/Op de Horste, which was very convenient, quick and inexpensive. Having no car was not a problem, even without the bikes (rain), as the bus stop is very near the B&B and it is easy to bus to nearby Edam/Vollendam/etc. It was also an easy walk to Monnikendam...and all of the nearby towns are worthwhile visiting. So, this is not a very 'balanced' review, because it is a really nice place to stay. Thank you to our hosts!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RandD F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmiel, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We visited the Netherlands last year, and we were happy to find Op De Horsten that hosts on a B & B base, only 15 minutes from Amsterdam . Our hosts Rinske and Ids were great , they hosted us warmly in their home, the place is very clean and very pleasant, very good breakfasts, Rinske and Ids helped us in everything we needed, the kids really enjoyed them . We planned to sleep there 9 nights and we added 3 more nights. One day we had to leave early in the morning, they packed us a great breakfast with full of surprises for children . I warmly recomend Op De Horsten :-)

Room Tip: all the rooms are clean and very nice as much as i saw. we visited Op De Horsten at september 2011...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Lovely location away from the "rush" of Amsterdam yet only a few kilometres away and an easy bus ride. However, having spent several breaks in Amsterdam we chose to visit Volendam Edam etc and had a really wonderful time, enhanced by the comfortable home we stayed in.
A car though perhaps not strictly essential, we would recommend you have one to get the best of a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gertiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuiderwoude
1.2 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
2.4 mi away
Hof van Marken
Hof van Marken
#1 of 1 in Marken
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch
Hotel Old Dutch
#2 of 4 in Volendam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#3 of 4 in Volendam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kamerverhuur-Waterland
Kamerverhuur-Waterland
#2 of 2 in Monnickendam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Op de Horsten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Op de Horsten

Property: Op de Horsten
Address: Zeedijk 9, 1153 PJ Zuiderwoude, Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Monnickendam > Zuiderwoude
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Zuiderwoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing