We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cool cave! English tours!

We weren’t going to go here due to lack of time. But. Then we found the time. And I’m glad we did... read more

Reviewed September 21, 2018
Carl T
,
New York City, New York
via mobile
Definitely worth a trip. Enjoyable

I was a little put off by some people describing the road to get to the caves as requiring nerves... read more

Reviewed August 18, 2018
Paul O
Read all 582 reviews
  
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
40
29
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
29
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hour tour worth a visit interesting cave warm clothes cave tour two hours english speaking guide car park nice tour small children ticket office italian speakers sole road tours temperature lucca
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 74 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

We weren’t going to go here due to lack of time. But. Then we found the time. And I’m glad we did. Came here on a quiet September Thursday. Half expecting it to be closed (which it definitely wasn’t). But we were lucky to get in a tour with mostly English speakers, so the guide spoke English (perfectly). And gave headsets to the two german people with us (native Italian speakers went on a separate tour right behind us). It was great. We got the 1 hour tour, but at the halfway mark, we decided to continue with the 2 hour tour (that goes down down down). I highly recommend the 2 hour tour, otherwise you would miss a ton, most of the really cool stuff (the bottom water, silt structures, etc). Don’t touch anything. 7 Euro for 1 hour tour, 12 Euro for the two hours. (FYI-The 3 hour tours is pretty much spelunking).

Thank Carl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2018

I was a little put off by some people describing the road to get to the caves as requiring nerves of steel. But truth be told it wasn't too bad. The road is narrow in a few places, but there are places to pass and there wasn't that much traffic. So don't let that put you off. Just take your time, toot your horn on the bends and you will be fine. There is a paid car park at the caves as well. Fortunately for us the machine was out of order so we didn't need to pay!

We went on the 1 hour tour which was nice. There is a bit of climbing involved but the steps are good and there are hand rails. There are a few places were you have to duck down along the path. Our Italian guide was lovely and the tour was in English. I wish we had more time and had gone on the 2 hour tour as apparently there is an underground river to see as well. There is also a 3 hour tour, but that sounded a bit too long for us. It's also a little chilly in the caves, so maybe bring a light top or jacket. I only had a t shirt and shorts on, but it wasn't too bad. Overall very enjoyable and worth a visit. We combined our trip with a lovely visit to Barga where we had a very enjoyable lunch before heading up to the caves.

1  Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2018 via mobile

We have visited grotto Del Vento several times over the last decade, and this time we did the three hour tour. I highly recommend it – we had a private tour in effect for the first hour and saw new parts of the cave which were very dramatic. And excellent activity on a hot day in the summer because it is so cool inside the cave. Our guide spoke good English and our teenage kids really enjoyed it, as did we.

2  Thank SFMarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2018 via mobile

I've been to lots of caves in different places and this one is ok. The tour is one hour but mostly because the guide takes lots of time explaining in Italian. We had a tour in our own language and had to wait for the Italian guide to finish.
My ten year old son was a bit disappointed by the duration of the one hour tour so if you have adventurous kids maybe take the two hour tour.

1  Thank filu81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2018

The road to the cave is a hell, narrow to the max. But beautiful. The scenery around is gorgeous. The cave is interesting and there are pretty villages to the way and back.

Thank Creamy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 via mobile

It was difficult to find (lack of good map in leaflet, not much local signage, plus the Apple Map directions took us to a completely incorrect location on the wrong side of the mountain) but when we made it - the sights were stunning and the tour guide had lots of fascinating facts. We did the 2 hour tour. Most of the stalactites and stalagmites could be seen within the 1hour tour. The second hour went right to the bottom of the cave with more history details and some sandstone deposit formations.

Thank KR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Beautiful caves! We did the 1 hour tour, which was enough time to see it. However be weary of the roads to get there, they are tricky. Maria gave us our own tour in English- she is very knowledgeable and very funny! We had a blast being guided around the caves with her. Its 10 degrees celcius in there, so make sure you bring something warm to wear. Also, parking is expensive- €3 so bring coins.

1  Thank Lrs283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2018

We really enjoyed our visit in the Wind Cave. The guide was knowledgeable and it was worth the relatively high entry fee. We learned many interesting things about the caves history, its health benefits, its exploration, etc. The experiment when we experienced total darkness was also very very interesting! It's chilly inside the cave, so dress properly.

Thank Adrian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2018

Took a detour from our walking holiday in Tuscany. The drive up to and down from the caves is very exciting / nerve racking, depending on your outlook. A fascinating centre outside the Cave, with all the usual stone samples, and information re-its discovery and excavation / exploration. We did the 1 hour tour, needs warm clothes and firm shoes / boots. We enjoyed the tour (english speaking guide). She was able to answer our questions which made it worthwhile. The caverns were well worth the visit. More experienced cavers, I believe would enjoy the 2 / 3 hour tour. We were time limited.
We dined at the small family run cafe / restaurant and enjoyed somme of the owners 'home brew' (wine) which was remarkably taste.
Worth the tour if you have time.

Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

we found about the cave and as avid cave visitors whenever we find one nearby, we drove up the mountain to visit this one, we took the one hour tour, with a good local guide she spoke in italian and the explanations were very clear, those that need get audiphones and remember to bring good shoes and something to wear, as it may be cold for some people. We decided that the 2 hour was a bit too much, as we have visited nicer caves. The place is pleasant, the coffe place is available, you can eat your sandwiches here, and admire as well a collection of fossils and stones. The region is well worth the visit.

Thank Temper43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews