We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not cheap”
Review of L'Ortolan

L'Ortolan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not cheap”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent food but the portion sizes are small given the price tag. Service is good. Most of the patrons are hotel guests, which says a lot about the locals going somewhere just as good but cheaper.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ednitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    11
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“At the Kempinski”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lovely food in a nice setting. Beautifully presented food with some local specialities and some good value excellent Maltese wine. Some themed nights but we preferred the a la Carte menu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank escholte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crawley
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“holiday 2012”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The location of this resturant is brilliant but the service and quality of the food is only average which is surprising considering that the cost of dining here which is well above average for the area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank heffieCrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Underfed and overpriced”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Presentation is lovely but portion sizes are small and don't represent value for money. We had bread plates and knives but were not supplied with or offered any bread and we were still waiting for our wine when our main course arrived. We were then advised that the wine we had ordered was not available and we should have been advised but weren't. Our second selection was delivered promptly and we weren't charged for it but we weren't advised of this so we don't know whether it was intentional due to the mistake or not. Even so it was a disappointing experience overall.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank golem11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Bennington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place, average food”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed in the hotel and had a meal here. Got to say not as good as I had hoped.

There are a few good restaurants that are better and half the price, they seem to have let the ball slip a little as /I visited six years ago and had a fantastic meal. This was average to say the least.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finbar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ortolan also viewed

 
Xaghra, Island of Gozo
Gharb, Island of Gozo
 
San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo
 

Been to L'Ortolan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing