We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and style-at a price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
pristina
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Luxury and style-at a price”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A beautiful hotel in a charming rural location on Gozo. Rooms are excellent and what you would expect from a five star hotel with luxurious bed linen and lots of space. Breakfast buffet is also very good, not quite the best we have enjoyed at similar hotels but pretty close. The gardens and pool areas are beautiful and well laid out and the staff very friendly. Wi-fi and parking are gratis.

Minus points were that the indoor pool is shut to children after 3pm so if you arrive when it is too cool to swim outdoors the little ones have to wait until the following day to have a swim. We also had the special Easter buffet lunch which was a bit of a disappointment given the high expectations we had of the hotel. Not the variety of seafood one would expect on Gozo for example.

It is a very good hotel but at the prices they charge one expects the very best. Having said this when we are feeling starved of luxury we will be back particularly when it is warm enough to enjoy the out door pools and gardens

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holts304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    765
    298
    100
    35
    13
See reviews for
264
680
51
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sliema, Malta
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have stayed at the Keminski in Gozo off the island of Malta many times , excellent food,
service and amazing rooms the pool is great and the spa ,out of this world, we will definelty be back there this year.

C William Camilleri

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the pool , but they are all great !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Composer_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunshaughlin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed for 1 night in April on our tour of the Island of Gozo and had a wonderful time. We are getting married in Gozo this year and we have recommended this hotel to our guests if they wanted to stay somewhere very luxurious. It is in the lovely and quiet village of San Lawrenz which is about a 10/12 minute drive from the capital Victoria. You would need to rent a car to get here, but saying that the best way to see the Island of Gozo is to rent a car because everywhere is easily accessible by car. If you choose to stay here you will not be disappointed as in my opinion it is the best hotel on the Island.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 617, fantastic room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davesalmon69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We would like to thank and compliment the hotel's management and staff for such an enjoyable stay. They have been unfailingly polite and extremely helpful, always happy to answer our questions with the nicest smile!

We have been very impressed with the variety and high standards the hotel has to offer. Our grateful thanks to all for making our stay so delightful!!

Room Tip: Suites overlooking the outdoor pools are awesome and enjoy a breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksMalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

If you are tired of tourist complex in places like St Julien, Kempinski is a great alternative! It's located on the island Gozo where life is more rustic. The first impression is that the hotel is like an oasis in the rural area.

Stayed one night in the delux pool view room is ok. To my personal tasty, it's a bit old fashioned. Nevertheless it's clean and spacious. There is even a jacuzzi in my bathroom.

Had a quick lunch on the terrace overlooking the pool. The angus beef burger was delicious, however the margarita was not good. I doubt if they were professional enough to make cocktails based on the standard of the margarita. The service was slow, because there was like only one waiter serving on the terrace.

What I really liked was the SPA. It has different facilities, like steam room, pool, even a hamman! It felt so good to relax in the hamman.

Breakfast is standard, nice and quality food.

Because the hotel is not exactly located in the centre, you might need a car to get around, or take the free shuttle bus offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chizheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Transport arranged by the hotel was waiting for us at the Airport. Welcome at reception was friendly and professional. Rooms and the servicing of the rooms was first class.The food in the restaurant and the bar and at breakfast was of a high standard. All the staff were genuinely friendly over the 7 days we stayed, so all we had to do was relax. Isn't this just what you want from a fine hotel?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arcbridge2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We chose to unwind in Gozo prior to staying on mainland Malta at the Kempinpinsk Hotel San Lawrenz. This was an excellent choice as the atmosphere is so relaxed and welcoming. Our spacious airy bedroom with balcony overlooked the stunning rural countryside and distant sea views. We had decided not to hire a car, and by walking and helped by the amazing bus system in Gozo explored the wonderful countryside and coast blooming with wild flowers as well as enjoying the villages and archeological sites. Breakfasts were superb with an extensive choice to suit various nationalities and service was on the whole very good. An extra bonus was to be invited to a charity concert one evening performed by an international pianist and celloist . The spa was good and outside pool beautifully landscaped. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. This was our first visit to Malta and were so impressed with the beauty of the country, standard of food and cleanliness and generally the friendliness of the people

Room Tip: We asked for a countryside view (this also overlooked the pool which was stunning). It was a also a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,198 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
718 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing