We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Luxury but choose your room carefully”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“5 Star Luxury but choose your room carefully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Kempinski Hotel Gozo and Gozo

Arrived 16th of July 2013 - departed 23rd July 2013

This hotel offers the best possible standard of stay available on the Island without question!

The journey may be a little tiresome after leaving your home in UK to get here, but it will be worth it.

The grand hall on your arrival sets the standard right away as to what you can expect, the friendly and helpful staff will be on hand as soon as you arrive to settle you into your hotel stay, they are a combination of German and Gozotans.

I have stayed at this hotel several times over the past ten years and things have always been fantastic. The rooms are situated over five floors, offering everything from a basic room with balcony (larger than any standard UK hotel room) to suites and so on, where I would be careful when choosing your room is on the noise level you can tolerate for sleeping, being almost entirely tiled there is a lot of room to room noise from doors or feet walking across the room upstairs, so be careful, level five is the top level but annoyingly the rooms are smaller, the better rooms are on levels three and four, we had a junior suite, room 419 which was amazing but you take pot luck as to who is above or beside you and if it is children it could be an uncomfortable stay noise wise. One piece of advise to the hotel would be to sort the door closers out, the doors in all rooms slam shut like a bank volt which is completely unnecessary. A simple easy to shut closer would stop the thunderous thud every time somebody exits their room. The aforementioned is my only gripe but if you get lucky with your room and have good neighbours you will love the facilities.

The junior suite we had offered excellent air con, fantastic balcony looking over the pool and a living space fit for a king, all be it the bed was two singles pushed together, why do hotels do this? " a double bed is not two singles pushed together" take note hoteliers. The bathroom was also very large although the shower was hung over the bath and not a stand alone shower, not ideal but manageable.

The room is broken into three sections, the balcony (ideal for two to sit out and south facing for the sunshine) the TV and living space (which doubles as another double bed if required or sofa if you are two sharing) and the bedroom, all of which are perfectly large enough for any couple to enjoy. Bottles of water are handed in each day by the room service which is nice. There is also the usual large wardrobe and vanity unit with a fridge if required.

The hotel has many benefits most of which I used in my stay, the spa and gym are out of this world, i used the gym daily and it was perfect, quiet, very cool and the facilities ideal for any person used to using a gym. The spa is huge, how this pays for itself is beyond me, but there are numerous treatments available here, mainly based on Turkish or Egyptian methods of massage and therapy, they looked fun and started from around €65. There is also Tennis and Squash courts if you play available to all guests. At the main pool area there are three pools, two large adult pools and one pool for children, so as an adult you won't be bombarded with dive bombing children if you stick to the adult pools, they are stunning and ideal for cooling off after a hot day looking around Gozo.

Our stay was bed and breakfast, the Buffet style breakfast we had each morning was enough to keep you going all day, there was an enormous amount of food and as an all you can eat setup it was easy to over do the consumption , it was 5 star all the way , if you couldn't find what you needed in the Kempinski don't bother using hotels anywhere else, this was truly the best Buffet breakfast you will find anywhere. You have the choice of alfresco dining in the sun or in the shade or if you prefer inside the hotel, if you choose outside the pool view is great but take the shade option, the heat can be overwhelming even at 0900. The times for breakfast were from 0700 until 1100, a good chance for the early risers and the late risers to enjoy this culinary delight in the morning.

My final part about the hotel is the restaurant, we ate there as a party of seven on the 22/07/2013, it was also lovely but pricey, very pricey but a lovely setting and the very attentive staff are on hand to serve you or sort your request whatever that may be. It is not the cheapest way to eat out, for the special occasion however it's a good way to celebrate. The hotel often has Buffet evenings, themed on various parts of the world, we didn't sample this but heard it was excellent and good value, they also have a BBQ night for €30, that would be worth checking out .

Now to the island of Gozo itself, Gozo is quaint, still unique in its status as a getaway and has amazing qualities to enjoy, from churches, to small villages and the obvious surrounding sea! Victoria is the Capitol and whilst not bustling like cities back home it is the hub of shops and everything Gozo, so if you wanted a coffee or a wander around the town I can suggest the following for you to see in Victoria:

St George's Basilica and museum , this is a stunning church and worth seeing, the fathers Joe and George are truly amazing men, super friendly and work very hard at presenting a stunning , culturally rich and friendly church , No 1 on your list for Victoria. Secondly in reference to this church St George's have their festa third week in July, also worth a visit but be prepared for loud fireworks , lots of music and plenty of lively locals celebrating their favourite Saint, the revered St George is paraded around the streets in statues mounted on plinths, amazing to see and the people of this parish worship him with such gusto it is hard not to admire such passion. The surrounding towns of Gozo each have their own festa but St George's is by far the biggest. There is also the music festival at St George's precluding the festa which offers concerts every night for 5 weeks, entirely free for anyone to go to, for music lovers this is a must see.

Places to eat in Victoria we tried were the Jubilee pub, very good air con if you need respite and also serves nice sandwiches, it's right at the square. We also ate in the restaurant called Maji at the square and whilst the food was nice don't expect the service to speedy, it was painfully slow, a hour for our starter, yes an hour. The views from the rooftop were stunning though, so if you have time on your hands and are not in a hurry then worth checking out. Not cheap!

So in summary Gozo is made up of lots of little towns, from the seaside town of Marsalforn to the capital of Victoria, all unique and small enough to spend a little time in each, the island is only 9 miles but big in heart, a car is essential, although this year Arriva have opened up bus routes to every corner of the Island, but for that unique independent holiday grab a car, Raymond's cars we used were superb £25 a day for a Hyundai I30. The hotel can contact him for you .

I would highly recommend this quaint, historically deep, friendly and chilled out island for anyone to visit, it's the sunny chilled out experience we all dream of during the year whilst we battle the daily grind of the cold weather back home.

PS Take your sun lotion through , it's hot, very hot!

Room Tip: Find out who's rooming beside you! Try and get the junior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottishAL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

I would like to thank you as well for your constructive comments with regards to the noise and your precious advise on it, please rest assured that I already discussed these points with the respective head of department in order to take the appropriate actions.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism and praise in order for us to take the appropriate action. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    293
    96
    34
    12
See reviews for
255
662
50
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zabbar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was not our first time at Kempinski San Lawrenz in Gozo and it definitely won't be the last. We just love the space in this hotel, the rooms are always so lovely and so clean and well-kept. You're bound to find everything you need and the staff will do their utmost to meet your every request. Whether it's the people at the front desk, the waiters, the maintenance men or the housekeepers, everybody is always ready with a smile and very obliging. It's great that there are three pools with one particular pool especially for the kids. My toddler just loved walking around the kids' pool. Despite it being July and peak period for Summer season, we just love the quiet which pervades this place. A hotel where one can truly relax whether at the poolside, or in your room or in the balcony. We tried the Italian buffet which was exquisite although a bit pricey. Breakfast is always great with so much selection that one is really spoilt for choice. We also love the Trattoria. Being parents to a toddler, this is definitely a great place to be at, especially in the Summer months. Perhaps what could be improved would be the airconditioning during the night (we put on the fan to feel cooler) and the front desk is pretty busy too so probably would be best if one person could be fully in charging of taking phone calls for instance while others deal with the people at hand face to face.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PriscillaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

I would like to thank you as well for your constructive comments with regards to the air conditioning system, please rest assured that I already discussed these points with the respective head of department in order to take the appropriate actions.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism and praise in order for us to take the appropriate action. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
129 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately if you go to five star hotel, especially Kempinski brand one expects things to go smoothly, unfortunately a number of problems arose. Too many for any five star operation, yes, staff tried to rectify issues, and largely they did, but reason for 5 star classification is that multiple problems should not be happening, one problem, ok happens to any organisation, after 3 or 4 problems, there are more serious service / infrastructure issues. I liked the people at hotel but really the hotel GM should review his operations as over 48 hrs it was not a good stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Markqn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The place was easier to find tahn I thought (island too small to really get lost) and the wonderful service, pools and garden were a welcome relief from the hot sun. Conventiently located to watching the sun set over the ocean it was a superb way to see Gozo for the first time. Food was pricey but excellent quality. Didnt get to use the spa but it looks great

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank worldtravela69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel.

It is always important for us to receive good reviews. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Great hotel, we use it as a base for our diving trips. Breakfast always fab the omelette guy remembers your order every morning. We think it is nice that they promote from within, we have seen a few of the staff do well over the years we have been going and they always remember you.

Always relaxed, no clampits, except one year a family in white track suits turned up and I swear they had just won the lottery, but they didn't know how to behave. The staff were great with them and their manners improved immediately.

It's lovely and quite and gets very hot in June, but always great for some late summer sun in October.

Room Tip: We have all the room types, we have taken the whole family and had what they call the Presidential s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah_821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and everything was to your satisfaction.

It is always important for us to receive positive comments and praise in order for us to take the appropriate action. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for a week on a half board basis at the beginning of June. The room was brilliant, couldn't fault it and we were in the cheap one at the back overlooking the generators, we didn't mind because it was private sitting on the balcony. The Pool area was great and service around it brilliant. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The diving centre associated with the hotel was fantastic and we decided to our do our advanced open water diver course. Their service was brilliant, collection every morning and every lunchtime took us to yummy restaurants.

The only downside to the hotel was the food, the breakfast was good but the rest of the meals were very average and not at all at a 5 star standard. The lunch at the gazebo was good but all evening restaurants were rubbish and tasteless. In the Italian one it took 2 hours to get food and the veal was raw.

Saying this we will probably return next year on a b&b basis and eat out everynight, becuase we loved the island.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysRmyHobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

I would like to thank you as well for your constructive comments with regards to Food and Beverage, please rest assured that I already discussed these points with the respective head of department in order to take the appropriate actions.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism and praise in order for us to take the appropriate action. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been there quite a few times and every time our stay is fantastic. I go there with my family and they are always enthusiastic about staying there. They have very family friendly pools. The staff is very friendly and always there to help. I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pools are really nice and relaxing even if you want to enjoy a bottle of w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMejlaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism and praise in order for us to take the appropriate action. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Palace
The Palace
#1 of 29 in Sliema
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing