We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed at kempinski Gozo from 1st June until 4th June. Easy enough to find from ferry with hire car. Check in was easy enough, although room was not quite ready we took a seat on the terrace and enjoyed a glass of wine. We had booked a deluxe pool view room and paid for the upgrade on booking from U.K, after approx one hour wait we were shown to our room in the original part of the hotel, We were disappointed in the standard of the room which was dark and had an old and very worn sofa and only a small partial view of pool.
Having stayed in many 5 star hotels throughout the world, this was not the standard I was expecting from Kempinski, and went straight to the front desk to complain..
My complaint was dealt with promptly and was soon shown to another room in the newer wing of the hotel which was much more to a standard I would expect the room was bright spacious had a lovely view and a very nice bathroom with both shower and jacuzzi bath.
Breakfast was nice and plenty of choice, yes some of the staff are not Maltese and don't understand English to well as when I ordered Eggs Benedict from the menu I was presented with a fried egg!! Although we just laughed about it.
We never ate in the restaurant as it was a bit pricey and. Knowing Gozo has some fantastic restaurants we chose to eat out.
The wine bar is good and they give you an I pad so that you can read about the wine you choose before you purchase it... A very good idea.
Pools and surrounding areas all very nice and kept clean and tidy, it was so peaceful and relaxing
And was a lovely start to our holiday in Malta.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in newer wing, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poshScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 1,297 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose the Kempinski as we have stayed in other hotels in this group and they have all been first class.However after our ten day hoilday we were a little disappointed !
The reception, pools and public areas are impressive and the bedroom was adequate, although a little dated. The bathroom was perhaps old fashion with a bidet and a shower in the bath without any controls plus a leaking glass door. If it were needed the 'grab' rail on the bath wall was just about coming out of its fixings
We understand that many of the young staff are from Germany, Austria and Northern Europe learning the business. They are generally very good however should be told that polite good service is neither robotic nor 'Uriah Heap'. Take some tips from your Maltese colleagues
Congratulations to the chamber maids who were all polite, friendly and very helpful
Beware the 'Country' view rooms - for Country read car park and a constant drone from the generator
Our biggest problem was with the restuarants - the choice, for 4 days of the week, is either L'Ortalan or the Lounge ( the Trattoria is open only Thursday, Friday and Saturday)
On arrival we had lunch in the Lounge (lovely room and terrace) the menu was limited and probably designed in Switzerland as it had no feel of a holiday hotel in the Mediterranean.
That evening we decided to try the Ortalan but we were told it was fully booked ! After some protest a table was found for us - in the event there were several empty tables !!
My wife had the pasta which we poorly cooked and I had the 'Fish of the Day' - according to market price; I was told this was a medley of three different fish. I was surprised that each piece was less than the size of a credit card and again poorly cooked - 28 euros !!! Total bill with two glasses of wine 78 Euros !!
Next lunch time we tried the pool bar / bistro - lousy food poorly cooked. We decided then and there and then not to eat in the hotel again (the well documented exception to this is breakfast which is certainly very good)
We therefore hired a car and found some magnificent restuarants via Tripadvisor - all hotel chefs and management should visit Xlendi or Victoria to see how good local food should be cooked and presented - most of the restuarants there are very busy however a table was always found after perhaps 15 to 20 minutes wait with a drink or a stroll around the attractive bay

Room Tip: Try Jeffreys at 800 yards form the hotel - you will have to book as it seats only a dozen people how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wood1416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, Guest Relations Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the time you took leaving your opining on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our Cafe and Lounge terrace and our buffet breakfast. Equally pleased we are that our chambermaids were as well noticed very positively from your side.
Your response is very important to us, as we constantly improve our service and product. We regret very much the unpleasant experience you had in our restaurant. Please rest assured that we have reviewed your feedback in detail and already followed up internally, in particular with our restaurant manager.

We would be pleased if we could welcome you in the near future again at the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz.

Kind regards,
Sven Fritzsche

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

When this hotel opened in 1999 the surrounding area must have been delightful The relaying of the road up to San Lawrenz and the renovating of the houses is like a war zone (description from a gozo resident. The area also seems deserted Ideal for a film set We only found one place open the Lighthouse Supermarket Very good for wine and spirits. The hotel is lovely. Our room 851 Superior country view excellent It does look over the car park to surrounding area but as there are 20 cars max and the side road has maybe 1 car an hour no problem even when sitting on delightful balcony. It is the first time in 50 years of travelling that we have been offered a bed menu Any kind of pillows bedding can be supplied even hot water bottles. We asked for a topper and extra sheet and it was instantly supplied. Towelling gowns and slippers provided Good toileties and lots of towels. Mosquito coil can be provided but no mosquitos. 2 bottles of still water per night. Flat screen tv and plenty of channels. The down side were the restaurants You need to go Half Board as no where local to eat unless you have a car Starters 10e Mains 25e Desserts 10e Gozo wine very good 18e We liked Red best. Trattoria was only open on the first night of our stay Good soup and pasta You have to book for both restaurants. Ortolon had Bar B Que next night OK This restaurant is very pretentious and food average menu same each day with no salads pasta or soups or dish of the day. When I complained. We were told that HB also covered food in Bar which has a lovely terrace This had a dish of the day soups salads main courses snacks sandwichs and great service. I know that with so few tourists you can't have everything open but we should have been better informed at checkin Only told about 2 restaurants and need to book Not told one would be closed for length of stay or offered Bar where there is no need to book All the staff were extremly pleasant most from northern europe working for the Kempinski chain Hotel is very clean Pool area excellent Pool towels from by the Pool Bar or in Spa The weather was very unsettled with wind but you can go down to kids pool area to get out of wind Plenty of shaded areas and umbrellas. We went for a rest and enjoyed ourselves but I prefer Malta. Expected Gozo to be smaller and like the Greek Islands Good for a visit but transfer from airport takes too long enjoyed ferry Make up your own mind

Room Tip: We asked for Quiet Non Smoking High Floor and that is what we got
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHALE_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences.

It was with great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your time at our hotel and that almost everything was to your satisfaction.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism and praise in order for us to take the appropriate action. Our main intention is to make our guest’s stay as comfortable as possible whilst away from home.

Thank you once again for your time. On behalf of my team I look forward to welcoming you once more to the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in the near future.

Kindest regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel with our 5 yr old son for our 10th wedding anniversary on b&b. Hotel reception welcomed us & gave us room, which was a huge deluxe room with balcony over pool (room 503). Bathroom was also huge with jets in bath...flat tv screen with more than 40 channels (most in english). Spa is astonishing and includes a large heated indoor pool, an oriental hammam and a massage parlour. We were also given a complimentary 45min classic massage as a treat, which was very nice indeed. Kid was taken care of at he kids club, which is very well equipped with Wii, playstation, games, etc. Breakfast was a delight with anything one could imagine, cold and hot food, sweets, anything you want. The hotel is set in the countryside so we also decided to take a walk in the lovely paths beside the hotel. Noting to add, we really enjoyed every moment and we highly recommend it to anyone wanting to spend some relaxing time in a wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tanaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at this hotel on the small island of Gozo for 7 days.
It is an extremely beautiful building with a number of different facilities; 3 pools, a spa, room service, shuttle service etc.

We booked the standard room which was very large and spacious. The balcony overlooked Gozo and the beautiful landscape as well as the hotel pools and palm trees. The bathroom had a stand in shower and jacuzzi tub with a range of towels and two bathrobes.

The breakfast was amazing! They had a HUGE variety of food, from cooked meat to fruit salad, a selection of croissants and bakery, eggs, bread rolls etc. They also had a variety of different juices and hot drinks. We were completely spoilt for choice!
The evening restaurants were slightly pricey but the food was adequate. We had lovely views too if we chose to sit outside and eat.

We also explored gozo and visited its ancient temples, Ramla beach and the capital city Victoria.
Victoria was a beautiful and quaint city/ town. There is a shopping mall and market stalls. The architecture is very old and authentic. It is a very peaceful area and probably one of the most quietest capitals I have ever visited!
The hotel pools are also quite exclusive and secluded which adds to the luxury this hotel had to offer.

Even though this hotel had everything to offer, It was a pricey trip so we had to save our pennies!!

All in all it was a wonderful experience and I would love to visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Byrne20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. My wife and I would like to personally thank all the staff and Management at the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo for such a fantastic holiday.
We stayed room 515 which was a Deluxe poolside room which had excellent views across the outdoor pools to the surrounding countryside. The room was perfect as was the service throughout the Hotel, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 515 which was a Deluxe pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Don't get me wrong, this is an excellent hotel on the beautiful island of Gozo. I however was disappointed this time around. The service at reception and breakfast was excellent however the bistro and pool service was not good. On a number of occasions I had to get up and get the bar menu having being ignored for at least 15 minutes. The pool service was poor with no direct service and drinks often served which were either incorrect or not mixed correctly. The adult pool is not policed and on one of the days there were lots of small
Children in the pool making lots of noise. I asked for a quiet room and was placed right next to the door to the pool area which resulted in continual door banging. Our bedding also felt slightly damp which I put down to the poor extractor fan in the bathroom. I used to love this hotel hence the number of visits however I think that I will give serious consideration before booking again. A shame as a fantastic hotel with an excellent spa and in the main excellent staff just not at the same standard as it used to be.



  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicmack2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
765 reviews
11.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 3 in Sannat
851 reviews
5.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,277 reviews
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range: $107 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! *** Please be advised that due to upgrading work of our Spa centre, the hotel will be closed from January 8th until January 25th inclusive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing