We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ayurveda treatment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
san lawrenz, malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ayurveda treatment”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stay on holiday near beside in a farmhouse and I came to this hotel just looking for a cup of coffee and found a nice bar and wonderful ayurveda threatments. good doctor with pulse diagnosis, and 3 lndian ladies who are doing a good job. I got steambath, powdermassage, shirodara, nose threatment, oilbath and different kind of massages too. there all were like being in India! such a good threatment.
And I liked the coffeebar after threatment and I was there while the other one was complaining! there was full business and just one person on the bar so be a little more patient!

Room Tip: the spa is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelika Margar... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    299
    100
    35
    13
See reviews for
264
682
51
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stopped at this hotel for a coffee. The ambiance of the coffee shop is great. Unfortunately we could not sit outdoors on the terrace as it was windy. We ordered three coffees and one hot chocolate. These were a bit of a time coming, but when eventually they did, one could not help notice that no napkins of any sort are provided! The hot chocolate was, to say the least, undrinkable with a very peculiar after taste that seemed to indicate that either the cream, the milk or the actual chocolate was 'off'; We decided not to bother to mention this at the time but on the way out we pointed out the issue with the hot chocolate to the bar lady but we only got a defensive comment that 'the milk is fresh' etc. No apology of any sort. Truly not five star standards!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JJCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Actually went April 2012 but onyl getting round to the reviews. Loved it here. The island is great so much quieter than Malta. Still lots to see and do though. Huge rooms - we had a junior suite - big terrace, lovely staffed children's room, very large pools, albeit very chilled ones!

Food looked and tasted great at breakfast.

Spa and indoor pool brilliant.

What more can I say, very nice place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTravelCounsellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have just returned from a 1 week holiday at the Kempinski in Gozo. The hotel was immaculate with spacious rooms (we stayed in a delux pool view) and a fantastic spa - including a gym, therapy pool & sauna, great indoor pool / jacuzzi and tennis courts which we used every day. They offered a range of treatments but we did not have any (they compared to London prices at 50Euro for a 30min massage from memory) The breakfast was decent, lots of choice and overall we thought the service was good - friendly and efficient.

However the hotel is in the middle of nowhere and whilst we wanted a relaxing week the hotel was too remote for us. We think it must have been about 20% full so unfortunately there lacked any sort of atmosphere in the bar and restaurant which was disappointing. The outdoor bar/restaurant was closed and there was no evening entertainment or even music played in the bar which was always practically empty. The main restaurant seemed very formal to us (this is also where breakfast is served did not feel special), especially when there were often only a few couples dining. We also thought it was expensive - many of the mains were 20-30 Euros and they charge for sides too.

We had hired a car so decided to venture out for a few meals - Victoria which is the capital of the island was also disappointing as it was so quiet with many of the restaurants empty of closed. We ended up going to Xlendi on a couple of nights which was slightly bigger and much better value than the hotel (for better food in our opinion) although it was a shame we had to drive 20/30mins or so to get there each night.

Overall, lovely hotel with great facilities but be aware that in late May it was extremely quiet and as the hotel restaurant/bar lacked any atmosphere and were pricey you have to be prepared to get in the car!

Room Tip: I would highly recommend a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare-London2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Can't possible find anything to complain about. We spent 3 days at this heavenly place. Very big and nicely furnished room. Toiletries were replenished daily and the room was cleaned meticulously. The breakfast was fit for king and the waiters very courteous. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stef C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Firstly, a few contributors seem to have had problems finding the place by car. It's reasonably straightforward. From the ferry, head along the main road direction Victoria/Rabat. Continue on this main road up the hill through Victoria. As you reach the top of the hill you'll see a market/market place on the left hand sign and you bear right after this and follow the 'bumpy' road (you'll see a sign 'Ta Pinu' as you go around the second bend). Around 8 minutes to go. Stay on this road, across one small roundabout. As you go into Gharb (the first proper settlement you will see), turn left following signs for the craft village and Kempinski. Keep going along a bumpy road, past the craft village on the left (which looks like a small light industrial park) and the turn for the Kempinski is on the left. Their are 2 large signs but the one for the Kempinski is quite difficult to read.
Nice welcome by Tobias. Escorted to our room. Very happy with the size of the room, bathroom, shower,balcony etc. All spotless.
First moan is that on the evening of our arrival was a wedding. I know that 10.30PM isn't late to have loud music playing but we'd been up since 4.00AM getting there and really needed to get some sleep. I did call and ask the reception what time it was likely to finish but she didn't know and offered complimentary earplugs.
The breakfasts were great. I don't usually eat a lot at breakfast but breakfasts here were one of the highlights of my holiday.
You were greeted with a smile and asked which of the available tables you'd prefer whether outside, inside, sun or shade. In another hotel in Malta this experience was altogether different.
There was a choice of 6 or 7 fresh breads to cut yourself and a large selection of rolls too. 6 or 7 seven pots of delicious homemade jam. Smoked salmon, halibut and swordfish. 6 or 7 types of local cheese. Delicious yoghurts. The freshest fresh fruits. Espresso at no extra cost (another 5* establishment charges 2.25 euros). A smiling chef to cook your eggs who was joined by another at busy times (unlike another hotel whether I counted a queue of 14 waiting). There were 2 sets of cutlery for each place setting which extras on hand should they be needed, no hanging onto dirty knifes here. And so you sit and eat this lovely food on the terrace overlooking the countryside with the sea in the distance and with the local sparrows chirping being the main background sound. Bliss, absolute bliss.
The only dilemma in the morning was whether the read the complimentary newspaper with the complimentary tea/coffee in the rooms on the terrace before or after breakfast.
I do agree with some of the other contributors that it would have been nice to have a few more local front of house staff. I would say however that ALL the staff that we had contact with were great and seemed genuinely please to assist especially the Bavarian girl who worked in the evenings.
My other gripe however was when we chose to eat at the hotel in the evening. We sat on the terrace with 2 other couples and it was a full 15 minutes before any of us was greeted. The service after that was pretty slow too. To his credit, the young waiter came up to us after service and apologised for the slow service during the evening explaining that they only had 2 staff of that evening.
The spa area was amazing. You just have to see what's on offer. Once you've seen myriad of rooms, pools, treatments etc you will find it hard to understand how other places call themselves 'spas'.
Playing tennis was great fun too. Nice courts, free and with free use of rackets and nets too.
So all in all a great 5 star hotel that suits people looking to chill. Easy to get about and especially fun on quiet if bumpy Gozo roads.

Room Tip: We had room 631. Its on the top floor so no overhead noise. View of the pool and sea (albeit 1.5KM a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The name "Kempinski" triggers associations which this hotel on Gozo does not fulfill. It is, in the best sense of the word, average, not more, not less. Housekeeping definitely needs improvement, unless holes in placemats, badly ironed napkins, and carelessness have now become a Kempinski feature, The rooms are average 5 star standard. What stands out is the breakfast, which is lousy! Staff's attention to detail and friendliness are not up to the Kempinski level either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenzoKnight, General Manager at Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

many thanks for your review and for sharing your thoughts. I am the General Manager of the hotel and I am very concerned hearing that you had reasons to complain.

I very much appreciate your comments about the issues mentioned, please rest assured that I already spoke with the respective heads of department for an immediate follow up and action to improve the shortcomings. I am a bit disappointed that you are posting a review such a long time (October 2012) after your stay and would have been very happy to speak to you throughout your stay.

It is always important for us to receive constructive criticism in order for us to take the appropriate action. As a team we endeavor to make our guest’s stay with us a truly memorable and special experience. And the services received do not reflect in any way that what we as Kempinski are standing for.

Please do contact me directly (sven.fritzsche@kempinski.com) for your next reservation in order for me to make personal arrangements for your next stay with us.

On behalf of my team, I would like to thank you again for your comments and I am looking forward to welcoming you once more in the near future to be able to show you the improvement of our services.

With best regards

Sven Fritzsche
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
701 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,200 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
722 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing