We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb high-class weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Superb high-class weekend”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My girlfriend and me stayed two nights at the Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz in December 2012.

December is definitely off-season. It wasn't possible to make use of the extensive pool and park facilities due to the cold wind etc. Nonetheless, we enjoyed the indoor hotel facilities fully, without any crowds to jostle with. The spa was adequate, with a good-sized gym. A quite nice indoor pool was also available. We didn't try any actual treatments.

Breakfast is one of the most important parts of a hotel experience to me. The breakfast was magnificent! High quality food and a large variety to choose from. A joy to get up in the morning looking forward to a good meal.

The restaurant is high-priced, but worth it if you want to indulge is some high-class service and food.

The only draw-back was the cold wind, which blew in through the not-so-well-sealed window and door to the room. One of the nights it actually howled so much that I had to put a towel under the door to stop the draught. But there you go, Maltese winter for you. I do not think this would be a problem in the summer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikeasThurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    296
    97
    35
    13
See reviews for
259
672
50
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Soo relaxing , staff could not do enough to make our stay any better . Fantastic food ... the best breakfast We have ever had !! Comfortable rooms and beautiful jacucuzi bath . Did not want to come home !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Venera, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

WOW!! this is the only word that can explain this magnificent Hotel!! a real 5 star hotel with 5 star service! the staff is incredibly friendly (especially Sara Eliana (Waitress) and the service is perfect!! The food is of very high quality and the atmosphere is simply amazing!!...Thanks to each and everyone of the staff for making our stay and especially my wife's birthday a magnificent one!! recommend 100% this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GCallus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Nice stay. I'd like to give it a 3.5.

Restaurants are ridiculously overpriced but there are better local restaurants on the island. If you don't have a car you will be paying loads for taxis since this hotel is a bit out of the way (which is the whole point of staying here in the first place.)

Staff was very accommodating (except for the night they told me I wouldn't need a reservation at a restaurant in town and when we got to the restaurant it was a two hour wait).

I felt the bedroom was very clean. The bathroom needs a really, really good cleaning. Mosquitos were a problem in the room. Flies were a problem at the pool.

Spa is very nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyc_travel_grl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The service is exceptional, staff are super friendly - escpecially in reception!
I must mention the standard of breakfast in your hotel - large variety of food, the service is fantastic and we were lucky enough that the weather permitted and could stay outside.
Just one let down - we extended our room until 1330hrs and I believe housekeeping were not informed as they opened our room while we were inside, without even knocking! Communication, that's all it takes!
Other than that - it shows staff are trained and know the meaning of hospitality!

Room Tip: Go for the Junior Suite ~ it's lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBB8489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very nice hotel in quiet part of Gozo.Compared to The Westin Dragonara in Malta this place was so much serior and relaxing.The Spa area was one of the best that I've been in anywhere. Had breakfast in the hotel and it was plentiful and excellent.Some of the posts appear to indicate that there are few other options for meals.Victoria, the capital is just a few miles and has loads of places and some of the villages within 6 miles such as marsalforn and xlendi bay are excellent.Overall abluxury place with good service, to be honest I'd forget about Malta and go tobgozo next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eagle10g1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Gozo is popular for relaxation and its natural beauty but it is devoid of high quality accommodation apart from self-catering. Being frequent travellers to Gozo, we knows the ins-and-outs of the island and the Kempinski San Lawrenz is truly a haven in the already-quiet Gozo. You can just go there and spend a few days relaxing, eating and letting the worries melt away in the nice surroundings. The hotel is family-friendly and there were many small children around, but this did not spoil the atmosphere most of the time. Furthermore November can give georgous weather, with nice sunny days without the summer heat. It's easy to go walking around.

Staff was very good and provided a good service even at peak times during breakfast for example.

The Kempinski San Lanwrenz does not come cheap compared to other Maltese 5-star hotels but its some of the best Gozo can offer.

Room Tip: The hotel has a semi-circular shape. If you stay on the upper floors (5th or 6th) of the south wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ednitram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Lawrenz
1.7 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
11.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
3.3 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,183 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
709 reviews
18.4 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz

Property: Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Address: | Triq ir-Rokon, San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo SLZ1040, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > San Lawrenz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in San Lawrenz
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz 5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz - Where European luxury meets Mediterranean flair! Malta's blissful sister island Gozo is the Mediterranean's best kept secret and home to the hideaway resort Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Gozo. Indulge in luxury, culture, sun & sea - and find the undiscovered island you have been dreaming of! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski San Lawrenz
San Lawrenz Kempinski Hotel
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing