We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Arrived with high expectations and left disappointed” - Agree.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tatitas Restaurant

Tatitas Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $42
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Tatitas Restaurant was opened in 2002. It is a family-run business, popular both with locals and tourists alike. The restaurant is located right in the square of San Lawrenz, one of the most charming squares in Gozo, which square has been recently embellished by E.U. funds. Through the years, the restaurant has gained a very good reputation and is listed in many travel guide books such as Lonely Planet, Evasion etc.
Scotland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“"Arrived with high expectations and left disappointed” - Agree.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The sign near the Kempinski Hotel stated 200m to this restaurant. Ideal, we thought. In fact it was probably 4 times that distance. On reaching it we thought that we had found a very nice upmarket restaurant and were shown to a table outside, in the square. Pleasant situation on a warm evening. Drinks order was taken quickly but was not correctly fulfilled. A number of couples / families arrived soon after us, some with bookings, so we thought that we had done well to arrive when we did. We ordered main courses and waited .... and waited. Some time after our order was taken, the young waiter arrived to take our order - one hand did not know what the other was doing. After about 40 minutes a stuffed mushroom was placed in front of each of us - and other diners. No explanation for this or apology for the delay. A French family who had been served these plus bread waited a bit longer and then departed, having taken nothing. Other diners stared to make comments "This is a restaurant, not a theatre" and "Faulty Towers"

After 75 mins our main courses arrived - a chicken pasta and an avocado salad - not difficult to prepare. They were good but not exceptional. Minimal apologies for the delay - "everyone arrived at once".

We did order the Creme Brulee as we were assured it would not take long. They came straight from the fridge, heavy and tasted of custard powder. Certainly not made from eggs and cream. When it came to paying the bill we were offered a complimentary drink but by then we just wanted to leave. If we had been offered a complimentary drink and some bread during the long wait it might have improved things a bit..... First impressions were very good which made it particularly disappointing.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exzombaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    97
    49
    21
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous find...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited Gozo for the first time in Mid October. Staying in San Lawrenz at the Villa Ta Kikka (much recommended), we arrived late-ish and walked out to find this gem of a place. Gracious host found us a table outside and offered a glass of Prosecco (5 EUR each on the bill - not bad for a very full glass). The menu offered local specialities such as goats cheese souffles, asparagus and rabbit. My partner had the nicest fish he had ever tried. Complimentary bread to start with. Over the 4 nights we were in Gozo we ate there 3 times - it was very convenient! They could improve a few things - the goats cheese souffle as a main came with nothing else (apart from a paper doily) it needs a salad. The vegetables each night were a little bland. We tried a few bottles of local Maltese wine but nothing really suited us so the Prosecco was a good bet at 18EUR. The wine list appeared quite extensive though, reasonably priced. This is a restaurant so expect restaurant prices (the complimentary after dinner drink was most welcome - try the local liqueurs). I wouldn't say the food was amazing at Tatitas but it was good (Food was better at the Kempinski - see my review - terrible service though) We were pleased with the overall experience and would recommend. Will return to Gozo and definitely to this restaurant. The Maitre d is a real asset to this place - excellent service and communication. Tips: Worth making a reservation - it did get busy/full even in mid October.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank samantha-4joys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Back at Tatitas - not quite what we'd remembered..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Tatitas in early September, this time just 2 of us, without our children, who'd always accompanied us before. San Lawrenz as a village has undergone signigicant smartening up, roads done, church cleaned up and generally smarter. May be the fact that the restaurant had been closed for 4 months during this renovation, meant that visitors hadn't realised that the restaurant was there and was open. On our final night (a Tuesday) on Gozo, we visited, we were the only diners.

Unfortunately, it was too windy to sit outside, and sat inside but the heat was overwhelming and I had to ask for the air conditioning to be put on. Menu choices were made to the accompaniment of Gozitan bread with a bean and tuna dip and a sundried tomato dip, that was most welcome. Unusually, there was no Kinnie available, my preferred soft drink when in Gozo and so I had a lemonade.

My chosen starter was a disappointment, I'd had it before on previous visits and I was looking forward to the dish, I had pear and blue stilton salad - the presentation was lovely, but the portion and taste this time were quite bland. Service was attentive and the owner's wife was pleasant and chatty and remembered our previous visits and that our children weren't with us - really quite impressive. Our main courses were sea bass and a chicken dish for me - the fish dish was well cooked and enjoyable, the chicken, dry and tough - and disappointing. Vegetables served with were seasonal and well seasoned on bringing to the table.

Overall, it was pleasant evening, but the food was not to it's usual high quality, maybe just an off ay? - the presentation and service can not be faulted and this should be applauded. Tatitas is definitely worth a visit and I hope that now the square is opened up again that the restaurant numbers will pick up and the atmosphere will once again be revived. We will boo online again for our next visit - and look forward to sitting outside on the square once again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SchnoozleWoozle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tatitas is consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Having visited Tatitas 3myears ago we were not disappointed on our return visit. It was just as we remembered it. A wide and varied menu one you look at and can't decide what to have. The soufflé was amazing , just as they should be ! Would recommend Tatitas to all if ever in Gozo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonigel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabbar, null, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Been to Tatita's with my wife and 7 month daughter. Greeted gracefully and wonderful service throughout whole lunch. Food was simply delicious, even for my wife who is coeliac and was catered for in ax exceptional way. Relaxing atmosphere and looking forward to visit again. Thanks and well done!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roderick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tatitas Restaurant also viewed

San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo
San Lawrenz, Island of Gozo
 
Gharb, Island of Gozo
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Tatitas Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing