We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“gbonello - You'll come back”
Review of San Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Andrea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“gbonello - You'll come back”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I have. Stayed there a number of times, winter and summer, and was never disappointed. Good, really helpful service, spotless rooms and gorgeous sea views from the front rooms, a restaurant beyond expectations from a smallish outfit - not just appetizing, but seriously delicious. Jason and Sharon who run it were born hospitality professionals

Room Tip: Try to book a room with a sea-view. Costs a bit more, but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gbonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    237
    44
    17
    16
See reviews for
87
409
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Qormi, Malta
Level Contributor
280 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Went there round a year ago with my other half for a night. The staff were very friendly and the room and bathroom were very clean. When I asked the staff for directions to a particular place they gladly helped me. When they saw me coming back they even asked me if I managed to find the place I was looking for. The breakfast was continental and there was a good choice of items that were delicious. It is also important to note that price-wise, the hotel is very cheap when considering the room and service. Definitely worth considering when looking for a hotel in Gozo.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sacrilegious1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

A very clean, sweet small hotel! Staff are very friendly and service almost perfect. The restaurant is good and fresh. I was a little disappointed with the small paper napkins on the table which was beautifully set suited for a silver service but this is my opinion of course.
The rooms were equally as clean but slightly small. But the room furniture was of a very adequate size and hence, we were able to keep the room neat and tidy. The biggest disappointment was the small screen television! I did not know that they came in such a small size!! We could barely watch anything sitting opposite in bed.

Caution: Not suitable for persons with mobility problems!
1. All rooms are equipped with a bath;
2. Too many steps to enter/exit the hotel - to get to reception one needs to go up 2 steps after entering the hotel via another three steps;
3. The restaurant is accessible only via 5 stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I had intended to try out this hotel from its inception, but its 3 star rating would put me off in favour of surrounding 4-stars. Well I finally gave it a try and I wished I had done so before! The hotel owner is always around, making sure his guests enjoy their stay and the hotel is managed and run professionally. I have rarely come across such courteous and caring staff in any hotel I have stayed at. The restaurant is also very good, proof of this being a full house in off-peak season.....when many of the good surrounding restauarants had available tables.
The only negative point I would make is the size of the rooms...the smallest I have ever stayed at. Obviously built at a time when tourism to this island was booming and with a view to a kill in occupancy vs. footprint. The rooms would be much more comfortable if linked and converted into suites.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrekwentFlajer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesex
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is a really nice hotel in a very quiet location.
The rooms are so small there's no room for a chair.
I have never stayed anywhere cleaner.
The food is generally excellent.
On my stay we had a singer / guitarist twice at dinner and he was the real talent,
Pity " Basil Fawltey Is My Hero " rules the roost, and most staff think : " He's the man ".

Room Tip: In winter, the sun hits the higher balconies only. ( Of course l was on the first floor, next to a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roddy89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A welcoming family run hotel with a superb restaurant, brilliant service, smart rooms and great views. If you are on Gozo, even just for the day, you really can't do better than heading down to Xlendi and checking out their Zafira restaurant. All in all a wonderful place with wonderful people.
Heartily recommended!

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra and get a room with a sea balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were staying in Zaghra but travelling around the island and had planned looking at the San Andrea for a stay at Xmas 2014 so called in for a meal a few times during our stay in December 2013.

Well. What can I say. The first time we had lunch, just one course but it was amazing. We both had pasta dishes, one lasagne and one ravioli. Absolutely the best pasta outside of Italy we have ever tasted. We saw other meals being brought out and the presentation, service .......... everything was perfect.

We called on several other occasions during our two weeks and the standard was exactly the same and on the Sunday we were absolutely gob smacked at the queue which must have been continuous for about four hours. Most people were locals but some tourists. That is a clear indication and comment on how good the restaurant at this hotel actually is.

Ooooh and not to forget THAT view..............

If you are anywhere near Xlendi you HAVE to have a meal here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzy2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Property: San Andrea Hotel
Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing