We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Holiday in Gozo”
Review of San Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Andrea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this through new Experience Holidays who are a small company in North Wales. Chose the San Andrea based on location and feedback and were not disappointed. Paid extra for a sea view room which was well worth it. In fact the only drawback to this hotel, as others have noted, is that the rooms are a littel compact but are well appointed and size was not a problem. Bathroom was good size and had an excellent shower and bath. There were plenty of staff and we found them to be helpful and friendly. We had booked half board which gave us a 3 course dinner with a choice of 3 starters, 3 main courses, and numerous sweets. Although we could have chosen from the a la carte with a discount we never felt the need to - the food was really good. Sitting outside yards from the bay was a real bonus. We drank the local wine although wine buffs may prefer something more expensive. Overall excellent value for money and we would definitely stay there again.
The bus service on Gozo is excellent and we had a week's pass for 12 euros each. This helped with our walks as you could get a bus back to Victoria from almost anywhere. You can then either take another bus to Xlendi or walk back. The only problem we met was the heat - we did not expect it to be in the 80s in October! Walking is relatively easy although there is a fair bit of road work on some of them.
Xlendi itself is a vey quiet place with about 6 restaurants, 2 bars, a couple of shops which had variable opening times and a wonderful ice cram shop behind the hotel. Ideal is you want a quiet time.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a sea view room - it's worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (734)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 734 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have just returned from spending 3 nights at the San Andrea in Xlendi and wished it could have been for longer. We plan to return for a week next year. Everything was super, great service, helpful staff, clean rooms, foyer/lift/stairwell all good. Lovely balcony with a fabulous sea view-enough space to sit out on for two people. Great top room with terrace and sun loungers if you don't want the tiny beach or rocks to lie out on. Nothing was too much trouble with the polite staff and the real gem was the fantastic restaurant that was part of the hotel. The food was excellent and fantastic value with a super range of wines too. The house red was delicious! And you can't beat sitting right by the sea to eat with amazing sunsets which we had. The restaurant does actually have a very high tripadvisor rating separate to the hotel. It was a wonderful few days with so much to do locally we needn't have gone anywhere else. An added bonus was the beautiful warm sea which I hadn't expected. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dionysis2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

arrived late evening. good meal at hotel. following morning lovely views of bay from hotel. good size comfortable bed. pity no facilities in room for own tea/coffee. bath too small but hairdryer and
razor in strange position.hotel staff very good overall. service at restaurant meals muddling, orders were forgotten. . side rooms had to compete with noise from divers cove twice a day.all in all a superb holiday destination and a lovely island. bus travel easy to get around the island.would recommend the san andrea anytime.

Room Tip: try for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcwwta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

my wife and I spent the 10/11/ October in this hotel, The hotel, dinning rooms, and bedrooms were first class,very clean and well maintained. All of the staff were great, they most helpful, polite, and nothing was too much trouble, it was our 39th wedding anniversary and the way we were looked after made it a wonderful day for us.We enjoyed the hotel location and views so much we have booked up for three days at Christmas.

Room Tip: A sea view room with balcony you will no better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigmalc564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I love Xlendi Bay and have visited many times but this is my first stay at San Andreas and I was not disappointed. It is elegant, Clean, Friendly, welcoming and excellent value!! The restaurant is of very high standards and you cant beat sitting right by the sea to eat. The rooms are small but well laid out and had everything we needed. Would definatly recommend anyone stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neenee30_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2013, a birthday present to my husband. Room was fine, clean,
with balcony. staff friendly and helpful we had many wonderful meals at the restaurant, we would
definitely stay at San Andrea Hotel

Room Tip: sea view would have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richardh557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed here for a week in early October 2013. Very pleased to be allocated Room 405 which is a corner room at the top of the hotel. This room had dual balconies but only one had furniture. The balconies are very small with 2 plastic chairs in the seaview one so its the most comfortable if you want spend an extended period of time reading for example. In room Up-selling of Room Service was non existent. We used it once to order 2 drinks and got a call back to repeat the order.
Lovely superking size bed with quality mattress and pillows. In the bedroon the old fashioned 14" TV with freeview box has to go. It needs to be LCD with satellite nowadays or nothing at all. The Bathroom was disappointing in that the bath was very small and shower head did not stay on!
The hotel lounge with sun terrace is a nice touch but you have to call room service to get a drink there so didn't bother. No other guests were using the lounge either so it did feel a bit souless. A bit of piped music and a bar would have helped.
There seems to be a general problem with flies in the bay itself. Its to be expected bearing in mind its location but we felt the San Andrea restaurant had more of a problem than the other restaurants in the bay. It really spoilt our one and only lunch there. Its not cheap but just couldnt complete the meal with so many flies.
Overall a very nice holiday. I'm sure 4 stars isn't too far away but they do need to pay attention to the details and maybe stay in their rooms and eat in their restaurant to experience what guests experience to understand what they are.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are bigger. No kettles so bring your own. Buy 6 2litre bottles of water from local shop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cipsit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,273 reviews
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: $47 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing