We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of San Andrea Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
San Andrea Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
south wales
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

Loved Gozo and San Andrea Hotel. Immaculate, modern rooms with balcony and sea view. Very friendly and helpful staff ( as were everyone we met throughout Gozo). Sea view lovely and could hear the sea splashing on the sea walls at night, very atmospheric. Restaurant very good with lovely staff and perfectly placed on the bay front. We sat outside to eat everynight and to celebrate our Ruby wedding anniversary. Its not worth hiring a car as you can buy a 12 Euro ticket that you can use for seven days and go anywhere on the island. You can also use it, if you go to Malta for the day. We went over and went to Valletta, thoroughly enjoyed the sights. Bus and ferry travel just so easy, we travelled all over Gozo in a week. We would have no problem recommending the San Andrea Hotel and would love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a high sea view room. Very sunny in afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank jeannettewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    235
    44
    17
    16
See reviews for
86
406
57
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed a very relaxing 7 day stay at this lovely hotel in Xlendi Gozo. We arrived late on a Saturday night (10.30) but found it was no trouble for the chef to prepare us a meal which we enjoyed at the seafront restaurant. The quality of the hotel food was excellent and the menu changed daily.The Table d' Hote menu was excellent value.
The hotel is situated right on the seafront and we swam in the lovely bay every day.There was WiFi available and we had a sea view room which was worth the extra cost just for the views and the sunsets.The staff are all well trained and very polite.
I would have no problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view room it's worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank C J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks planning to do lots of swimming and walking. Room fine -massive bed but recommend paying extra for sea-view .Lovely to return after an evening swim in the bay to have a glass of wine on the balcony. We had half-board and evening meals were excellent . Continental breakfast ok . The hotel is perfectly situated on the promenade .If you stay for a week or more and dont have a car get a 7 day bus pass to explore the island. Definately recommend San Andrea - very clean, professional and friendly staff , lovely food and perfect postion .

Room Tip: Sea view beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank ElaineandChris40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

My wife and I spent five days/nights here at half board and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are clean and comfortable, location is superb as it's close to swimming coves.

Diner was consistently great and service from waiting staff was excellent although a little rushed at times with the main course following the starter almost immediately. Breakfast was fairly lackluster however - we prefer continental breakfasts anyway but the selection of fruits, cheese etc wasn't great. Sounds fussy, but breakfast could have been a tad more creative. Overall though you can't go wrong for this price. The hotel is great value for money - you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Liam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

We have just returned from a week's stay in this lovely hotel. Was a bit dubious a first after reading some reviews which said the rooms were tiny but we were pleasantly surprised. The bed was absolutely huge and the rooms were spotless clean with every amenity you could wish for. We didn't opt for the half board option as we enjoy eating out at different restaurants but after sampling the food in their restaurant, Zafira, on the first night we were reluctant to eat elsewhere! Would definitely go half board if, or should i say, WHEN, we return. The breakfasts were lovely, with plenty of choice. The hotel is set right on the edge of the bay so has the best view of the sun setting behind the cliffs of all the hotels on the bay, plus because it was the very end hotel it felt less crowded than the others along the bay front when sitting outside in the evening. The staff were so professional and nothing was too much trouble. I just have to give Carmelino a mention - he made the best cappacino ever and gave us lots of helpful advice as to which were the best beaches and places to visit. To top our stay, on the last night they had a singer/guitarist playing in the restaurant who was absolutely superb. A great end to a fabulous holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dm693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

San Andrea Hotel in the heart of Xlendi bay is a terrific place for a relaxing holiday. Sharon & Jason are excellent hosts.. with friendly and helpful staff...excellent service...immaculate clean rooms & linen....delicious food at the Zafiro restaurant...good value for money...in simple words....fantastic hotel to be in for a memorable holiday....we love the place and will definitely be back....

Room Tip: there is a choice of side and sea views...both have their characteristics...rooms have balconies and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank simone v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterborough
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We have just returned home from Gozo and we loved every minute of it. I have read some of the reviews and yes the rooms are smallish but how long do you intend to spend in there. The hotel and the staff are brilliant, very friendly and are always ready to chat. The food at the Zafiro restaurant is top class and we never had a bad meal. We did eat at several other restaurants in Xlendi but the zafiro is definitely our favourite. We definitely intend to go back in the future and P.S .Jason the owner likes candy floss!!
Xlendi is a gem of a resort, people of Gozo are lovely and the island is far far prettier than Malta.

Room Tip: If you intend to eat at only the San Andrea Hotel , then opt for half board. They offer a 3 course s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank holiday5998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaXlendi, Manager at San Andrea Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in Gozo. It was our pleasure to have you.
It will be a highlight for me to share your comments with our staff who take great pride in providing an excellent service with a smile.
Our chef and kitchen team will be very happy to learn our Zafiro Restaurant was your favourite!!
We look forward to having you again and Jason did love the Candy floss!
Regards and thanks again.
Sharon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Andrea Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Andrea Hotel

Property: San Andrea Hotel
Address: Xlendi Promenade, Xlendi, Island of Gozo, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — San Andrea Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Andrea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Andrea Xlendi
Hotel San Andrea
San Andrea Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing