We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views but hotel needs updating.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Fantastic views but hotel needs updating.”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in early June and found Xlendi to be a beautiful resort and a very friendly and quiet place.
The hotel is in two blocks so if you want a view you must book a room at the front as the rooms to the rear are in a separate building. The newer block seems to have been built in front of the old one, blocking out any views! Although the management are trying to update the hotel, they still have some way to go. The corridor between the two buildings has cat urine and faeces on the floor which was not cleared up. This section could easily be sorted out and the cats kept away!
The apartment we had was on a quiet road at the back of the hotel, with a large room which was well equipped with tv, kitchenette, wi-fi, air conditioning and ceiling fans.
The rooftop terrace has stunning views and has sun loungers (not the most comfortable due to no foam covers) and a small pool.
In the basement there is an indoor pool and a gym which is in the process of being upgraded.
Breakfast included English and continental, with a good choice of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, cold meats, cheeses and local cakes.
We will certainly return to Xlendi but may try St Patrick's hotel instead. Xlendi Resort and Spa is obviously trying to update the building but still has a way to go yet!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front to get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nesto69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    172
    95
    61
    117
See reviews for
125
310
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I am thankful that we only stayed one night; our room was like a small, ancient apartment, having ancient furniture, very small towels and ugly 80's style sheets. The name of the hotel is very misleading as you'd expect a nice spa hotel and resort but it was very different from this. The hotel desperately needs a refurbishment, including its common areas such as the breakfast room upstairs. The only positive thing I have seen is the view from the roof terrace while having breakfast but this doesn't make up for everything else, sorry.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldrin85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Xlendi hotels

Malta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel in the recent days for 1 night for my boyfriends birthday! First thing i noticed is that the Hotel is nearly empty of resedents, this was later confirmed by the receptionist. We arrived at the Hotel at around 17:00hrs and as we where with out own private car we parked in the Hotels carpark (thankfully it has a carpark although its not very safe!) therefore went into the hotel from the back entrance! It was practically impossible for us to find the way to the reception! no signs what so ever! Eventually got to the reception to be checked in by a nice young lady who took us to our room. The room was awful! the smell in the room and the bad looked like 100 years old, not to mention the fact that the receptionst said that we where upgraded! we then called reception and asked if we could get another room at least on the other side of the hotel and after a 5 minute search she told us that they have a sea view room at an extra price of 12Euro each person. WE agreed to pay as this was all a waste of time and we wanted to enjoy the evening out. Eventually by 19:00 we where settled into a lovely room. The views where amazing even though the weather was disgusting.

After a night out in Gozo we ent back to our room and as soon as we placed the keycard into the socket by the wall we where greated by a very bad noise which resulted into a burn light bulb and then we had a black out. We had to call reception in order to change the bulb. The bulb was not changed! as expected but the receptionist came up to set on the light from the main uncovered switches.

The next morning we expected the breakfast to be good, unfortunatly it was not. We where greated by a shabby young lady to order english breakfast. The plate included: 1 sausage, 1 slice of bacon, some beans and 2 eggs. she then invited us to choose othe items from a so called buffet which included: toast, jam and butter, a small selection of ham, yougarts and cereal. As can be seen the choice was limited! The seating area is unpleasent and the smell was awful!

All in all i dont think we would ever go to this hotel again! Even though it seems as if it is being refurbished i dont think it would ever end up being a resort and spa hotel! Personally i do work at a Hotel and so does my boyfriend and we know how things work in a hotel. If a hotel is nearly empty why not upgrade the guests to good rooms! At least by this you could get them to stay there again and book nice rooms!

Room Tip: Choose frontal view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lara267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2011

When we arrived very late in the morning as the clocks went back and we were stuck at Gozo ferry for three hours!! We were placed in the back building(an apartment)the sheets were poor,shower leaked and the towels were size of flannels and well worn.They are building the spa!We asked to move to another room with a view of the bay not a roof.We moved to the first building a delxe room which was better.Breakfast was not good as flies were an issue plus one hot option of English breakfast but did not look great!The towels were still just small and very very worn!Be careful you don't fall down the two mattress pushed together.A Three star hotel by English standard the indoor pool and gymn are good.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicola_surrey_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The hotel was very good. The food was very tasty and the staff was serviceminded.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sture_brolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

As the title states we went to this hotel paying 20euo pppn. When we were led to our room we were taken through a labyrinth of corridors due to the fact they are rennovating, quirky but not unexpected (price again). however barring that detail the facilities they boasted were all present, the staff did their best to accomodate (no they weren't wearing pristine uniforms made of gold). and I have to say the room was spacious and the roof restaurant was beautiful (being nicley designed and having the fortune of looking over xlendi bay).

All in all for that price I was more then satisfied

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaltaRes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ödeshög
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Gozo is very beautiful and unique island and the people are very friendly. Xlendi hotel is a very nice hotel with good personnel. The owners do everything in order to make you happy. The hotel lies beautifully with view against the sea. The rooms are nice. If one will mention somewhat negatively it might be a little more to desire from the personnel that waits on drinks.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toveli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
695 reviews
0.0 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,185 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa

Property: Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
Address: St. Simon Street, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1300, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated to make the most of this natural beauty spot, the hotel provides a welcoming, comfortable and friendly environment to enjoy a stay with your partner, family or friends. Our team are focused on going the extra mile to ensure that you have beautiful memories of your stay with us. We value your feedback, if there is anything we can do to improve your visit please tell a member of our staff who will be delighted to help. Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa also caters for your health and well-being. Relax with a spa treatment, pamper yourself at our hair & nail salon, unwind in one of our pools and energies your day in our gym. It’s the perfect choice if you want a holiday to relax and revitalize your body and mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xlendi Resort And Spa
Hotel Xlendi Xlendi
Serena Beach Club
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing