We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had to go back twice in a week.”
Review of The Boathouse

The Boathouse
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Situated right on the water's edge and next to the statue of St. Andrew in the fishermen's area of the bay, The Boat House Restaurant is ably run by Joseph Attard and his wife Rose. It has established itself as a must visit restaurant when visiting Gozo by Maltese and foreigners alike. The location enjoys the warm sunshine on winter afternoons and romantic sunsets. The choice of starters and main courses is endless. On top of that, there are the 'Specialities of the Day'. The fish display is a clear statement about the freshness of the daily catch. All items on the menu are prepared with ingredients of the highest quality. The selection of in-house desserts is tempting. The Wine List includes a large variety of local and foreign wines to please all wine lovers. Service is professional, fast and efficient but not rushed. Open for late lunches. The opening hours listed on this page are valid from 1st April up to 31st October. More detailed opening hours on website or facebook page.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We lunched twice in June 2019 after making the journey from Vittorija to swim in Xlendi bay. The motivation for the first visit was the setting and the swimming, for the second it was the food, the swimming and the setting.
Staff were accommodating and efficient although there were many reservations on the second occasion which was a Bank Holiday Friday.
The experience lived up to the expectations the establishment sets out on their website. We can recommend from personal experience the ravioli, the swordfish and the cheesecake. Other dishes looked equally inviting.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank railwaysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AttardJ, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Steve,
Our team is thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience. That is what we do to try to give this sort of experience to every guest.Glad we reach your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2019 via mobile

I went here because i got recommended by my friend, im so glad she did tell me, i had such a fantastic meal.
1stly you get given a rose scented hand sanitizer when you arrive which is very hygienic and practical after being on the bus.
The asparagus risotto was to die for and the portion was generous too. the mint dessert was so delicious. Price was so reasonable and staff were so helpful and attentive. I asked for a kinnie with no ice and they put a slice of lemon in it instead.
Highly recommended

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank 940abigailh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AttardJ, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Esteemed Client,
We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your experience and that you shall recommend us also for finding the time to write.We look forward to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2019

Amazing food and service everytime i go... my fave dining spot in Gozo! Staff is friendly, meat is always cooked perfectly, and a huge variety of fresh fish!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Chrisfenech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AttardJ, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Chris,
We are delighted you enjoyed dining with us. The Staff thank you for praising them. We as a team appreciate your comments so much and genuinely appreciate the time you have taken to review us! We wish you a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We had risotto and spaghetti with seafood. Both were really good. Although they are in the starters menu, can be ordered as main course (+4€ more or less). Still, the "starter" option is quite big. Staff was quite easy going and helpful. Good house white wine. Thanks!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank 86magic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AttardJ, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Esteemed Client,
Thank you for visiting The Boathouse Restaurant Xlendi and for your positive review. We are glad that your party were satisfied with the food wine and view. We look forward to have you dine with us again in the near future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in Xlendi for a few days, we went twice to the Boat House: once for lunch and once for dinner. Great (sea) food, price/quality very good, good wines, great service. Nice place to sit next to the sea...we definitely recommend it!

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank evyvdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AttardJ, Owner at The Boathouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2019

Dear Esteemed Client,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were highly satisfied and we thank you for your recommendation. Hope to see you soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse also viewed

Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 
Mgarr, Island of Gozo
Marsalforn, Island of Gozo
 

Been to The Boathouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing