We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looking tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed at 'St Pats twice. The first time we had a top floor room which had a full sun terrace. The second time had a small balcony. The rooms were ok but in need of updating. Do NOT go for an internal room unless you want to look out into a small internal and dark area. Also the 'Valley view' really looks directly onto the main, and only, car park in the village. There is a small rooftop pool which is little bigger than a large bath. It's main asset is that it is only 10 metres from what it the most beautiful bay on the Maltese Islands. As Xlendi (pronounced Shlendi) is at the end of a very L O N G and steep road with no features to recommend it, you will need a car, or throw yourself on the rather unreliable (thanks to Arriva) bus service, in order to see the island, unless you treat yourself to the round the island open top bus. St Pats is a reasonably good place to rest your head, but there are better hotels on the island.

Room Tip: Best on the fifth floor with full sun terrace overlooking the beautiful bay. Next ANY sea view room...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Saint Patrick's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

340 - 346 of 743 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here again with family, the price being the key driver for our choice.

Saw some improvements since last year, towels newish, bed linen better and room cleaner.

We had the half board option on our first night which was slightly marred by confusion over price. The email offer was honoured but what alot of fuss just as we were about to start eating. Food thankfully was very good. Wines are overpriced in relation to other hotels in the resort, €16.00 for a Maltese rose at a 150% mark-up on the shop price I think is exploitation.

The BIGGEST issue this time round yet again was the poor quality of sleep which ruined the stay. The mattress on night one was apalling so we asked for a swap. They obliged and lifted in another - which sadly was an equally terrible saggy mattress, simply ready for the tip. They are worn out and need replacement. A plea to the owner is to address this basic requirement.

It's not a 4 star in the widely understood sense but good value for a winter break.

Room Tip: Avoid shaft rooms if you have the budget.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

this hotel is on the xlendi bay, which is nice, but not much to see around, region was almost dead during winter, you would have to go to the city, the shared hotel area may contain people who talk, in this case, you would hear them if you even are on the 4th floor. breakfast was included, it was ok.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very nice hotel. Breakfast was great. Recommend it. Very good for relaxing and intend to repeat it again . The value was great too. Onlything it should have had in the rooms were some tea and coffee facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

First of all I would like to say that the view from our room was simply beautiful, the room was big and to our satisfaction. One drawback was that the bed was a bit uncomfortable and we suffered from a lot of itching probably from the linen on the bed. My boyfriend got stuck in the lift so unless necessary try to avoid it. When we spoke to the receptionist he said that they knew about the lift getting stuck and in the event it happens again we should press one. At least they should write a note on the lift, imagine if there where kids trapped there. The staff at our first dinner where very friendly but the staff at breakfast are very rude. Not even a smile or a good morning. There was quite a good choice at Breakfast but some of the items like cakes were not covered and there were flies passing over the food. On the other hand food at dinner was quite good (although portions were a bit small), desserts where great. On the whole it was quite a good experience and we took quite a reasonable offer.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room! Avoid the lift!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in October in a sea view room. It was most enjoyable to sit & look out across the headland and sea. The staff were very good. i am glad we stayed half board as they have more time to chat in the daytime & evening. Breakfast was rather chaotic for them with a full hotel.
People have complained about there not being tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but the hotel clearly states that they are available if requested. We did & had no problem. Our room was spacious and comfortable (but i would not have liked one of the inward facing rooms.
Lunches and evening meals very very good. The location is excellent, & the cliff top walks were great. Buses stop close to hotel - cheap & comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff, nice rooms, scrumptious breakfast which could be taken overlooking the harbour wall. Air conditioning in excellent order- contrary to another report here Our only reason for not giving 5 stars was there were no tea/coffee making facilities in our rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
734 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,228 reviews
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: $56 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing