We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please renew the mattresses” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Patrick's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Please renew the mattresses”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed here again with family, the price being the key driver for our choice.

Saw some improvements since last year, towels newish, bed linen better and room cleaner.

We had the half board option on our first night which was slightly marred by confusion over price. The email offer was honoured but what alot of fuss just as we were about to start eating. Food thankfully was very good. Wines are overpriced in relation to other hotels in the resort, €16.00 for a Maltese rose at a 150% mark-up on the shop price I think is exploitation.

The BIGGEST issue this time round yet again was the poor quality of sleep which ruined the stay. The mattress on night one was apalling so we asked for a swap. They obliged and lifted in another - which sadly was an equally terrible saggy mattress, simply ready for the tip. They are worn out and need replacement. A plea to the owner is to address this basic requirement.

It's not a 4 star in the widely understood sense but good value for a winter break.

Room Tip: Avoid shaft rooms if you have the budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XaghraDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    277
    122
    63
    38
See reviews for
116
382
52
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olofstrom, Sweden
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

this hotel is on the xlendi bay, which is nice, but not much to see around, region was almost dead during winter, you would have to go to the city, the shared hotel area may contain people who talk, in this case, you would hear them if you even are on the 4th floor. breakfast was included, it was ok.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Al C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gozo
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

Very nice hotel. Breakfast was great. Recommend it. Very good for relaxing and intend to repeat it again . The value was great too. Onlything it should have had in the rooms were some tea and coffee facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Laurence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, null, Malta
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

First of all I would like to say that the view from our room was simply beautiful, the room was big and to our satisfaction. One drawback was that the bed was a bit uncomfortable and we suffered from a lot of itching probably from the linen on the bed. My boyfriend got stuck in the lift so unless necessary try to avoid it. When we spoke to the receptionist he said that they knew about the lift getting stuck and in the event it happens again we should press one. At least they should write a note on the lift, imagine if there where kids trapped there. The staff at our first dinner where very friendly but the staff at breakfast are very rude. Not even a smile or a good morning. There was quite a good choice at Breakfast but some of the items like cakes were not covered and there were flies passing over the food. On the other hand food at dinner was quite good (although portions were a bit small), desserts where great. On the whole it was quite a good experience and we took quite a reasonable offer.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room! Avoid the lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in October in a sea view room. It was most enjoyable to sit & look out across the headland and sea. The staff were very good. i am glad we stayed half board as they have more time to chat in the daytime & evening. Breakfast was rather chaotic for them with a full hotel.
People have complained about there not being tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms, but the hotel clearly states that they are available if requested. We did & had no problem. Our room was spacious and comfortable (but i would not have liked one of the inward facing rooms.
Lunches and evening meals very very good. The location is excellent, & the cliff top walks were great. Buses stop close to hotel - cheap & comfortable.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington,Hants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Lovely hotel with very helpful staff, nice rooms, scrumptious breakfast which could be taken overlooking the harbour wall. Air conditioning in excellent order- contrary to another report here Our only reason for not giving 5 stars was there were no tea/coffee making facilities in our rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKLymington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was my third stay in the St patrick, and the first time that i upgraded to a sea view room......the view was fab and was 290 euro extra for the week, expensive yes but my choice and it was the best view of Xlendi.
the Hotel and this room was ok, the hotel is getting abit dated and tired now.......1970's decor. the balcony was small with a couple of old chairs on it.
In the fridge was small bottles of water we didnt see the small paper sign till a few days in that if you use the bottles there would be a charge.........I though this was mean spirited to charge for a bit of water especially after you have paid for the room and the expensive upgrade.

The Breakfast was ok, and the staff where very good all very busy but pleasant you could not fault the customer service at reception or around the eating and bar area..........overall ok........Dont use the water out of the fridge !

Room Tip: if you are going to get a sea view room make sure it is on level 5 the balconys are much bigger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dccccccccccccccccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.9 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing