We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How i miss my coffee !!!??!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“How i miss my coffee !!!??!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The hotel per se is perfect in every way for those who intend to use it mainly for sleeping and shower....it offers all the basic needs the moderate paying tourist might require with the exception of one !....no kettles or coffee machines in room!!!...For those like me who are early risers, this can be a true nightmare...always looking at the watch, waiting for the restaurant to open to finally satiate the accumulated coffee crave. The hotel should specifically mention that this 'service' is not provided and patrons should bring along their own kettles as specifcally told by the receptionist when asked. Families with babies must be made well aware of this, since formula milk can only be concocted using hot water and this handicap can dent heavily any possibilities of future stays at the hotel. Apart from this, we did enjoy our stay, the breakfast was great and the staff quite friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JozDar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear JozDar,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments on TripAdvisor and I am disappointed that we didn't manage to meet your expectations.

True, our rooms do not have coffee making facilities, throughout the last 12 months, we have had 97 kettles stolen from the rooms. However, we do offer tea and coffee making facilities upon request at the front office. Also, when we have guests that book with infants, we make sure that they have a kettle in the room so that they can prepare or warm up baby food.

Could you please contact me directly in pure confidence on Daniel.briffa@stpatrickshotel.com with your booking details so that I may investigate the comment about the front office person telling you to bring your own facilities?

Kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    285
    123
    64
    38
See reviews for
118
393
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naumburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Xlendi is a nice location if you are looking for a place beyond the touristic areas, especially for divers, snorkelers and individualists, who appreciate that there are no nightlife activities at all.
We spent a relaxing 10 days enjoying rest, sea, beautiful views, dives and good food. Hotel is clean, the breakfast was this year better and staff are helpful and friendly. It wasn't our first stay in this hotel, we come every year and it won't be the last for sure

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frieder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Xlendi is a nice location if you are looking for a place beyond the touristic areas, especially for divers, snorkelers and individualists, who appreciate that there are no nightlife activities at all.

We have been in that hotel for many years. It is sad to see how the standard is going down more and more: If you are lucky you get a normal size bed with a new mattress, otherwise you end up in small beds and/or on totally run-down mattresses, where you can count the springs, while trying to find some sleep. Anything broken is rather poorly patched-up instead of properly repaired. Sometimes pieces of plaster from the facade or stones from the balcony fall down to the restaurant below. Therefore, beware of sitting underneath the balconies!

The staff is generally very kind and helpful. Upon request they change mattresses and are always ready to help. The food is excellent. There is free WiFi available in the lobby.

Unfortunately, it seems as if the owners rather aim to maximize their profit than to keep the hotel in good shape: the prices go up while the standard goes down. The hotel is definitely too expensive considering its standard. The hotel should be thoroughly renovated. A first step is done: the old loopholed curtains have been replaced.

Room Tip: Rooms have A/C and ceiling fan. Sea view rooms are more quiet than land view rooms. There is a small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Hans S,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments. I am disappointed that we have not managed to fully meet your expectations.

With regards to the bed size, all beds are larger than normal standard double or twin size as and the hotel has always used the same sizes. The mattresses are all changed every 12 months to ensure that the bedding is comfortable. In fact I am quite surprised with this comment as previous comments show us that the beds are extremely comfortable.

Could you please email me directly on Daniel.briffa@stpatrickshotel.com with your details so that I may investigate further your comments?

Thanks and kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a relaxing long weekend holiday enjoying sun, sea, beautiful views and good food. Hotel is very clean, good choice of breakfast items and staff are helpful and friendly. It wasn't our first stay in this hotel and it won't be the last for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank onyx907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sta Venera
2 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Best weekend ever. great location, food, service, rooms...everything. it was a while since me and my husband had a break from the kids and this was paradise. we stayed there a few years ago and found that the hotel has really upgraded its standards. they have a new charming manager, Daniel, who is always greeting and talking to guests. he made us feel well at home. one thing I have to emphasize is that the breakfast is to die for. We used the spa of their sister hotel, what a treat.

one slight negative comment if I may, wifi should be free in rooms as well :). see you soon for sure.

Room Tip: club rooms with Jacuzzi are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

On a visit to Gozo about 18 months ago we found the St Patricks Hotel Xlendi bay, I expressed to hubby that 'if we ever visited Gozo again' that's where I would like to stay. So on the 29th June 2013 we went over to stay at said hotel, why did I do it, we were given a room on the 3rd floor, that's ok, told there was a splash pool on the roof terrace, so all excited up we went to check out roof, splash pool my eye, it looked like a bath had been set into the ground, 2 kids init was full up, disappointed. Went to room smelt of sewerage , complained to reception, who said sorry no spare rooms, open your window,after a good whine where I told him I had actually paid for my room & felt that his attitude was very wrong, he reluctantly & very cleverly found us another beautiful room over looking the sea, had very good nights sleep. Next morning went to breakfast, what a joke that was, all the hot food containers had no food in, everything ran out at the same time, chief bringing out 3 fried eggs at a time, all containers covered in bean juice or dried egg, when I did finally get an egg it was very undercooked & snotty, made me feel quite ill, so left it all & walked out in disgust, my dream hotel did not live up to it's or my expectations. Not sure it deserves its 4 star rating, will defo not go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room these are the much better ones, eat breakfast out go to 'cool' excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thewelltravelled147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Thewelltravelled147,

I would like to take this opportunity for taking time to write your review.

I am very disappointed that we didn't manage to live up to your expectations. I would also like to answer to some of your remarks/comments.

I have a very good feeling and am sure that when you mentioned the splash pool, you are referring to the Jacuzzi, yes, unfortunately we do not have enough room to accommodate a Jacuzzi bigger than one that accommodates more than 4-5 people. However, the splash pool is much bigger, which unfortunately I think you missed.

The news of the sewage smell is new news for me. I do live in the hotel myself and cannot recall any room smelling of sewage. I am glad that this was sorted out by giving you a free upgrade and you had a great night. our mattresses and linen are of the finest quality and all our guest comment on what a good night sleep they have.

With regards to breakfast, what can I say, look at previous comments and you will notice that we have the best breakfast on the island... both in variety and quality. Our Chefs are of the highest quality and most dedicated and disciplined.

if you could give me more details on your stay on Daniel.briffa@stpatrickshotel.com, I will try and investigate your breakfast and smell issue.

kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have stayed at St Patricks a few times over the last year and I have found it the perfect place to stay for a short break, , xlendi is beautiful and the sea rooms that overlook the cliffs have amazing views! The staff are very helpful and although there has been some problems, they have always done their best to resolve them in the circumstances, when I stayed there for the first time, I had the electric in my room cut out, however Gozo is a small place and not the most modern place so this sometimes happens and is part of life, also the water pipes were hit in the town and we had no water for a few hours however the manager gave every room a free bottle of wine and a letter of apology which was impressive, as it wasn't the direct fault of the hotel! The rooms are spacious and clean, the bathroom and showers are very nice! The restaurant can be a little bit disorganised when certain members of management are not around however I do think all the staff try their best and some of them are very young and it is up to the managers to give them a push in the right direction, however regardless of all this, it is my favourite place to stay in Gozo and thank you to the lovely staff for always being so helpful and polite!

Room Tip: Sea view room overlooking the cliffs, just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PM_9122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing