We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Attractive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean and Attractive”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I only spent one night here but it was a welcome and much needed stay away from our accommodation in Malta. The hotel was beautiful and the views it offered from the balcony rooms were amazing. The breakfast was nice and the late checkout allowed us to sleep in and really relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    288
    125
    64
    41
See reviews for
120
404
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a court yard room. Having looked at the recent reviews posted it was better than we expected. The rooms are basic and clean if not a little dated. The buffet breakfast was good. The best bit about the island is without doubt the friendliness of the residents. They are polite and most very helpful. The staff at St Patricks the same. I would like to say a special thank you to Julie who works in the reception. She works hard and assisted us on several occasions. Overall I would say that the hotel is value for money. The location is one of the best on the island and the views to the front of the hotel are lovely. It was also pleasant to stay abroad and not be pestered by people trying to sell things or get you to eat in their restaurant.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santos, SP
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

It is necessary to change the mattress in the camera I stayed. They do not have free WI-FI in the rooms, only at the lobby, otherwise you have to pay. No further complains, and I would certainly stay there again, I totally recommend.

Room Tip: If it is possible, take a seafront room. Stunning view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santista55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We decided to try the fixed price lunch at 18 euros, and very nice it was too, and good value for money. Although the garlic bread at the start was very ordinary, the fish soup and the sea bream were excellent. Complimentary glass of house white wine was just OK but passable for a lunchtime tipple. Fruit dessert was ok. Waitress service was very good and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I felt rather mislead - we booked this place as it had a pool. The pool was tiny (twice the size of our bath) and the jacuzzi was also very small. BOTH THE POOL AND THE JACUZZI were broken - when we arrived we were told they were waiting for parts. I got the impression they had being broken for a while. I felt very annoyed as there was nothing to say on their website that they were both out of order.

There was also mould damp in the bathroom and around the bedroom windows.

The breakfast was pleasant and the beds comfortable, overall the hotel was quite nice. Great location right on the sea front, good sized small cozy bedrooms.

It is not possible to print from the hotel computers - very annoying if you need to print boarding passes as the local cyber cafe was closed as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy20102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am very disappointed that we didn’t manage to meet and fulfil your expectations. With regards to the pool, our website clearly indicates that it is a “splashpool”. Unfortunately, yes, it was out of order and being a small island, parts tend to take quite a while to be shipped. The pool and Jacuzzi were up and running last Friday (24th May). However, throughout your stay, you could have made use of the indoor and outdoor pool facilities at our five star sister hotel.

I have taken note of your comment regarding the printing services at the hotel’s public computers. I have hooked these up to a printer so that guests can print.

I am very happy that you enjoyed our breakfasts and food. We pride ourselves on using mainly local produce sourced daily by our highly trained kitchen staff .

Looking forward to welcoming you again to the Saint Patrick's Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we got there we were put in a room that smelt badly of damp. When we went down in the morning to complain they explained that it was because it was a courtyard room that didn't get any sunshine and there got damp. They were completely OK with that! We had to pay an extra 93 euros for a room at the back (valley view) to solve that.
The breakfasts were truly terrible and only partially edible. The waiter (the staff in the restaurant were very nice) would apologise as he put each plate down saying it was a Chinese chef. We go to Malta/Gozo about twice a year. We won't be using that hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel next door. St Andrews. Because if you don't like the room they give you in St...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ward840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am very disappointed that we didn’t manage to meet and fulfil your expectations. I am very concerned with your comments regarding the breakfast. I can assure you that all our chefs are local, highly qualified chefs with more than ten years’ experience and we do not have any foreign or Chinese chefs. I would also like to point out that our breakfast is a buffet of local produce.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly on Daniel.briffa@stpatrickshotel.com with more details about your booking so I can look into your comments regarding the room and the breakfast.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great personal service, beautiful romantic inside as well as outside look and really retro athmosphere of this seafront hotel: the best location in the whole of Gozo! The bay of Xlendi looks great on a summer day, but is even better on a stormy and windy springday where you really can feel the waves rolling over the pebble stones almost into your hotel room. Really fantastic coastline to go for long walks. The restaurant is not the best in the area for dinner, but is great for a cappucino.

Room Tip: Seafront - ask for view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ewa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing