We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we got there we were put in a room that smelt badly of damp. When we went down in the morning to complain they explained that it was because it was a courtyard room that didn't get any sunshine and there got damp. They were completely OK with that! We had to pay an extra 93 euros for a room at the back (valley view) to solve that.
The breakfasts were truly terrible and only partially edible. The waiter (the staff in the restaurant were very nice) would apologise as he put each plate down saying it was a Chinese chef. We go to Malta/Gozo about twice a year. We won't be using that hotel again.

Room Tip: Go to the hotel next door. St Andrews. Because if you don't like the room they give you in St...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ward840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am very disappointed that we didn’t manage to meet and fulfil your expectations. I am very concerned with your comments regarding the breakfast. I can assure you that all our chefs are local, highly qualified chefs with more than ten years’ experience and we do not have any foreign or Chinese chefs. I would also like to point out that our breakfast is a buffet of local produce.

I would greatly appreciate it if you could contact me directly on Daniel.briffa@stpatrickshotel.com with more details about your booking so I can look into your comments regarding the room and the breakfast.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Saint Patrick's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

414 - 420 of 743 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

Great personal service, beautiful romantic inside as well as outside look and really retro athmosphere of this seafront hotel: the best location in the whole of Gozo! The bay of Xlendi looks great on a summer day, but is even better on a stormy and windy springday where you really can feel the waves rolling over the pebble stones almost into your hotel room. Really fantastic coastline to go for long walks. The restaurant is not the best in the area for dinner, but is great for a cappucino.

Room Tip: Seafront - ask for view.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ewa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was our 2nd time staying at this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable. TV had a good selection of channels. For breakfast there was a vast selection of food. Everything I chose tasted good. All staff ranging from dining room to reception staff were very polite and professional. When comparing to stays in others hotels, this one is our preferred one. We will definitely stay there again the next time we need hotel accommodation in Gozo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I didn't actually stay at this hotel, but after arriving and not being able to stay there and having had an accident the previous day and broken a bone in my foot (not good when backpacking alone!) the manager (Daniel) arranged a transfer to their sister hotel for me and gave me his card in case I needed anything whilst staying on Gozo. Very very kind and helpful. I wish all hotel staff were like Daniel and his team. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
3  Thank Glampacker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

I would recommend this hotel for the view alone. It's well worth spending the bit extra to have a sea view room. This hotel is in the middle of the bay & the sea view rooms are just so perfectly placed.

The hotel is somewhat jaded here & there, & is old fashioned, but it certainly wasn't to the detriment of our enjoyment staying here. Our room was large with a nice size balcony. Very clean & airy.

Breakfast was sufficient & all the staff that we encountered were pleasant & efficient. We had a lovely stay here & would stay here again most definitely.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stopped at the Hotels restaurant for lunch, during our day excursion to Gozo. We were served by a very knowledgable and informative waiter. The food was delicious and the location stunning. An experience we hope to repeat.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank jackslybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our dining experience. We try our best to keep our staff well trained to be able to deliver a top notch service. We also pride ourselves with using mainly local, seasonal ingredients in our recipes and that is why we are able to deliver freshness and extra value in our menu.

We hope to see you again next time you’re in Gozo.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Firstly, the staff were wonderful. Everyone from the cleaners to the waiters and reception staff. They were friendly before, but after my heart attack they were extremely helpful to my partner and myself. I'd give them 6 stars if I could.
The hotel is right on the front, and if it's windy, as it was at first, you can watch the waves reach almost up to the dining room.
We were moved between four rooms, as it wasn't clear when I was going back. The rooms were charming, spacious and scrupulously clean, despite the lack of modernisation and frayed towels, which didn't bother us. Beds were comfortable and sheets were top quality cotton. The camp beds (actually pull-out settees) provided were however squeaky and the mattress too thin (my partner's sister came out to help and slept on them). Fans were silent and effective, but we didn't try or need the A/C. The TV were large flat screen multi-channel, with high quality images (unlike some hotels in Malta).
Freshly cooked breakfasts were available for the asking, but I found the buffet of cereals/muesli, a wide range of bread, salads, boiled eggs, cooked meats, cheese and fresh/dried fruit enough. If you didn't like the set evening meal (we went out for meals before my illness), there was the a la carte menu, and they were happy enough to provide a suitable plain vegetable meal on my return from hospital. There were plenty of local restaurants locally. I'd recommend the Val d'Or and Moby Dick especially.
Each room had a fridge (mini-bar) which we used to store milk (we brought our own kettle after encountering the lack of one on a previous visit to Malta). The fridge is a snug fit in its cabinet, so you have to make sure the door has closed properly, otherwise it will defrost. There is no local supermarket – it's up for sale, though a grocery van reportedly comes once a week (we never saw it). There is one in Munxar, about 2km away, and several in Victoria. Phone cards are sold in Victoria for use in the local payphones. There is an HSBC cash point just outside the front door.
The local bus service to Victoria (4 minutes past the hour) goes through Munxar while the main road is being rebuilt.
We were there during the spring hunting season, and being woken up by gunfire at 5am was the least pleasant aspect of our stay.
This hotel has a few minor quibbles, but I would happily go back.

Room Tip: Sea view worth the extra cost.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, General Manager at Saint Patrick's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

May I take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.

I trust that you are now much better after your ordeal. I am happy to learn that your stay with us was pleasurable and that the staff took good care of you upon your return from hospital.

We are currently in the process of upgrading the towels and other linen. We have also upgraded our breakfast buffet to include a hot section with two types of bacon, scrambled eggs, fried eggs, breakfast sausages, fried local tomatoes, Heinz baked beans, hash browns, local date rolls (mqaret) and other items that we know will please our guests.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Gozo and the Saint Patrick’s Hotel.

Kindest regards,

Daniel Briffa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
734 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,228 reviews
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range: $56 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing