We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Gozo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great stay in Gozo”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The hotel is very welcoming and great for a weekend in Gozo. We especially liked the small pool on the roof top with fantastic views of Xlendi Bay. The room was clean and very nice for the price we paid! Having breakfast outside a few steps from the beach, is just a wonderful experience.

The Breakfast may be definitely improved. On a Sunday, the bread was dry and the buffet did not seem so fresh, otherwise, I will definitely return to this hotel!

Room Tip: It is always best to get a sea-view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo_M28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    288
    125
    64
    41
See reviews for
120
404
54
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Nothing extra to add to recent reviews. We can confirm that this hotel is wonderfully located,has the most attentive professional and pleasant staff that one could wish for, and is well worth a return visit. It is clean and well appointed if a bit old fashioned. Breakfast is excellent -and cooked meal on request. BUT the air conditioning IS antiquated. In todays world and considering the (lovely) 30 degree temperature and only dropping to 25 at night, decent A/C is a must. The ceiling fan was a help, but when paying these prices I would hope that replacing the system is on the agenda!
We had a 5th floor sea view. Well worth the extra money. A view to die for. This is such a wonderful village with so many nice,varied and good value restaurants to choose from. They all hug the bay which is so atmospheric. Nowhere have we been able to swim literally a few paces from our table under the awning. Would we return -yes indeed but hoping for improved A/C. If that sounds very "American" well so be it -this place is a gem and can benefit from such observations.

Room Tip: Sea view room -the higher the better -4th or 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SKItourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My family and I are just coming back from St. Patrick's Hotel. I cannot say it s not a good hotel, but I cannot say it is a 4 star hotel. It needs a refurbishment. The aircondition is slow and the sofa bed is not comfortable at all. The pool is really small, its not a pool, but a big bath. Also there aren't enough deck chairs. The chairs should be changed into deck chairs.

Apart from this, the breakfast is really good and there is a good choice of items. The staff is helpful especially the waiters. The view is lovely and it is in the heart of Xlendi. It is good but according to me, it has to be refurbished.

Room Tip: Obviously a sea view room would be nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond , North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Having just spent 11 nights in St Pat's, my husband and I were delighted to see that the 5th Floor had had some money spent on it since the last visit, although the bed was really uncomfortable, being too hard for us.... and the air conditioning either wants a good service or needs replacing as it hardly worked, there was a large ceiling fan in the room...thank heavens The staff were delightfully friendly and were always courteous....Especially Paul and Lino..... nothing too much trouble. Food as always ,was very good , with the exception of the fried eggs on the cooked breakfast, they were always rather frizzled. However, the continental breakfast buffet was very very nice But thats the only complaint about food. This hotel is on par with a British 3 star, (so do not expect 4 star facilities) The very small plunge pool (holds 10) and jacuzzi on the roof suited us as there is always the lovely Xlendi Bay to swim in which is just 3 metres from the terrace. A quick fone call to the bar and drinks etc were bought to the roof.... No complaints at all, I have no doubt we will be back again next year........Sheila & John Ryan

Room Tip: Its worth paying the extra for a sea view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sprnyks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed for One Night at the St Patrick as we where visiting friends. We also use to live In Xlendi, so always said that on our return it would be interesting to stay here.

We Booked through an On Line Booking Com.
It was definitely value for Money.

St Patricks holds this Grand Opulence within Xlendi, purely by its location on the Waterfront.

Check in was efficient and we were given our room on the 3rd Floor.

The Interior of the Hotel is not as Opulent as the Exterior might suggest, inside Balconies having Towels, Clothing hanging out to Dry, which somewhat took the Shine off the Place.

On entering our Room, it was Clean & Tidy. But in need of a Makeover.
But Sufficient for an Overnight stay.

The Location however is just perfect, with the Seafront Restaurant & Bar.

We went out for the evening, and returned to find a Very Quiet Hotel.

I did have a Very Good Nights Rest.

Breakfast is very Basic but substantial. Toast, Cereal, Yogurts etc an Upgraded Continental if you will.

I was expecting a Good Old Fry as the Hotel name suggest, and coming from Ireland would have been well received. So was disappointed to see that this not part of the Deal.
I did however see a Fry being served so presume that you paid extra for this.
Which was not explained to us on Check in or at Breakfast that morning. A shame, as it looked Pretty Good!!!

All in all a Pleasant Stay for Overnight or a Couple of Days, but not a Place for any longer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayboy806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I left St Patrick's this week. I was very well looked after. The decor is tired but the room was spotless. The staff coped exceptionally well with a tremendous storm on Sunday. The roof is a super sunbathing spot with a small pool to cool down and great views over the bay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulydoesdisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have to agree with the other reviews that suggest this hotel should be downgraded. We stayed here 5 years ago and time really hasn't been kind. We stayed in a sea-view room again, and the view is spectacular, but the decor was fairly shabby and the room was also dusty. There is air-con and a ceiling fan, which we were really grateful for, but the fan was absolutely covered in rust and the mini-bar fridge was similarly ancient. We were B&B only and there is a good range of food available (cold meats, cheese, fruit and breads and cakes) but the fruit juice and coffee come from a machine and are pretty grim.

While the view is amazing the room itself definitely didn't justify the high price we paid. However, the location is amazing and the helpful and friendly staff are what make this worthy of 3 stars, but I think 4 is pushing it a bit.

Also, wish I'd read my earlier review to remind me to haggle with the taxi drivers at the ferry port - they're still over-charging! If you are staying at this hotel it's probably worth asking them to pick you up, as it will be much cheaper. Or the St Andrew's Dive shop will also arrange airport transfers too.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are expensive but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic7510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
3.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
3.8 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint Patrick's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint Patrick's Hotel

Property: Saint Patrick's Hotel
Address: Xlendi Bay, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1150, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Saint Patrick's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St Patrick's Hotel in Xlendi is the ideal place to relax while enjoying nature, a variety of water sports, and meeting people from all walks of life. It is a modern comfortable hotel with a truly unique location just a few metres away from the sea. It has 64 rooms, of which 20 have a sea view, 25 have a valley view and 19 have a view over the charming internal courtyard. Rooms are all very attractive and spacious with a relaxing decor. Whatever the view the rooms are a real delight. The sea views are impressive, the valley views are captivating and the charismatic internal courtyard is the hub around which the hotel was built. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saint Patrick's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Patricks Xlendi
Hotel Saint Patricks
Saint Patrick's Hotel Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing