We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dreadful appalling and worse”

Moby Dick Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 32 Restaurants in Xlendi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“dreadful appalling and worse”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Dreadful service. Told we had to wait for Chinese menu. Explained we and two young children had been travelling since 2am GMT. So ordered alternatives as we didn't want to wait. Others around us served Chinese food before us! After 40 mins we were served an adult pizza. Nothing else. Appalling response from manager when we complained. Why wouldn't we complain? Had to listen to silly poor excuses. And worse because we never saw the manager again and not once asked what we thought would help sort our concerns. And worse because table next to us complained about fries only to be told "that's how we cook them"! So read some of the other reviews. You will get the theme. In our experience businesses like this don't last long. We won't be back. It really really is the worst restaurant we have been to - ever

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    310
    145
    52
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, affordable, nice view”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Had some nice italian dishes for a late lunch with the benefit of a great view on Xlendi Bay.
If you come here, have a try.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank macegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta EUROPE
Level Contributor
89 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Idyllic setting!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Whether for lunch or dinner, whether winter or summer, whether a couple, family, with friends or alone, this is the place to be. Tables are literally at the water's edge, right inside the tiny picturesque unspoilt bay. And the menu? I honestly have never encountered such a vast and varied menu! Anything from pasta (try their fresh seafood) to pizza (I love the typical Gozitana pizza with anchovies and potatoes) to fresh fish to meat...... to Chinese!! This is not the place for a hurried meal and definitely not fast food, but if it is a relaxed meal you are after, then bag a table asap.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MIXXfromMALTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth visiting!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Good service and nice food. Especially the ginger/soya sea bass was excellent and will not be forgotten in a long time! The staff also picked the bone out of the sea bass for the youngest one of us :)

Helpful?
1 Thank marg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marsaxlokk, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“What a service”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Went their with my friends (14 Pax)

*1hr 30mins-waiting for the food
*A mistake in the order, and one of us had to wait for another 15 minutes for the pizza
*A mistake in the food bill, but when we told them they deducted the amount
*The food was good on a pozitive note

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrandonPisani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moby Dick Restaurant also viewed

Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Moby Dick Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing