We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, great service and food!”
Review of Le Val D'Or Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Le Val D'Or Restaurant & Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
San Gwann, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money, great service and food!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great value for money when trying the set menu and the food was very good! The server (1 of the owners) is very sweet and helpful! A great experience indeed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent value set menu at Val D'or”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've not tried their al a cart menu, but the set price menu is EXCELLENT value, and perfect when you don't want a full blown culinary experience. It is not my favourite restaurant in town, but it is the one I go to most often probably.

Just a minute's walk off the front at Xlendi.

Very friendly family owners.

If I were here with my family - I'd be eating in this restaurant most nights!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AddictedToTheLeaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth looking for!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's easy to miss the quiet and unassuming Val D'Or, three hundred yards away from the bright lights of the promenade,on the left-hand side up the main road out of Xlendi. Salvo the chef lets the quality of the food do the talking for him: delicious, consistently excellent and amazingly good value. His fillet steak in mushroom sauce with chips and veg for 18 Euros is as expensive as the menu gets and is pure joy. His wife, Frances, is a charming hostess/waitress and together they radiate good humour. The only reason it's not packed to the doors is its location. We have been returning there for years.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet_J0hn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killorglin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great value restaurant, run by husband and wife.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

A local couple in Gozo island run this small restaurant and cater mostly for Ex Pat English clientele.
Also serve bus excursions from Malta during the day.
Meals are home cooked by the husband.
Nothing fancy but good plain food.
3 course set menu is only 11 Euro, great value .
Wine, especially, local Delicata , wine is excellent and also great value.
Cheap and cheerful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WillieoReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

As usual, we have been to Val D'Or on most nights of our holiday. The food is delicious and the owners are so friendly and welcoming. They are open for lunches and dinner, a la carte or you can have the set 4 course menu for 12 euros which is fantastic value with plenty of choice. For example tonight we both had dishes from the set menu with a large carafe of red wine and the bill was 27 euros. It would be hard to find fault here and we would recommend you try it. They cater for family, couples as well as large groups.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sidney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Val D'Or Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing