We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Val D'Or Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Le Val D'Or Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

super restaurant, family run, great quality food, good friendly service, will always return.....

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kate b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Having just returned from Gozo we ate here several times. The food is very good and at 10 euros per head for three courses is extremely good value. We also had T bone steaks which were delicious from the a la carte menu. Frances and her husband and son are all lovely people and make you feel so welcome, like long lost friends. We would definitely recommend you give this restaurant a try if you are visiting Xlendi. We are now on strict diets as we've eaten far too much bread, wine and good food!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

We have just returned from Gozo and we ate at this restaurant for three nights running. We were made very welcome, the food was lovely and the service was great. We opted for the set menu, at 10 euros per head, it was great value and very tasty. Frances, the owner was lovely and very friendly and we would definitely eat there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sidney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great local atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We walked around Xlendi and looked at all of the options. We decided on Le Val D'Or based on a nice looking venue and a friendly looking restaurant. We arrived about 7pm and were the only ones there, but the place soon filled up with locals. The menu was traditional Gozitan, and was a little cheaper than the others in town. We were brought some delicious bruschetta and ordered a litre carafe of local white wine (3.50euros) I had the Swordfish with Caper and Whitewine Sauce. My wife had the Clamari. Both were excellent and very tasty. The owner and his wife were friendly and made us feel very welcome. We'd recommend it to anyone visiting Xlendi.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaiPugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

This restaurant was an integral part of making our visit to Gozo so enjoyable.
Found Le Val D'or via a chance meeting with a English expat who recommended dining there. We were not disappointed. Food extremely good and the hosts made us feel very welcomed. Excellent value for money for either the set menu or a la carte. Give it a try you will not be dissappointed.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SETraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Val D'Or Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
Xlendi, Island of Gozo
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing