We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Holiday”
Review of Villa Bronja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bronja
Ranked #2 of 4 Xlendi B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

This our 4th time of staying at Villa Bronja. The reason we keep coming back is partly due to the lovely hosts Manoel and Pauline, they always make you feel very welcome and can't do enough for you to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are always clean and tidy.
We first came as a couple and this year we came with our two boys and the apartments were still perfect.
You wont be dispaointed if you chose Villa Bronja and especially with the beautiful Xlendi bay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodlover1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    37
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
88
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed at Bronja villas in October 2012 and from the moment of booking Manoel went out of his way to help.

He organised transfers, car hire and was also a fountain or knowledge on the island of Gozo, greeting us on arrival with a friendly face and a bottle of wine.

The apartment we had was spacious and clean with self-catering facilities and a veranda. A short walk into Xlendi Bay's restaurants and bars.

The island of Gozo exceeded our expectations with great food, great wine and beautiful scenery and sunshine.

We hope to return to Gozo and when we do Bronja villas will be our first point of call.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClaireHank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wesley Chapel, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spent 12 days in Xlendi at villa Bronja, and our experience was wonderful. I had a back injury and was unable to sleep in a bed, so they worked very hard with us to accomodate me by finally bringing in a reclining sun lounge and setting it up with pillows, pads and a comforter. It worked very well. Each morning as we enjoyed our coffee out on the patio, they stopped by with a friendly word. Manoel and Pauline give a very personal interest in all of their guests and try to make the holiday as enjoyable as possible.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sharivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannanshire, Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Totally recommend Villa Bronja. We had a tidy, clean, good sized apartment at a really reasonable price. The villa is in a quiet part of the town although easily accessible for restaurants. View of the Xlendi cliffs from the wee rooftop pool is stunning. Manoel is the ideal host- very helpful but unobtrusive - our hairdryer was missing and was replaced immediately and he had great tips for sightseeing.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mmccutcheon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Bronja for 8 nights during September 2013.
The owner and host Manoel greeted me on arrival and later I met his equally charming wife Pauline.
The 1st floor 1 bedroom apartment was clean tidy and spacious.
The bedroom was of a good size and the kitchen had all that was required for a holiday.
The apartment had a balcony that looked towards the sea.
Villa Bronja is located 5 minutes walk from the inlet at Xlendi. It has sunbathing areas and is good for competent swimmers.
10 minutes walk away are a selection of restaurants that are right on the sea front.
There is a small supermarket in a village 5 minutes drive away but the best 2 are in Victoria that is about 15 minutes away.
Victoria is well worth visiting for its history, market, and street cafe’s.
All in all, a good location for a holiday, very nice accommodation and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our hosts:
I came accross this apartment firstly by reading trip-advisor reviews; each spoke of the fantastic welcome received from Manoel and Pauline - our experience was no different. Our hosts were lovely people to deal with; ever available when you needed them but otherwise non-intrusive.

Booking and payment:
The booking and payment process was simple and Manoel was extremely prompt and informative in replying to any queries we may have had. He also offered to organise all our taxi travel to and from the ferry. In the end, we did not require too many taxi`s as the bus service on Gozo (and Malta) was cheap (e2.60 /day pass) frequent and air conditioned. With two bus stop a few minutes from Villa Bronja you could easily get by using the islands bus services and forgo renting a car. (Having witnessed Maltese driving styles - a large bus is the safer option).

The Apartment:
We choose the one bedroom apartment on the first floor (OptionB***) because it had a balcony with a partial sea view and a view of the amazing Xlendi Bay cliffs. The bedroom was clean and spacious.

The accommodation overall was bright, clean, spacious and good value for money.

This apartment is not air-conditioned but has a ceiling fan in the living room and there is a large, effective fan for the bedroom.

The bathroom was clean and airy. (bath,shower,toilet and washbasin)

The kitchen is basic and will provide you with the necessities for preparing breakfast lunch & snacks. With the temperature in the high 20`s - 30 Degrees Celsius during our stay, it was not advisable to have the gas cooker on for too long. As the Xlendi water-front offers exquiste dining options every evening - cooking in the apartment is rather unnessesary anyway.
__________________________________

The only drawback (and it is slight) was that the electric fan which we used in the bedroom, was rather noisy.


Xlendi does not have a supermarket - buy what you need in Victoria before you head to Xlendi.

A mobile shop does the rounds of the village (or sets up shop by the bus stop in the heart of the town) selling milk, bread etc. from a van. Once we figured this out - it no longer became an issue.

Handy info to know:
(That strange sounding horn you hear between 10am and 11.30am ...... that is the food-van letting you know they are in the area)
___________________________________


Overall I would have no problem recommending Villa Bronja - this is an excellently run business, with cheerful hosts eager the make your stay in Xlendi memorable.

Thank you Manoel and Pauline for making our visit to your delightful part of the world so enjoyable. The Maltese reputation for friendliness is well earned and you are two fine ambassors for your beautiful country.

Room Tip: Choose Option B*** (one bedroom apartment on the first floor/ sleeps 3) if you wish to have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IrishCouple300813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just back from a great week away with my boyfriend and loved this place!

The location of the apartment is perfect. Xlendi is the nicest resort on the island - not too big, nice restaurants, beautiful waters for swimming....

The apartment was good. It has all the basics to prepare foods and spend time there, particularly with the nice outside space.

The hosts were great too. They live there so are around for advice and a chat if you want it but are far from intrusive.

Would recommend a car to get around the island.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sibhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.2 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
695 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
810 reviews
4.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bronja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bronja

Property: Villa Bronja
Address: Triq It-Torri, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1321, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xlendi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality holiday villa apartments 250 meters away from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Bronja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronja Hotel Xlendi
Villa Bronja Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing