We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Bronja”
Review of Villa Bronja

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Bronja
Ranked #2 of 4 Xlendi B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I stayed at the Villa Bronja for 8 nights during September 2013.
The owner and host Manoel greeted me on arrival and later I met his equally charming wife Pauline.
The 1st floor 1 bedroom apartment was clean tidy and spacious.
The bedroom was of a good size and the kitchen had all that was required for a holiday.
The apartment had a balcony that looked towards the sea.
Villa Bronja is located 5 minutes walk from the inlet at Xlendi. It has sunbathing areas and is good for competent swimmers.
10 minutes walk away are a selection of restaurants that are right on the sea front.
There is a small supermarket in a village 5 minutes drive away but the best 2 are in Victoria that is about 15 minutes away.
Victoria is well worth visiting for its history, market, and street cafe’s.
All in all, a good location for a holiday, very nice accommodation and welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 132 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our hosts:
I came accross this apartment firstly by reading trip-advisor reviews; each spoke of the fantastic welcome received from Manoel and Pauline - our experience was no different. Our hosts were lovely people to deal with; ever available when you needed them but otherwise non-intrusive.

Booking and payment:
The booking and payment process was simple and Manoel was extremely prompt and informative in replying to any queries we may have had. He also offered to organise all our taxi travel to and from the ferry. In the end, we did not require too many taxi`s as the bus service on Gozo (and Malta) was cheap (e2.60 /day pass) frequent and air conditioned. With two bus stop a few minutes from Villa Bronja you could easily get by using the islands bus services and forgo renting a car. (Having witnessed Maltese driving styles - a large bus is the safer option).

The Apartment:
We choose the one bedroom apartment on the first floor (OptionB***) because it had a balcony with a partial sea view and a view of the amazing Xlendi Bay cliffs. The bedroom was clean and spacious.

The accommodation overall was bright, clean, spacious and good value for money.

This apartment is not air-conditioned but has a ceiling fan in the living room and there is a large, effective fan for the bedroom.

The bathroom was clean and airy. (bath,shower,toilet and washbasin)

The kitchen is basic and will provide you with the necessities for preparing breakfast lunch & snacks. With the temperature in the high 20`s - 30 Degrees Celsius during our stay, it was not advisable to have the gas cooker on for too long. As the Xlendi water-front offers exquiste dining options every evening - cooking in the apartment is rather unnessesary anyway.
__________________________________

The only drawback (and it is slight) was that the electric fan which we used in the bedroom, was rather noisy.


Xlendi does not have a supermarket - buy what you need in Victoria before you head to Xlendi.

A mobile shop does the rounds of the village (or sets up shop by the bus stop in the heart of the town) selling milk, bread etc. from a van. Once we figured this out - it no longer became an issue.

Handy info to know:
(That strange sounding horn you hear between 10am and 11.30am ...... that is the food-van letting you know they are in the area)
___________________________________


Overall I would have no problem recommending Villa Bronja - this is an excellently run business, with cheerful hosts eager the make your stay in Xlendi memorable.

Thank you Manoel and Pauline for making our visit to your delightful part of the world so enjoyable. The Maltese reputation for friendliness is well earned and you are two fine ambassors for your beautiful country.

Room Tip: Choose Option B*** (one bedroom apartment on the first floor/ sleeps 3) if you wish to have a balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IrishCouple300813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Just back from a great week away with my boyfriend and loved this place!

The location of the apartment is perfect. Xlendi is the nicest resort on the island - not too big, nice restaurants, beautiful waters for swimming....

The apartment was good. It has all the basics to prepare foods and spend time there, particularly with the nice outside space.

The hosts were great too. They live there so are around for advice and a chat if you want it but are far from intrusive.

Would recommend a car to get around the island.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sibhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We are a young couple who stayed at Villa Bronja for a week. We both agreed it was one of the best holidays we've ever had and would heartily recommend it to other travellers.
Manoel was a brilliant host and organised all our taxi travel to and from the airport for us. As a native to Gozo, he knew all the island's best spots and gave us some great tips on hiking and swimming.
The location of Villa Bronja is perfect, just a few minutes' walk from the beach at Xlendi and close to the bus stop. Our appartment was clean and well-sized and we enjoyed having a table outside where we could eat our breakfast.
We found it relaxing to have our own space and do what we wanted with our days. The island is one of the most beautiful places we have ever been to and is great for anyone who likes nature and the quiet life. Overall a great experience and we hope one day to return.
Thank you for a lovely time!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had an excellent stay at Villa Bronja thanks to Manoel and Pauline. We stayed in the one bedroom ground floor apartment, which was very well equipt for our self-catering needs. The apartment was spacious and could have slept more than 2 people given a different set-up. There was also a smalll outside area directly outside the door which is a great addition to the apartment. Despite being at the streeet side, this was made as private as possible by the owners and was sheltered from passers by. Being directly next to the main entrance to other apartments it was used on occasion by other guests.

One minor complaint was the swimming pool. This is a great facility to have and the sun terrace is a great area to unwind at the end of a long day. However, the pool itself needed a good clean. By the end of the week the water was cloudy. It was still a good place to cool down in and have a quick dip.

Our hosts, Manoel and Paulline, were extremely welcoming and made an effort to speak to us each day. They were also keen to share local knowledge and recommend places to eat and visit. A great place to stay while on Gozo and excellent value for money. We would have no hesitation going back to Villa Bronja if we returned to Gozo and would recommend to an other travellers.

Room Tip: Ground floor terraces are less private than those with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mxd321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Villa Bronja with my girlfriend in July/August 2013. We had a lovely time.

Villa Bronja - nice rooms, clean and good size. We had a corridor/kitchen, bathroom, bedroom, private outside terrace. Ask about the variety of rooms on offer. Tis a 5 minute walk to the restaurants.

Manoel & Pauline - they are lovely hosts, very approachable, and very helpful (sorted us out with airport transfers/hire car etc)

Xlendi - a lovely bay with a good selection of restaurants. No supermarket in the town is slightly annoying, but there is one in the next village, and a lady who drives a van providing a fair amount of food/necessities. Beautiful swimming off the rocks and amazing sunsets.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyMoon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

During our last visit to Gozo, we decided to stay at Villa Bronja in Xlendi.

From the informative email they sent to us with all accomodation details prior to our arrival, we anticipated that they offered a very professional service.
And we were right! When we arrived, we immediately noticed that the 2 bedroomed apt we booked was impeccably clean, very airy, crisp white towels, fully equipped kitchen.......in a few words, a home away from home. It is a place where you could immediately relax and enjoy the comfy ambience. We noticed that even our two young kids felt at home straight away :)

It is only a short walking distance from Xlendi bay, which is great, and at the residence, one could also make use of a pool on the roof offering fantastic views of Xlendi.
I must also mention that the owners are really helpful, ready to assist in every need that might arise.
We feel that Villa Bronja is highly commendable and look forward to visit again in the near future.
Thankyou for making our stay a pleasant one!
Lorraine & Robert D'Amato.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damato2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Xlendi
0.2 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
3.9 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Bronja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Bronja

Address: Triq It-Torri, Xlendi, Island of Gozo XLN 1321, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Xlendi
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Xlendi
Price Range: $76 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality holiday villa apartments 250 meters away from the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Bronja reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronja Hotel Xlendi
Villa Bronja Xlendi, Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing