We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated decor, fixtures & 5* rating”
Review of Hotel Ta' Cenc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a suite on arrival however, I'm not sure what difference it made overall. The interior is tired, dusty, mouldy & in desperate need of even a 1* treatment to improve.

Filthy, stained, loose covers over filthy, old upholstery on the lounge seats. Rusty, dusty fan blades & vents blasting rusty, dusty air noisily. Broken ceramic lamp bases with stained, dusty lampshades. Fixed coathangers so rusted they couldn't slide along the rail. Peeling paint, cracks in the walls, dusty tile floors & painted murals half washed off left the interior tired looking. Bathroom is dated, mouldy & the glass door across the bath has no rubber seal so the overhead shower turns the floor into a lake. Overall, the room ranks a 1/5 stars, along with the rest of the hotel that desperately needs to join the 21st century.

The bed, however, was clean & incredibly comfortable - highlight of the stay! Food was very expensive but well made & tasty. Staff were grumpy & unhelpful to cheerful & professional.

Cleaners knock & open the door even if there is a DND sign up so beware. They also take ~10mins to clean (a whole suite...) which shows how little really gets done ie. don't expect more than your bed made, bin emptied, cups rinsed out & bath wiped dry.

The games room was out of order (the sign looked like it had been up for a while), furnishings scuffed & dusty, indoor spa pool filled with screaming kids & gym equipment "state of the art" (for the 80s).

Not worth the exorbitant price & high ranking from other TripAdvisor users.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MadeInAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ta' Cenc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

369 - 375 of 828 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at the end of November - weather still fine, but starting to reduce some services (e.g., their off site restaurant closed that day). Go to the off site restaurant (they have a shuttle or 12 euro) - food was great, view amazing, and you can swim in the sea right there!

It was about 20 euros to this hotel from the ferry. Here and Malta, agree on taxi amount before getting in as most don't have meters it seemed.

Beautiful places to walk along the cliffs on the hotel property, though there didn't appear to be anything in the nearby neighbourhood (we walked 50 minutes one night to dinner - hotel said 20 min so maybe we went the wrong way?).

If looking for a nice quiet weekend, I would recommend it! Rooms a little tired perhaps but the view and pool make up for it. Nice bar and library room to relax at night. Great pool spa area though I didn't have any of the services.

We hired our very friendly taxi driver for a tour - Joey 00356 99427271 (even showed us his home). 50 euros for the morning - we didn't stop long at places, but that suited us fine.

Room Tip: Off season and we were lucky enough to get an update to a suite by the pool. It had it's own lit...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tonya26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

beautiful hotel in alovely position .we only stayed 3 nights at this hotel we adored swimming inthe pool which also went outside . our room had anice terrace where we could see the sea .we enjoyed the delicious breakfast and dinner

Room Tip: we had room 17
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bettyannecarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a lovely week and we were very happy with everything. We had plenty to do - from enjoying the pools and spa, seeing the island, walking, sightseeing etc The staff was very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We have definitely found a new favourite place here and we would very much like to come back. We miss it already! We recommend Ta Cenc and certainly do not agree with the review from Dave D.....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damiano Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at this hotel as part of a Headwater one centre waking holiday. It is a superb hotel with excellent food, good facilities including a couple of swimming pools and spa facilities. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would have no hesitation in staying there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

the hotel is beautiful, the rooms are like little chalets set into beautiful gardens with butterflies and little lizards milling about. the decor is lovely. there are two lovely outdoor pools and an indoor to outdoor heated pool which is heated and so amazing, set into the gardens. spa facilites are lovely. Restaurant is delicious and we ate outside in a lovely courtyard with trees everywhere and whilst being serenaded by singers which was unbelievable. the food is lovely. the staff couldn't be nicer, helpful and friendly, with a personal touch. the lobby's are full of sitting rooms with sofas everywhere. As we were there in late October it was very quiet at night, but i liked the complete peace and quiet of the place, it was a sanctuary. being on the island of gozo was my favourite part of the holiday to Malta. would recommend anyone to stay a few nights here, as a completely different holiday experience.

Room Tip: our room was a standard double and it was lovely
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laursabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

The setting is lovely the hotel generally clean and well laid out however having read other reviews I just wish for everyone’s sake the standard we read about could be kept up as this hotel will soon loose its good name.

The room was damp and smelt it, we were told to leave air conditioning on it did not improve. The electric card to get in room did not work so back to reception 3 times (a good few minutes each time) to be given a key on large heavy fob.

The bar staff did not want to tell us how much drinks were but “just sign here” until I said I needed to know just to make sure it was not 20 Euros a drink

The Wednesday local produce buffet was appalling in fact worse than that however food from the bar was okay.

The wine tasting was also bad we can drink most wines but local wine to our taste and our group was not good.

The outdoor eating area is visually very nice however the flies will drive you mad and at dusk you will be bitten all over we were advised the bedrooms also attracted the biting flies as well. A selection of candle Citronella or similar were used in abundance at another hotel we went to in Italy this did the trick.

It is very quiet at the hotel this was not a problem for us but some might find it too quiet and you must have a car to get out if the boredom sets in easily.

Gozo is a nice island I would not go again to this hotel and let’s hope someone from the hotel reads this and makes the simple changes that will make the hotel far better than it currently is. On the door its says it’s a 5 star hotel a good 3 star definitely 5 star sorry you have a long way to go.

Room Tip: Make sure not damp, check shower cable reaches its holder, the sitting area outside each room is a n...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.4 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
734 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ta' Cenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ta' Cenc

Address: Cenc Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Price Range: $130 - $1,385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ta' Cenc 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ta' Cenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta' Cenc Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing