We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”
Review of Hotel Ta' Cenc

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It is a quite and poshy Hotel,love it.The staff are GR8T the food is is excellent,the rooms are clean and breakfast served in rooms wowwwww It is very relaxing try it,you won't be disappoited for sure. Location is only 10mins drive to Rabat,I love GOZO.

Room Tip: I had a pool view room it is amazing.Breakfast served in rooms while I was in the bathroom watching...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benluna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Ta' Cenc
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 828 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked in and two hours later booked out. This looks like a once smart hotel that's now worn at the edges and in need of a major upgrade. The lack of a proper walk-in shower in our room, filthy loungers and pool were the deal breakers for us. Just because you put a paper ribbon round the toilet seat and tell the staff to wear ties doesn't make it a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Proddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a lovely 6 nights in a trullo bungalow over the Easter holiday. Although I agree with some previous visitors that they were a little grubby with dated furniture, we felt the overall ambience was great and we could ignore that. I believe some of the other suites have been refurbished so we would go for one of those if the price was right for next time.
We were on half board which we were very pleased with. Breakfast was excellent with a huge selection of hot and cold food to suit all tastes and cultures.
Evening meals included in half board were very generous 4 courses with plenty of choice and changed every day. The food was very much 5 star as was the service in the restaurant by the charming Ferdinand and the rest of the team. They all spoke to us with such friendliness and answered all the many questions we asked them about the locality, etc with enthusiasm.
The spa was beautiful. Probably could have had more staff though.
Outside pools looked like they weren't being used but as we left they were being cleaned so we assume the season is only just beginning (we left 6th April).
The many lounge and bar areas were beautiful, looking out over Comino and Malta.
So thank you very much Ta Cenc hotel and see you again soon we hope!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clairejlawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The breakfast area and the restaurant was quite nice and clean. However our room was a nightmare! We had spiders, mushroom in the wardrobe and awful smell in the whole room. It wasn't possible to change the room because whole hotel was fully booked. Outside of the bungalow (the rooms are in the bungalows) was a lot of dirtiness also. The stay was a nightmare and I do not recommend anyone to overpay the stay in this hotel. It is worth maximum 60 euro per two people, not 170!! I upload pics of mushroom in the wardrobe and outside dirt on the sunbeds. I am highly disappointed!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank marta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Myself and some friends of mine decided to spend a day at the Ta' Cenc Spa. When trying to call for some information before we actually went to the Spa, the staff was not that helpful, the receptionist or beauty therapist at the spa failed to answer the calls so we had to wait for her to call back, which she did. Prices are reasonable if you're just using the basic facilities (steam room, jacuzzi, heated pool and gym) for a day.

However when we arrived at the spa we waited for over 15 minutes at the reception since no one was there to show us around or give us towels etc. We ended up going to the hotel reception and one of the receptionists had to come to the Spa himself to give us the towels. Since we were in a 5 star hotel we expected 5 star treatment, i.e. towels, towel slippers and a bathrobe, however we were only given 1 towel and there were some plastic covers which one could wear instead of the slippers.

We weren't even given a key for a locker to put our belongings in and there was no soap or shampoo to have a shower afterwards. There was no privacy in the changing rooms and the toilets were not that clean. We ended up going round the spa with no bathrobe and when I asked the beauty therapist for a massage she answered that "it is a bit impossible today"! So we only used the jacuzzi, steam room and heated pool and we ended up leaving quite early; we spent 3 hrs max instead of the full day we had initially planned. It is hardly a spa, but rather a hotel with indoor facilities.

The Spa has the most beautiful heated pool which extends to an outside area and the environment is just perfect for relaxation but unfortunately the service is not that of a 5 star hotel and it was definitely not to our expectations.

Although the hotel is renowned for its rustic ambience and exquisite food, it lacks the 5 star service!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steffi026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Like coming home for us , great staff in and around the hotel and spa , superb choice for breakfasts inc full english , lovely spa with sauna , steam room , views from rooms good ( especially the upgrade to a suite) . Going back in May !

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizard53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

But still a good one that I could return to. The receptionist was a little stiff, although accomodating, and all the rest of the staff, in particular at the restaurant, were really good. The hotel is very quaint, different in it´s layout as rooms are in the shape of limestone huts scattered around the garden. The food was very good, we dined a la carte (a rather overpriced chianti, caprese salad, wonderful maltese style grouper for me, and a perfectly cooked stake on foi sauce for my wife). But it was impossible to get a massage at the spa even though (or maybe because) it was low season.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikel_LTQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.4 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
734 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.0 mi away
Hotel Xlendi Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ta' Cenc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ta' Cenc

Address: Cenc Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Price Range: $131 - $1,386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ta' Cenc 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ta' Cenc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta' Cenc Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing