We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for our perfect day!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had our Wedding at Ta cenc on 2nd June and our day could not have been more perfect! The hotel is so unique and relaxing. Some of our family and friends stayed here also for a few days over the wedding time and all thanked us for introducing them to such a wonderful place.

We stayed in 3 different rooms and all were fantastic. I loved the light and unique feel of the Trullos. We also stayed in one of the newly refurbished rooms which has a jaccuzzi bath which was amazing! And our terrace was leading onto the pool- fantastic!

The spa was amazing, especially on days when the weather was not so great. The spa treatments themselves I thought were a little pricey compared to prices in England.

The day before our wedding I had a ladies spa afternoon and many of the girls had treatments while others just relaxed in the hot tub/steam room/heated in and outdoor pool. The drink prices were surprisingly reasonable also. A lovely way to spend an afternoon!

Our actual wedding was out of this world and many people commented it was the best they have ever been to. Such beautiful and intimate settings, friendly staff and being in a venue which is exclusively for our use. David, the operations manager was fantastic! He helped me arrange everything, nothing was any hassle. Even on the day of the wedding it rained really hard in the morning, and i was worried all our plans would be ruined, he had back up plans and the wedding was even more perfect than I had imagined. The rain also stopped luckily!

I cannot sing the praises highly enough of this hotel. You feel instantly relaxed the second you arrive, and we felt so sad to leave. We will definitely be returning for anniversarys :-)

I would not recommend this hotel to people who are looking for lively bars, night clubs etc- but if you want to relax, enjoy beautiful suroundings, read a book, swim in the pool, have lovely food, go for nice walks, this is the place for you! You will not be dissappointed!!

Room Tip: All i saw where lovely, but room 11 my fav!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucieCatchpole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 569 of 848 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2011

Had always wanted to stay at this hotel. Whilst eating at their Restaurant on the first night was suddenly attacked and biten by one of the hotel cats. Felt more and more ill throughout the holiday and by the time we arrived home, felt much worse, so had to go straight to the Doctors. They gave me an injection straight away and was put on antibiotics. The Hotel has never contacted us to see how I was.
Also we stayed in a Trullo and could never go on the balcony because there were flies everywhere and we constantly heard the noise from the hotel Laundry.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
6  Thank gillgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Unique setting near clifftops, about 1km from village centre. We had half board for 9 nights. Great restaurant , spa and pools. Staff very helpful and friendly - like most people on Gozo. Efficient shuttle to Victoria and transfer to airport on Malta. But room (standard - should have upgraded) a bit pokey and dark - needed light on all day - partly due to overgrown banana tree at window. Patio under bamboo framework so no protection when it rained - yes, rain in June! But biggest prob was a plague of flies outside room and to lesser extent round pool and restaurant. For all that the hotel is special and helped to make the holiday.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a "trullo" room or suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanEUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Make sure this hotel is actually open and that they don't con you into a holiday and then when you arrive there, you are put in another hotel. We went for a spa holiday and they put us in an hotel that had no spa.

Room Tip: Hotel in awful state.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Pjugpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TaCencManagement, Manager at Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2011

As part of the ongoing 2.5 million Euros upgrading and refurbishment programme over the past year, the Hotel Ta’ Cenc and Spa was closed from the 17th January up to 18th February 2011. All clients were informed either directly or through the agency they booked with, alternative accommodation was offered to all the clients, with some clients postponing their planned stay to a later date as they specifically wanted to stay at the Ta’ Cenc.

Unfortunately, due to a problem with communication between the operator (not the hotel) and clients Upham, clients were not advised accordingly.
On arrival in Gozo on the 13th February, 2011 (not in March) clients were met by personnel from the hotel and while explaining all the problems they were offered various alternative accommodation and other incentives to make up for any inconvenience caused until clients accepted and were fully satisfied with all the arrangements made.

Clients were looked after in every way even on a daily basis until their departure on the 21st February 2011, and never once asked for a hotel with a Spa or that they were unhappy. Clients never contacted the hotel after their departure, so much so that we were quite surprised about this comment on the Trip Advisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2011

After 4 days in the Victoria Hotel in Sliema (enuf said!) we were delighted by the reception, efficiency, cleanliness, facilities and hospitality on offer at Ta Cence in Gozo. The food was a constant draw back into the dining room where the imaginative chef produced truly tasty and tasteful dishes. The staff in the dining room were as friendly and efficient as all the other staff in the hotel. Understated but fantastic hotel, service, staff & amenities. the room was well equipped, spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Our room was not in the best location in the complex, in that we weren't able to enjoy the evening sun at our room. However, this was more than compensated for by the quality of the facilities, the helpfulness of the staff and our overall experience in the hotel. The food was of a consistently high standard, and the service was friendly and impeccable. The hotel is not close to any other night life, and is quiet, so make your own entertainment.
Of particular note was the helpfulness following check out, when we were offered full use of the spa facilities before travelling home, in stark contrast to other hotels who treat former guests as "aliens" as soon as they have checked out.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfefc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2011

Our fifth stay at Ta' Cenc. Although the hotel is going through some refurbishment it is totally unobtrusive and hasn't affected the level of comfort or service. ALL the hotel staff can only be described as wonderful, nothing was too much trouble and all our requests were dealt with efficiently and with a smile. Total relaxation was our aim this time and that is exactly what we achieved; if you are looking for bright lights and nightlife then Ta' Cenc is not the place to go. The restaurant has a very varied menu serving excellent dishes, cooked to perfection.
The "Wellness" Spa is worth a visit, an experience not to be missed.
Overall it is paradise on Gozo.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1Relaxedtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
3.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
2.4 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
759 reviews
7.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,274 reviews
2 mi away
Saint Patrick's Hotel
3.6 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa

Address: Cenc Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sannat
Price Range: $125 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing