We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice guesthouse in a quiet location”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Il-Girna Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il-Girna Residence
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A nice guesthouse in a quiet location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Il-Girna II Residence is situated in a quiet location with ample parking space around. One has the possibility of going for a walk with breathtaking views of the countryside or else head towards Ta' Cenc cliffs, both of which are advisable to wear comfortable footwear.
The hosts gave us a warm welcome and kids are made to feel at home. We had two rooms, both spacious and immaculately clean but one of them needed some minor repairs. Given the fact that we were only staying for 1 night we didn't bother asking to change rooms although this option was offered.
There is a fridge on the landing for guest use, which comes in handy since Maltese summers can be quite hot.
The pool is decently sized to cater for the number of residents and is kept very clean.
Breakfast is basically made up of cereal, locally produced youghurt, toast, biscuits, fruit (dried & fresh) and a small selection of local products together with tea, coffee,orange & pineapple juice.

No TV in the room, No lift, No air conditioning (fan only) which can result in very cold rooms in winter unless gas heaters are provided. Some pillows tend to be somewhat uncomfortable as they are quite hard and take some getting used to, to sleep on. WIFI connection is only available in the lobby downstairs. Tea & Coffee making facilities are at the discretion of the host.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ta'Xbiex, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

Extremely friendly Maria took care of us from the time we got there. We had a spacious room with a view and it was surprisingly quite early morning apart from some chooks and a faraway rooster. This is unusual for Gozo mornings where people seem to sleep at sundown and rise noisily with sunrise. The pool looked very invited but summer hasn't kicked in yet. Very clean residence plus a breakfast that was to our liking having a huge variety of fresh fruit plus the usual breakfast foods. It was also great because they allow pets so I could take my dog with me rather than leaving her in a kennel.

Room Tip: Had to go up 2 storeys which did not bother us but one might want to ask if they do not fancy stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marmattron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Marie and Teddy are the owners of this guest house, they make it an extrodinary place, nothing is too much trouble, making this an excellant place to stay, to while away your time.

From arriving, late, near midnight, we were greeted, personally, with a warm welcome, and a cup of tea. Really - really welcoming. You just know when you've chosen the right place. !

The rooms are spacious, clean, and attended every day. Plenty of towels. changed daily.
The fittings throughout are very tastefull, antiques and reproductions are in every room, the public rooms are very comfortable, and again stuffed with good peices of furniture. No "white, MDF, or modern tasteless" pieces anywhere, that I remember, anyway.

Breakfast, Full continental, you can stay in the dining room as long as you wish, the breakfast table had enough to feed an army, including fresh Gozitian soft cheese, you just chose what and how much you want, plenty of clean plates - dishes - galsses etc. Tea and Coffee free flowing. Fresh eggs offered to all, every day, enough fresh fruit to satisfy allcomers.

Marie treats guests as friends, many people return on a regular basis, Marie creates a warm friendly atmosphere, to all, from babies to those of mature years.

Il-GIRNA is the perfect place to unwind, do a bit, or a lot, of walking. Gozo is such a lovely Island, Marie can put the cherry on the cake, if you let her.

Room Tip: Contact Marie, tel: or E-mail, with your requirement, she will do anything she can, to deliver the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wader123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bugibba, Malta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a nice weekend in this residence which is located in a quite area, with a nice view having a mediterranean breakfast at a very good price. Great location for a walk on the cliffs just round the corner with great views of Gozo and the blue sea. You will listen the day come to life every morning with the whistling of the birds, I even heard owls. The owners will follow each of your requirements making your stay very welcoming. Will for sure book it again

Room Tip: Second floor if the stairs don't annoy you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall on Hudson, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We really did not have any point of reference when booking a place to stay on Gozo and picked Il Girna somewhat randomly. To our delight it was a wonderful stay, not only did we have a beautiful 360 degree view from our penthouse room, but we also had an indoor jacuzzi bath and sitting area. The house itself is old but is clean, well maintained, and overall lovely. As for the owners, they could not have been more sweet and accommodating, from giving us sunblock to giving us tips on our day time excursions. When sitting in the living room to use internet the hostess came out to give us tea and coffee. The outside pool is clean and lovely, the whole house and pool is surrounded by a wall/gate and felt private and safe.

Breakfast was simple but delicious spread - meats, cheeses, tomatoes, and crackers, cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast, hardboiled eggs and small cakes

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 973JoannaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is set at the edge of fields in quiet Sannat Village, about 20 minutes walk from the centre of Victoria, the main city on Gozo. Everything is very close in Gozo, and the hourly bus can also get you to the centre of Victoria in about 10 minutes. The Il-Girmaproprietress, Mary and her husband, made me feel like one of the family, giving me lots of information and advice to enrich my brief stay in Gozo. The food at their nearby restaurant was simple but well-prepared and not expensive by European standards. My room was very spacious, with a comfortable bed, and internet access at a common area just down the hall, and blissfully dark and quiet for sleeping. Mary provided a kettle and milk for me so I could have tea first thing in the morning. I loved walking above the nearby cliffs, and would having enjoyed swimming in the beautiful pool if were just a little warmer outside! The hotel is dog friendly, and dogs can run off-leash in the area above the cliffs.

Room Tip: Higher floor -- worth the climb for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bethujana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have been at Il-Girna residence just a couple of days ago, for the carnival at Nadur.

The place is adorable and very well kept. The rooms were cold, but with a few extra blankets we had a peaceful and relaxing night.

All the staff was very nice; the cleaning ladies were always with a smile on their face and quite helpful. One particular member of staff, who we met during breakfast, was extremely sweet; she treated everyone with a warm smile, and made sure that everything was in order. Even when she simply asked whether we wanted boiled eggs or not, she made us feel cosy and at home. The owner, Maria, was extremely polite!

Even when it comes to location, it situated in a quite village, which offered us plenty of parking, considering that carnival time is one of the busiest periods in Gozo! At the end of the day, everywhere in Gozo is pretty close, whether by car, by foot or by bus!!

Overall it was a nice experience, and quite cheap considering the excellent services that we were given!!

Note: We did not of course use the outdoor pool, since it was extremely cold outside, but it looked very clean considering it was not in peak season.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_Bonello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#2 of 4 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il-Girna Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il-Girna Residence

Property: Il-Girna Residence
Address: 5 Skerla Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sannat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il-Girna Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Il-Girna Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il-Girna Residence Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing