We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice stay :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Il-Girna Residence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il-Girna Residence
Warszawa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really nice stay :)”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We visited this guest house last year - everything was really ok, especially breakfast. The owners have also nice restaurant where you can have a discount when you are a hotel guest. One thing that was really annoying us was the owner who was all the time asking us to go with him for a cruise to Comino. We were really confused because that trip costs about 30 euro per one person with him, but in the dock you can have the same for 7 euro.

Although we had a really nice time there :) And the loved the swimming pool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marta_daria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
50
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Returned last week from a 6 night stay with Teddy and Maria. Wonderful hosts, all the staff that work there are lovely, and it's in a beautiful quiet spot. I am already missing lying round the pool catching the last rays of sunlight as the sun goes down. Also go to their restaurant around the corner, the food is excellent.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarethBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is the most wonderful place not only because of the building, the rooms and the pool; but also because you are made to feel like one of the family. The owners can't do enough for you, and the staff kept us topped up with complimentary tea and coffee round the pool. Fridges to keep your wine cool, huge spread for breakfast. We booked direct with the owners at ilgirna@hotmail.com.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbwNewbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just back from a weekend stay here as part of a fortnights trip to Malta.

Loved the accommodation here- we booked two rooms, one for 2 adults, one for a single. Both rooms were HUGE. Both were ornately decorated and very clean. There is a medium sized, deep outdoor swimming pool and plenty of seating and sunbeds in the garden.

The building in very homely with lots of sitting areas and space for home comforts. There are family photos etc dotted around downstairs which gives the feel of really being at home.

Maria and her family were open, welcoming and friendly. They were so courteous and friendly, it is clear they enjoy their work running the guest-house. I could see that all the guests felt the same in this regard. Breakfast was great, lots of choice, very fresh and everything to hand - relaxed and informal.

I have to say I don't agree with the review below - I found that there was no noise at all - the walls are solid, thick brick walls of an old building. Nor was it smoky when I was there - the only people I saw smoking were other guests - outside as smoking was not permitted indoors.

I would highly recommend this accommodation to a range of travellers, especially those staying for a longer trip who want to feel at home. The rooms are so large they would easily accommodate families with children - this would be a very affordable option too. I wouldn't hesitate to contact Maria directly in the future - she is very approachable.

Thanks again to all at Il-Girna.

Room Tip: I would make the owners aware if you struggle with stairs - there are 3 flights! - so that they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rka86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

What an incredibly friendly, beautiful place. We arrived hot and sweaty on a Friday afternoon to be greeted by the ever-lovely Maria, who took us up to a pretty, airy room with 360 views of the island and a jacuzzi in the corner! The bed was almost too comfortable... It was like staying with a favourite aunt - nothing was too much trouble, from arranging bikes for us to explaining the exact process of cheesemaking. Speaking of cheese, the breakfasts are pretty wonderful as well - a spread that should satisfy anyone's fancy, including the best cuppa I had in Malta. And they have a great restaurant just around the corner too. After four days staying at Il Girna and wandering Gozo, we were more relaxed than we have been in years - and I know we'll be going back very soon!
Thank you Maria and Teddy

Room Tip: If you're after great views, ask for the top floor - but be warned, there are three flights of s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xemxija, Malta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Duration of our stay: 4 days - we considered leaving after 2, but stayed on because the breakfast was good and the people really nice. Also good value for money.

Positives:
Big room, clean sheets and towels, clean bathroom, very nice breakfast, friendly owners and kitchen staff.

Negatives:
Extremely thin walls with adjoining doors - we got VERY little sleep, since we could literally hear the people next door breath, fart, talk etc. The bed was also quite uncomfortable.
The owner smokes. Even though our room did not smell of smoke, the minute we stepped out the room we could smell the sour stench of stale smoke everywhere - not nice if you're not a smoker! If you are a smoker you'll have very little to complain about!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Excellent place where you will feel like one of the locals. The owners are extremelly helpful and strive to make the stay a great experience. When we arrived we mentioned that we wanted to go diving the next day, and Maria (the owner) immediatelly called a diving center to arrange for our diving tour the day after, which saved us a few hours having to look for one ourselves!
If anything bad is worth noting is probably the location, it is a little out of the way, but public transport is just a couple of hundred meters away. I definitelly recommend this place, the rooms are very spacious and clean.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Drama65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sannat
0.0 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
687 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
780 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Gozo
Grand Hotel Gozo
#1 of 1 in Mgarr
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
690 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
0.0 mi away
Gozo Village Holidays
Gozo Village Holidays
#2 of 4 in Victoria
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il-Girna Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il-Girna Residence

Property: Il-Girna Residence
Address: 5 Skerla Street, Sannat, Island of Gozo VCT 112, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Sannat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Sannat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Il-Girna Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Il-Girna Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il-Girna Residence Island Of Gozo, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing