We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Il Girna Restaurant

Il Girna Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 7 Restaurants in Sannat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Varsseveld, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

When we were in Ta'Cenc for the cliff coast we ran into this restaurant and had lunch here, and what a good decision that was. Good food, attentive service and a reasonable price. The owner showed us a brochure of his guest house ("for next time you visit Gozo") and that also looked quite nice. As we were staying in Xaghra we did not return here for diner, but if it had been a bit closer we certainly would have.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    34
    21
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Msida, Malta
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A MUST WHEN YOU'RE IN GOZO”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Definitely worth a visit - pleasant atmosphere - varied menu, all cooked to perfection and very reasonably priced - vast selection of good foreign & local wines - excellent hosts - Teddy & Maria.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CRITS078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Better late than never!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

My husband and I travel a lot, and in May of 2013 we spent two weeks in Malta, three days of which we spent exploring Gozo.
Of all the places we dined on our trip, this was hands-down the best meal we had. It was a. Quiet night, so the service was very attentive. The salad was wonderful as was the rest of the meal, including wine and dessert.
The prices were higher than other restaurants, but I don't want this to be a misleading statement as Maltese prices are quite reasonable in general, and this meal was casual fine dining and worth every penny. If I recall correctly, I believe our meal (4 courses with wine) came to around €50.
We are returning to Malta this May, but this time we will be staying the duration on Gozo, and we are looking forward to more meals at Il Girna!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank LJshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good, indeed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

I strongly recommend this international restaurant, which has a very nice atmosphere and yet serves an excellent food. The fish soup, the lamb, the lampuki, the cheese cake. Not so much the rabbit, but the rest (including Gozo's wines) is perfect!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Guia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place, lovely people”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Me and my partner are really glad we went to Il-Girna for a meal. The food was really good and the staff and owners were very welcoming. Thank´s to Teddy we got a good contact to spend an amazing day on a sailing boat around Comino island. I will definitely recommend the restaurant for the food and for the honest, gentle and friendly Gozo.
Best wishes!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaraMonteiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Girna Restaurant also viewed

Sannat, Island of Gozo
 
Sannat, Island of Gozo
 

Been to Il Girna Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing