We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great views, friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Haacht, Belgium
Level Contributor
357 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Great views, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a standard 2-persons room with sea-view. A very spacious room and well-equipped. A desk, 2 comfortable chairs with small table, a balcony with chairs and table, aircon, coffee and tea making facilities, safe. Very reasonable prices for the mini-bar.
The sea-view with the harbor, Malta in the distance and the church high up the hill is fantastic. But because the hotel is close to the harbor, you will hear the noise of the traffic going up and down from the ferries. And there a lot of ferries between Gozo and Malta.

Staff was very friendly and courteous. Especially the ladies at the reception were very helpful.

The Gozo tour they offer is incredible good value for € 12. The driver and guide Georgio shows you a lot of sights. By using the back roads, you will see parts of Gozo, you won’t see otherwise. And the tour was done in a very relaxed way. The island is small, so you have time enough at every place. The tour is normally on a Thursday, but if there are a minimum of 4 persons, it can be arranged on other days. We did the tour on a Friday.

Breakfast is buffetstyle with enough choice. We ate dinner a la carte which was good, and certainly the dinnerbuffet was very good.

Room Tip: Take a room with a sea- view. You really get a fantastic view. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrotter045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    408
    90
    21
    10
See reviews for
162
731
70
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a wonderful week at The Grand Hotel. The room had a wonderful view across the harbour, was clean and very comfortable.
We didn't eat in the hotel during the evening as Mgarr has some excellent restaurants, but the breakfasts were superb.
The pool area is lovely, with outstanding views.
The hotel drinks, including the mini bar were really reasonably priced.
The staff at the Hotel were friendly and very helpful. The courtesy bus to Ramla Bay and Victoria was a great touch, make sure you book!
Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank CMedcalfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

We have just arrived home after staying at The Grand hotel for a 4 night stay. We had such a lovely time, the staff were extremely polite and helpful. Our room was spacious, with great views of the harbour and hotel pool.
We only had one evening meal at the hotel, which was lovely, but there are so many great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel it seemed a waste not to try them and we were not disappointed.
The people of Gozo were friendly and helpful, we had a great tour of Gozo by a taxi driver, named Joey, who took around all the best attractions. The Azure window being my personal favourite. The Blue Lagoon was very gorgeous, but there was too many jellyfish whilst we were there to swim.
As the hotel is very close to the ferry, it is very easy to get the ferry over to Malta and catch a bus to Valletta. Which is worth the trip!
The night life on Gozo is very quiet, which suited us perfectly after our busy days of sightseeing, but if you want a relaxing time with good food and good wine then this is the place for you!
We will definitely return to Gozo and stay in The Grand hotel again. 10/10 for us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

Must compliment this hotel for it's professional service and products.
We had a wonderful seaview room overlooking the hotel pool, comino and Malta.
Loved seeing the Gozo ferries going back and forth.
Everything was perfect from the check in, the room, restaurant food which was very good and very well presented and also the friendly but proffesional service team. We also found the time to see a film in their theatre.
Truly a relaxing weekend for my better half and I.
Thank you and will return.

Room Tip: Suggest you try both the buffet and set menus Convenient car park under the hotel Seaview room a m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed here for few days during our holiday in Malta. Very convenient location and easy to catch public transport to travel around the island. Reception staff is super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was very good. Outside pool area was also excellent. Highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Great seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Great Britain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed in a superior sea-view room with balcony on floor 7 which was huge (more of a suite really) with magnificent views over the harbour. The bathroom had not only a whirlpool bath but a walk in shower as well, plus fluffy bathrobes too! The staff were first class, very helpful and polite. Dinner was excellent with 3 choices for starters, mains and desserts, although last 3 nights was self service due to a maintainance problem but even that was very good. Breakfast was also self service with an excellent array of choice. We wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel again, although I would select a room with a terrace this time as they appear to get sun all day long and have sun lounges as standard (the balcony rooms can only accommodate a small table and 2 chairs and are in the shade for most of the day).

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor as the views over the channel are superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieandSteve88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Situated just above Mgarr Harbour (don't take the 6 euro taxi from the Ferry Terminal - walk), this is a very pleasant hotel. We had a stupendous superior room which was in effect a suite and excellent value for money which had a large terrace overlooking the harbour. This gave us plenty of room for enjoying the sun and the view which was probably handy as the pool area was small for the size of the hotel. The pool's position, overlooked by the higher floors of the hotel, also meant that the sun 'set' quite early on.
Breakfast was very good and the hotel restaurant was busy every evening though we elected to eat out each night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing