We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel (except the car park)”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with big modern rooms, nice views over the sea and the Maltese archipelago and very good and abundant buffet breakfast.

The biggest negative of the place is the car park. It is dark, shabby, unmaintained and has no elevator access to the lobby. The entrance is not very convenient especially if you are driving a bigger car.

Stayed: December 2013
4  Thank Stream_Lines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 1,251 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent 4 star hotel. The sea-view rooms with views across the harbour to Comino and Malta are superb. Kept spotless with plenty of space and storage. Food was good, if a little repetitive, but that is normal for Malta/Gozo. Free parking, great location, comfortable room, free shuttle to Victoria 3 times a week, walking distance of the ferry (down the hill!) but ,above all, great service. Thoroughly recommended. Warning: be prepared for some wind noise if the weather turns stormy!

Room Tip: Sea-view with a balcony if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JOE512014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We booked a week at this hotel through Travel Zoo, and must say what a bargain!
We had a lovely room overlooking the harbour. The service in the hotel was second to none and I would highly recommend it.
The breakfast was buffet style and evening meal waiter service,excellent! As we were half board for 3 nights we tried the room service on a couple of nights which was also good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 26jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards


Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Lovely four star hotel. Very comfortable room, warm and cozy, perfect for a winter weekend break! The buffet breakfast was delicious with a large selection to choose from including some great local foods such as mqaret (baked fig pastries) and ricotta cheese.

The only issue we had was with the very poor internet connection which kept showing up as 'strong' on our tablet and mobile, yet took ages to load websites.

Otherwise an excellent experience :)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDeb0003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel.

With regards to your comments about the free Wi-Fi, we are pleased to inform you that contacts have been made to upgrade our Wi-Fi system to a faster and more efficient system thus eliminating the need to purchase the service from a third party provider.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

What a beautiful relaxing hotel, the view from our superior room was right across the harbour . Having stayed here two years ago you are always unsure if it will be as good well in a word yes , staff very friendly ,room spotless , food fantastic but a little rushed sometimes ! And the trip around gozo 12 euros pp with George was brilliant and what a gentleman this is organised by the hotel.
You could spend a week sat harbour watching it takes all life's stresses away
We will return
Many thanks to all the staff
Cath & Peter Rothwell

Room Tip: High floor sea view is a must Buses are easy everywhere only 10 mins fom Victoria
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cath71262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights - had a view of the harbour. Really nice and bright - large bedroom with sitting area and balcony. Great bathroom. Great bed. Would not recommend restaurant - very so so food, but would definitely stay at the hotel again. After being in our dark apartment in Valletta which we had rented, this bright room was a welcome change!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AmyBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I think this hotel completely lives up to its 4 star rating. Comfortable clean rooms, well-equipped bathrooms with plenty of hot water, charming and helpful staff, very nice restaurant with delicious food. My only adverse note would be that the strong Wi-Fi signal (that even reaches to the bedrooms) has blocked social websites such as Facebook and YouTube, which seems a curious and irrating form of censorship. The outdoor swimming pool is unfortunately not heated (presumably not enough guests to justify that in the middle of winter), so it would be nice if the small gym had a sauna and steambath attached. Our 'superior room with balcony' was high enough to have a good view of the busy harbour. Recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, General Manager at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at our Hotel. We are happy that you were impressed with our overall services and facilities.

We believe in providing our guests the highest care and nothing makes us happier than confirmation of our guests’ satisfaction and we will do more in the near future - by opening an indoor pool and SPA.

With regards to your comments about the free Wi-Fi, we are pleased to inform you that contacts have been made to upgrade our Wi-Fi system to a faster and more efficient system thus eliminating the need to purchase the service from a third party provider

We are looking forward hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
723 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
Hotel Ta' Cenc & Spa
#1 of 2 in Sannat
835 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hilton Malta
Hilton Malta
#3 of 33 in Saint Julian's
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range: $52 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing