We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hotel Gozo
Nearby Hotels
$319
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$152
$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$297
$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$134
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pergola Hotel & Spa(Mellieha)(Great Value!)
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Gillieru Harbour Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Topaz Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
San Pawl Hotel(St. Paul's Bay)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,309)
Filter reviews
1,309 results
Traveler rating
695
464
113
25
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
695
464
113
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmgarr harbourferry terminalsuperior roomlovely hotelrooftop restaurantmini barreception staffsun loungershalf boardhill overlookinghuge roomset menugames roomsteep hilllarge terracefourth floorbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
671 - 676 of 1,309 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A memorable stay at this lovely hotel. Very comfortable room with fabulous views over the harbour/ferry terminal between Malta and Gozo. The view alone is well worth the upgrade to a sea view room. Choose a room on the 5th floor or above. The comfort of the room was excellent, with a very large bed which was extremely snuggly. The breakfast is superb, plenty of choice, cereals, yoghurt, toast, fresh bread, meat and cheese, salad/olives, fresh fruits and full English. Could not fault the choice. The waiter service was excellent and they were very friendly and attentive to all of your needs, The staff at the hotel make this a special experience for all the guests, nothing is too much trouble for them, and the hotel management should be proud of their employees for providing a very personal and welcoming experience. The room service meals were excellent (we ordered on the last evening). I particularly enjoyed the hotel round trip of Gozo which operates on a Thursday at 12 Euros each for a 6 hour trip. George the driver was very nice and did his best to entertain us despite the inclement weather on the day. He took us to places that would have been inaccessible trying to do it on your own, and it is far superior to the hop on hop off bus that operates. We didn't book a half board option so I cannot comment on the dinner during the evenings, although there are a number of restaurants in the area that offer high quality dining which I have also reviewed on trip advisor. A regular free shuttle bus service to Victoria operates via the hotel each Monday and Wednesday in the winter at 10am outside the hotel. You can also get a bus to Malsforn and Victoria every hour, just turn left out of the hotel and walk up the hill to the bus stop. Gozo is a lovely unspoilt island where the people are genuinely friendly. We felt very fortunate to have picked the Grand Hotel in Mgarr as it was faultless in every way. I would recommend this hotel, and hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room on the 5th floor or higher for an excellent view.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayb26Walsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

I must say that the view was magnificent and the room was quite good. And the welcoming drink was a touch of class.

But unfortunately I was really dissappointed on the whole for three reasons. Number 1, We had BBQ on the roof which first of all the lighting was too dim that you couldn't see clearly the food you are eating and the worst of all, the meat was inedible. Totally chewing gum type and as a reflex I swallowed it and induced stomach pain. Tried to check other meat but was the same. Number 2. The room's air conditioner was broken. Had patience for fixing it up, after a few hours we were told that the technician do not work on that day and instead of changing rooms, they gave us a fan. Seriously in Summer, with that heat, in the upper floor, a fan! A total disgrace!! An extremely unprofessional act by the administration. Number 3, which is more of an environmental/habitat factor, as we were in the outside area of the lounge-bar, a big black cockroach found itself on my fiancee's shoulder, and you can imagine the result...

Unfortunately, I hence must discourage the stay in the Gozo Grand Hotel.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
5  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Dear Guest

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review although it had taken us by surprise as you have stayed with us June.

Over the past months we have taken measures to strengthen our management team both in the Food & Beverage Department and in the Rooms Division to improve our operational standards. We have also upgraded our centralized Air-conditioning System for better comfort.

Since we are surrounded by field we don’t have any control on the outside environment and such incidents can happen anywhere although we sincerely appreciate your concern.

May we thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

From 1993-2002 we spent a great deal of time in Gozo while our boat was being fitted out. The huge construction on the hill overlooking Mgarr harbour was considered by many to be "Big Development" - intrusive and out of keeping with our quiet little relatively undeveloped island gem. We never expected to ever stay at the hotel ourselves - not our style, we thought.
But stay we did from 10-17th December 2013 and were impressed. It's proximity to the harbour made it the obvious choice, as we had business on Malta but prefer Gozo, where we have friends and favourite watering holes. I booked flight, car hire and hotel through Travel Republic; reviews for the Grand were generally good, prices looked reasonable. We opted for B&B, knowing we would be eating out a lot. Review in sequence:-
Reception: GOOD: consistently friendly, welcoming and helpful (e.g. printing bus timetable, sending a fax, printing Times crossword (!)). Bad: None
Carparking under hotel: caveat: on a busy holiday weekend it got full.
Room: GOOD: huge - more of a suite really; plenty furniture, clothes storage, seating, table, mirrors. Well stocked fridge (not outrageous prices). TV, wifi. Bed: vast, comfortable. Cleaning: daily - didn't remove the glasses we brought up from the bar for our own drinks - which is elsewhere so annoying! BAD: wifi signal weaker than downstairs in lobby. Too cold (Dec.) - poss. the aircon doubles as heating but couldn't get it to heat up much.; Lights not numerous/bright enough to read comfortably; Sockets - no beside sockets, not enough sockets for 2 people to charge mobiles, laptops/tablets etc. Would have liked kettle in room.
FOOD: Breakfast: large selection buffet and hot dishes every day: excellent. Lunch: not taken. Bar: always someone seemingly on duty til late. Evening dinner: food & wine good, reasonable standard and price compared to other local restaurants. Friday buffet esp. good - numerous dishes inc. 3 hot - fish, chicken and 3 roast meats. After the holiday weekend, when there were apparently maybe less than a dozen guests, dinner was a limited set menu which wasn't so good.
SERVICE: Can't fault it for friendliness and attentiveness to requests. Especially Carmelito in the restaurant, who never flagged. Above all, you got the impression that the staff would do their best to help whatever you needed.
GENERAL: This hotel has the feel of old-fashioned service and extras I almost forgot existed. Stationery and pen in room. 40ml bottles (not meagre impossible-to-open sachets) of shampoo, conditioner, shower/bath gel, body lotion, replaced daily. Order a daily newspaper. Mini-gym (open 24/7 - checked it out). Cinema - films Fri. & Sat? - not tested. Pool was filled and clean, plentiful loungers on sheltered roof terrace great on sunny day even in December - wish I brought swimming cozzie! Hotel offers great value (€12) tour of Gozo's highlights, unfortunately off-season there weren't the min. 4 required.
Location and amenities: lots of great restaurants and bars within easy walking. Well stocked local supermarket Ta' Miema - though have to agree with reviewer Zepp the owner and staff are quite the rudest and unpleasant ever (always have been). this is NOT typical of Gozitans generally.
OVERALL RECOMMENDATION: Great for an off-season stay, as we had. The restaurant seems to be popular with locals for a night out - always a good sign. Can't comment on high season with hotel full.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PamTem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at our Hotel. We are happy that you were impressed with our overall services and facilities.

We believe in providing our guests the highest care and nothing makes us happier than confirmation of our guests’ satisfaction and we will do more in the future - by opening an indoor pool and SPA.

We are looking forward hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards


Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Booked a cheap deal through Travelzoo, went the last week of November so expectations on the weather and everything else on the island were realistic and we were there looking at property so the hotel was a base for us. We had a room on the 4th floor that overlooked the road at the back of the hotel. Not a big deal for us, its just somewhere to sleep really. Not much of a view but we didnt pay that much for the holiday.
On arrival the staff were excellent, a theme that continued through the week to include the restaurant staff, reception, chambermaids, bar staff. I can find no fault at all with any of them, all very friendly, chatty, knowledgable and welcoming.
We ate at the hotel for 3 nights, food was good, tasty, hot and all round quite good, Again up to our expectations. Restaurant staff were very good, not hovering to get you out as quick as possible, happy to stop and chat.
Car park was exciting to get into and out of as its a bit steep,
Overall, a very comfortable and pleasant place to stay with excellent staff, very good facilities, good food and to finish off a lovely terrace to take your last cup of tea out onto at breakfast.
Highly recommended by us, we are going back early in the new year to buy soem property and we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Cant help as we had a room that was not as good as some but suited us fine.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.


Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We arrived on time with ryanair,late in the evening,met by our minibus driver,he got us to the ferry FAST so we could get the 12.30 ferry,our cases were whisked away from us and nobody told us where to get them on the otherside,no one seemed very helpful,
Got to the hotel about 1am,We were booked in quickly,then taken up the 1st lift and then just shown to the 2nd lift to find our room,would of been nice to be taken to our room, when we got there,the aircon was not on and the room was stifling,so didnt sleep well on our 1st tired night.
On waking we seen our view which we upgraded for,across the harbour,always something to watch,but it isnt peaceful if this is what you are looking for,busy road outside.also dissapointed with the size of the balcony for a superior room,very small.
Down to breakfast,very nice ,lots of choice,toaster takes forever though!sometimes surprised to see stuff from night before at breakfast.
Our 1st evening meal,(we were half board) was 3 lovely courses and we said we were looking forward to our other meals for the week.
2nd night was a buffet,very disappointed with that and because the dinner room was so busy,after waiting to be seated for about 10 mins we and others were seated in a back room,not impressed!the queueing for each meal time became annoying and people were moaning about it.
3rd night we sat for our 3 courses again,our main of roast beef dinner came minus yorkshire pudding,when i asked for one as i could see them being served to another table,i was told they had all gone.The waiter came back ,apologised and said chef would make some just for me tomorrow night!!!! My husband ordered monkfish,he could'nt eat it,it was full of bone ,which monkfish should not be,again we commented and was told by the older waiter,it probably has not been cleaned!!!! Just before leaving our table i was told chef had cooked me some yorkshire puddings to take with me!!For goodness sake the meal was over!,Needless to say by this time we were very unhappy and the next 2 evenings we ate out down in the Harbour and really wished we had not gone half board as the meals out were excellent.
Also the 1st half the week in the dinner room you really did not feel the vibe,repeated guests were shown such a lot of attention,it was so noticeable,only after our complaint of the meal,did any waiters chat to us,very strange.I must add the wine was very nice and reasonable price.
The Hotel pool is small,on the 4th floor ,but never really busy,summer maybe different,we were there 2nd week oct and very hot weather,also shame we did not get to use rooftop restaurant,this shut september.
In general gozo is a lovely island,you can see the whole island easily using the buses,but we didnt find the people very friendly or helpful,and the minibus driver that took us back to the airport (not anything to do with hotel) took the award for most miserable and unhelpful person and the supermarket down the hill from the hotel most unhappy and moody award.Its a shame this will be in our minds when we think of Gozo.

Room Tip: definately upgrade to seaview or terrace and ask for 6th floor or higher.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2013

Dear Reviewer

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

Whilst we are pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, we have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as you, our task would be much more challenging.

May we thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely


Silvio Rapa
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews