We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday & Hotel Ever !”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Broadway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Best Holiday & Hotel Ever !”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Just returned from 3 whole glorious weeks staying at this wonderful Hotel.
Fabulous hospitality and service especially from Camelino, Renarto, Jason, John, Frances, Paul, The Chefs and ALL !!!!
So nice to be well looked after with being pretentious.
Had a large double (Queen size Plus) room with Terrace on top floor (705), which was a small supplement, but sooooo worth the extra. Plenty of nice toiletries in bathroom and Bed linen was pure white cotton, and bathroom towels were first class. Our room overlooked the Marina and Harbour, and church on top of hill, with bells ringing out, so perfect for us.
As husband is semi disabled the staff throughout could not be more helpful, and kind, with a real special mention again of the wonderful Carmelino in the Restaurant, nothing was too much trouble. In fact he made our stay at the Grand perfect. So "Thank You" Carmelino. (And also to my 'Saxophone' lovely Renarto too xx)
Food was terrific, with a mix of Buffet, A La Carte and Main Dinner choices, you were spoilt for choice. It was a mix of Italian, Maltese and Mediterranean.
Hot Salmon was my favourite, and the best Lemon Meringue ever !
Buffet breakfast was excellent, with plenty of hot and cold choices.
Some tlc needed in some areas, but no complaints from us.
Weather was kind to us too, which was a big bonus, and Gozo is a beautiful unspoilt Island.
Their is talk of a Spa etc being introduced in the future, which would really make this a place to stay. So book it and go before other people do, and before it gets too popular !!
We will definitely be going back.
(A BIG thank you to Anna in the office, what a understanding lady)

Room Tip: Book a Superior Sea View with Terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at our Hotel. We are happy that you were impressed with our overall services and facilities.

We believe in providing our guests the highest care and nothing makes us happier than confirmation of our guests’ satisfaction and we will do more in the future - by opening an indoor pool and SPA.

We are looking forward hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    413
    91
    22
    11
See reviews for
162
748
72
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here 22nd to 29th October 2013. The Hotel had beautiful views of the harbour, enabling one to enjoy views of the sea and the ferries that link Gozo to Malta. The food in the hotel was nice, and the staff very friendly. It is a privately owned hotel and was a nice change to staying in a hotel owned by a large chain. We met some very nice people, most of us were on a travelzoo special deal.

Room Tip: rooms on a high fllor are the quiet ones away from the small main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rharbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have just returned from an internet deal to this hotel and stayed in one of the inland facing rooms that have been criticized in other reviews. The room was actually quite spacious and although the window was small we had a pleasant view over houses to countryside and a church on a hill.

The hotel served an excellent breakfast and other food was perfectly acceptable although several other restaurants were better.

The staff were friendly and attentive with the exception of one receptionist. We had requested a sea view when we booked and were assured by our agent that this would not be a problem if the hotel was not full, we had an email confirming this. On checking in the receptionist (a slightly older lady) dismissed our request and was really quite rude, finally quoting a ridiculous additional 270 euro to upgrade. It was not really a problem but it was handled very badly. Maybe this lady would benefit from customer service training from her younger colleagues. I would have given five stars were it not for this experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splodgered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

we loved our week at the Grand. the hotel had a lovely relaxed feeling and atmosphere. the staff were very helpful, professional and affective. we especially enjoyed the dining room and evening meals. Carmelino was very helpful and friendly. whilst we were staying there, we both said that we would definitely like to come back and stay there again. the island of Gozo was very slowed down and relaxed. it was like stepping back in time 30 years. maybe this would be different in the busier more popular months.. it did not take us long to get anywhere on the island. the local buses were fine and very reasonably priced..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulodonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Thing about customers is that what seems, to a business owner, to be a small detail sometimes has a big effect on their overall conclusion.

That's what happened here after ten great days at the Grand.

Best things first: The room was spotless, generous in size and facilities with a proper bath, nice shower, plenty of free smelly things, very big comfortable bed and a great view over Mgarr harbour with its ferries to Malta, just a couple of miles away, a fridge (cost items inside) and a free safe for valuables. The flat screen TV received BBC1 and ITV1 as well as the other usual suspects.

The hotel's staff were also excellent. Whether the chambermaid, the head waiter, chef (more later), receptionists, bar staff or bus driver, they were all efficient and paid close attention to what one wanted. There was no 'what time do I get off shift,' or 'what does she want AGAIN?' attitude which you can see in some places elsewhere. Clearly, the owners have chosen and trained well.

The place had some other excellent facilities. One room was set aside for modern exercise machines, including a treadmill and cross trainer, another was a cinema (2 showings a week in the winter), and there was a great roof terrace and Summer restaurant (closes in September). Plus a swimming pool and sun deck. Although we were there in the second half of November, this was used on several days as the maximum temperature reached 23C.

As elsewhere in Malta, food quality was excellent, but we found the variety a little limited on our stay. Given where it is situated, in the middle of the Mediterranean, there was a lack of evidence of fish. The breakfasts had extensive variety on cold items, but, for hot, were quite samey day after day (or is that what people expect?). Also, the hot items were also somewhat tepid, if tasty.

For me, the highlight of the breakfast was too discover that the scrambled egg was very like that my grandmother used to make - nice and creamy. As I have always failed to reproduce this quality, I asked to see chef. He came bounding out and was tickled that someone was asking his advice. Thanks, chef!

However, and this is where we introduce the 'little detail" which meant a lot: Like so many locations in the islands, the Grand gave you free wifi. The signal was excellent in all parts of the premises, but was amazingly, ball-wrenchingly S L O W. This might have been because the island was connected to the mainland by a thin piece of wire but in a nearby bar, we achieved 10 Mbps, compared to the Grand's 0.1 Mbps - 100 times slower!

This meant that my daily paper, which at home takes around 5 seconds to download, was still incomplete after 90 minutes.

When I asked them about an alternative, I was given another account to log into but this was only slightly faster and failed after one day.

See what I mean? Can never understand customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room on at least floor 5 (the floor numbers are American; ground (UK) is named 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clive49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel.
With regards to your comments about the free Wi-Fi, we are pleased to inform you that contacts have been made to upgrade our Wi-Fi system to a faster and more efficient system thus eliminating the need to purchase the service from a third party provider.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iz-Zejtun, null, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

We just arrived from a 4 th night stay in this fabulous central hotel, in gozo which is only few minutes away from the ferry
This was our first time in this hotel never less it won't be the last without no doubt, we booked though an operator via Internet in September an had a quite good deal
The staff in this hotel are highly professional, well trained and go the extra mile to satisfy customer's necessaries
On arrival you are greeted with a welcome drink until you fill up the registration form , Charmaine that works in the front office is very professional.
Regarding the restaurant breakfast is a buffet and has a good selection of items. And dinner changes sometimes it is a set menu or al carte others it is a buffet . We tried the Al carte menu once for lunch and took the irish beef fillet that was superb, and on an other night tried the buffet dinner here again the selection is good you have a selection of antipasti , selections of pasta and for the main course there is a good variety
For dessert it is waiter served.
Here again Renato and his professional team just to mention a few Justin Carmelino are hard workers and have the guests interests at heart.
And to chill out a bit in the evening or watch a game of football on the tv there is the hotel's bar over there, there is Frances and Paul that take care of you, and provide you with some mixed nuts to nibble between a drink and a other, prices are very reasonable.
Not to forget the housekeeping staff although we didn't meet anyone because when we used to come from outside we always found the room ready for us , always left it clean tidy provided new towels daily , bath gel shampoo ect.
We will return again in the near future and highly recommend to others that would like to have a break away from the daily routine.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at The Grand for 7 nights and loved it. The best thing by far were the wonderful staff who always went the extra mile for us - for example, they opened the cinema for us to watch a film on a random rainy afternoon. Renato was consistently friendly and worked long hours. Carmelimo was a fab waiter as were Justin and Malcolm. Frances in particular was so kind and efficient. The reception staff were also first to go the extra mile.

The hotel was very conveniently located for bus stops which run across the Island and are very punctual. Gorgeous sunsets over Comino.

Thank you for a wonderfully relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing