We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On the whole I would recommend this place to stay. We had a sea view terrace room which is in the old part of the hotel, hence some parts of it could be doing with a bit of an update. The new part is probably a bit nicer but the rooms in the new part have enclosed balconies which are small and I would rather have the large open sun terrace for sitting sipping wine in the evening overlooking the bay. Our room, no. 306 was enormous, maybe just a little tired with a few things needing updating. One major bugbear is that there is selective Wifi, no facebook or utube access as these sites have been blocked and it was a little slow.

Breakfast was the usual hotel buffet, cooked English, continental etc. all fine. We did the rooftop BBQ which was ok.

The road outside can be a bit noisy especially just after the ferry kicks out so get a room as high as you can. The pool is adequate, very clean, a decent size but you have to get towels from reception which is 4 floors below.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and the hotel has a nice relaxed feel to it and ther is also free underground parking.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireScots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Geust

We would like to extend our sincere thanks to you for your review during your recent stay with us at the Grand Hotel

Whilst we are pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, we have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and immediate action will be taken to rectify this.

Such information is invaluable to the smooth running of our hotel, and our endeavor to provide the highest standards possible. Without the assistance of considerate guests such as yourself, our task would be much more challenging.

May we thank you once again for taking the time to comment.

We shall look forward to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely

Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    423
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
165
770
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to house our families for our wedding (at Ta'Frenc) in early June 2013. It is a lovely hotel overlooking the harbour and we would strongly suggest if funds allow for going for a Superior Sea View with Terrace.
Staff were exceptionally friendly with special mention to Caramello.
Rooms to a good standard and food excellent. Small car park in the basement but you can usually get in.
We returned for a 5 day break in September and were not disappointed. It is a lovely place to stay whilst discovering the delights of Gozo.

Room Tip: Superior Sea View with Terrace at the front of the hotel are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Location of this hotel is just perfect, 3min walk from ferry terminal with stunning view of the harbour, staff so nice and friendly!our room was just brilliant, specious, clean, with one of the most comfortable beds ever! With everything that your room need during stay like dressing gowns, tea and coffee facilities, daily cleaning and...amazing view! Balcony was of perfect size with little table and chairs as well as sunbathing chairs so u can have lovely nap on after all day of sightseeing:) hotel offered us welcoming drink on entry, free car park, there is a babysitting option, early breakfast option and room service. Prices in the mini bar were reasonable.
I must say one of the best stays we had in a while! We can truly recommend it!

Room Tip: Definitely I would recommend asking for a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agnieszka1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent experience, great service, and friendly staff. If you're planning a stay in Gozo, there are only a couple five star hotels to choose from and both the a grand Hotel in Mgarr and the Kempenski Hotel in San Lawrence offer the best service on the island.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WebkoorCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your encouraging comments about our team and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Great Hotel overlooking Mgarr Harbour. Super bedroom on sixth floor with views of the busy harbour. All the Staff were lovely, and the Chamber Maid Elisabeth was especially nice. Good English breakfast kept us going till night time, then we visited as many restaurants as we could in Gozo.

Room Tip: Sixth Floor Harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to share your review regarding your pleasant experience during your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you were impressed with our overall services and facilities.

We believe in providing our guests the highest care, and nothing makes us happier than confirmation of our guests’ satisfaction; and we will do more in the future - by opening the indoor pool and SPA.

We are looking forward hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My hubby and I stayed at Grand hotel Gozo for 4 nights in September. It was very relaxing and rooms were lovely and serviced extremely well. No complaints at all! Exceptional customer service by the lovely, gorgeous Carmalino. Carmalino would always greet us every morning at breakfast and escort us to our table. He would go out of his way to make sure we were looked after with coffee, tea etc! An absolute asset to Grand hotel! Another plus was the free shuttle bus into Victoria, ramla and many other hot spots. Free wifi also. We had a ball, only wished we stayed longer..... It's a definite revisit in the future for us!
Thanks for a great stay Grand hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 6th floor upwards! We had a room on the 5th floor, would of preferred a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed at the Grand Hotel in Gozo two times, and am currently thinking about returning for a third. The hotel might not be the fanciest and we haven't always received the best service, but all in all I have had such a great time here that I can't rate it anything else than a 5/5. The rooms are huge, the pool area is small, but very nice, and the hotel is very inexpensive. The location is perfect as you have access to lots of nice restaurants in Mgarr, and it's a perfect place for exploring the rest of Gozo.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Håkan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand_Gozo, Owner at Grand Hotel Gozo, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post these comments. These will certainly be shared with our team members. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you once again in the near future.

Kind regards
Silvio Rapa
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
809 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing