We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great week in July”
Review of Grand Hotel Gozo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gozo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Certificate of Excellence
Broadstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Great week in July”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Seaview Room in July. We loved everything about this Hotel except the road noise, not a lot the Grand can do about that. Every member of staff we encountered was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was plentiful and always replenished not as hot as it could have been but I guess this is difficult when breakfast is buffet style. We loved Gozo and will definatly be back.

Room Tip: Sea view room,although some road noise you would need to keep the patio doors shut at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    423
    98
    22
    11
See reviews for
165
770
73
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The overall experience was superb. We were treated to a welcome drink whilst we waited for our rooms. All staff were very helpful. Rooms were spacious and very clean too. The food was excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We have been several times to the Grand Hotel and it never disappoints. Gozo is a tranquil, relaxing location and the Grand complements the whole package with a guaranteed level of cleanliness and service. Unfussy but very professional it makes a perfect base from which to see the island or simply relax. Its always a good sign when familiar staff are there year after year and continue to keep the same high standards. Great to know there is an hotel we can go back to time and again and it still delivers such a good holiday. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

what a fantastic time in Gozo the hotel was brilliant we had a balcony overlooking the pool with a view of the Med.The room was air conditioned. There was table service at the pool. the hotel staff were very helpful with bus times and taxi companies and told us the best sightseeing places. The food was very good with lots to choose from.We are going to book again for next year.

Room Tip: if you have a room at the back of the hotel the view will be buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have just spent a week at The Grand and it was as everyone says really good. We were on the 7th floor and the view was stunning! A really lovely spacious room and a one of the biggest and most comfortable beds I have ever slept in! The shower however was a real let down-just a mere trickle of luke warm water. The receptionists and waiting staff are friendly and helpful. However when you order anything you only have to give your room number,nothing is signed for and so although we had settled our bill the previous night when we went to check out in the morning we were presented with a bill for 2 meals we most certainly had not eaten, It was only our word against theirs and did leave us with a uncomfortable feeling. So do check your bill carefully. Take advantage of any trips the hotel has to offer especially the fiestas ,really good value and with no stress or strain.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a harbour view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We went to the grand hotel for 3 nights and I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived, firstly parking no problem as they have an underlying car park, secondly the welcome from the staff was A class and throughout our stay all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. My only disappointment was when we reached our room and on entering they was an overpowering smell of cigarettes especially strong in the bathroom, I had pointed this out to the receptionist and she was very helpful and went out of her way to rectify the situation by finding us another room. unfortunately for that night they were fully booked so we had to remain in the room for that night only but they offered for the rest of our stay to upgrade us as an apology, my only suggestion on this would have been in the time we waited for the upgrade being the next day we first had to check out of that room by 12pm and then wait till 3pm to go into our new room which I felt was a bit too long especially when you have young children that want to rest in the afternoon after a morning of swimming in the very hot sun. But on the positive side the upgrade was very nice stunning views (only negative the bathroom in the superior suites could do with an upgrade) we were even contacted by a member of staff to see that all was to our satisfaction which was very pleasing. The breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice for all tastes especially fussy children. We also had dinner there which was also very good too. Overall our stay was very pleasant and the staff were so friendly especially the receptionists and waiters, and as for Gozo a truly beautiful island to relax and enjoy gozitan culture!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groovybabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos UK
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and all agree that it was a fabulous place to stay. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food and menus beautifully cooked, tasty and well varied, the rooms spacious, clean and well air-conditioned. Views over Mgarr harbour are spectacular and interesting - lots to watch and look out for. The pool is large and never too busy. The roof top meals were amazing - a never ending supply of BBQ/ Mediterranean / Maltese speciality food, served with a spectacular view all around.
The one problem we encountered ( not the hotel's fault: initially not given the sea view room we had booked) was dealt with swiftly and effectively, certainly to our satisfaction.
We would definitely like to go back there and have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anyone.
Big success!

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mgarr
5.3 mi away
Kempinski Hotel San Lawrenz
6.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Malta Golden Sands
2.8 mi away
Cornucopia Hotel
Cornucopia Hotel
#1 of 3 in Xaghra
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
San Andrea Hotel
San Andrea Hotel
#1 of 5 in Xlendi
699 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Ta' Cenc
Hotel Ta' Cenc
#1 of 2 in Sannat
809 reviews
3.7 mi away
Calypso Hotel
Calypso Hotel
#1 of 9 in Marsalforn
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gozo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gozo

Property: Grand Hotel Gozo
Address: St. Anthony Street, Mgarr, Island of Gozo GSM 9026, Malta
Phone Number:
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Mgarr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mgarr
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gozo 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel is ideally situated overlooking the fishing hamlet of Mgarr Harbour and the surrounding verdant valley. The hotel enjoys panoramic views of Comino and Malta across the Gozo channel. Viewed from above, the to and fro of the fishing boats and the incomparable vistas add a romantic touch to the excellent hospitality offered at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Gozo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Mgarr
Grand Hotel Gozo Island Of Gozo/Mgarr, Malta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing